We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab fab fab anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brome
uk
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“fab fab fab anniversary”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Myself and other half were celebrating 24 years together. We had read some good reviews for this hotel so I emailed them as we thought it would be nice to visit on our special occasion. From the beginning of contact until we waved goodbye after our stay we enjoyed such a fab time. A lovely lady named Julie was smashing when I emailed, and we put together a one night stay including dinner and bottle of wine. I also bought a Groupon deal for afternoon tea thinking this would be perfect during our stay.We stayed on the Saturday in March that was so horrendous weather wise and it snowed all day and night. On arrival we were warmly greeted by Julie and she showed us to the honeymoon suite. Well what could we say. We were blown away by it. Four poster bed, huge double power shower, and through an alcove a gorgeous two person massive spa bath. It was so big that the instructions given in the room said it would take half an hour to fill. The icing on the cake was the lovely box of chocs and card sitting waiting for us in celebration of our anniversary. The suite was so snuggly and warm and there was plenty of hot water (especially considering we had such a huge spa to fill later) and soft fluffy towels warming nicely on the heated rails. Good quality smellies too in the shower room plus wall dispensers filled with shampoo and body wash. Tray with tea and coffee making facilities and DECENT sized cups. Always a bonus for us instead of the silly little ones you sometimes get that house a couple of sips. The flat screen tv was a good size too so didn't need my glasses to see it. After exploring our suite and unpacking we made our way into the restaurant to enjoy our afternoon tea. Large crackling log fire and comfy sofas in the reception area greeted us in a cosy welcoming atmosphere. Decent pots of tea, and a cake stand filled with yummy sandwiches and dainty cakes and scones were served. Just the job and hit the spot nicely when we finished with a glass of fizz each. Lovely. After tea we made our way back to our suite. There were a couple of people from the hotel around as well as Julie and also one of the chefs. Everyone we met greeted us with a friendly hello which was so pleasant and makes a change from some places where the working staff seem to only bother when they have to. Everyone seemed so cheerful and looked like they really enjoyed their work. It made us feel very relaxed and at home. Back at our suite we enjoyed a lovely long soak in the spa bath - pure bliss before preparing for dinner. On arrival into the dining room we were shown to a table near the window so was able to watch the snow falling whilst enjoying our food. Dinner was superb. An iced jug of water was bought to our table and I had chicken caesar salad starter and other half had pate. Warm bread rolls were also served. For our mains we both plumped for steaks with hand cut chips, mushroom and tomato. Both steaks were really tender and melted in the mouth. We were pleased as quite often it can be hit and miss to get a good quality steak served just how you like it. They did not disappoint at all. For dessert I chose a trio of ice creams in a waffle basket which was decadent and beautifully rich, whilst other half went for crumble which he too thoroughly enjoyed. All portions were good sized. As mentioned earlier our stay included a bottle of wine which helped to set our meal off perfectly and was of good quality too. The serving staff were again very efficient, cheerful and made sure we had everything we needed. We did not have any long waits (but no rushing either) between courses and the restaurant was full which to our minds says it all. Especially considering it was such a dreadful night weather wise. They must certainly be doing something very right to get a full house, and everyone seemed more than happy with their food and drinks and the atmosphere was relaxed and very enjoyable.
After a very comfortable night in our four poster we awoke to a heavier covering of snow outside. Breakfast was served in the restaurant and the usual juices cereals etc where arranged to help yourself to. We ordered full english each and this was lovely and set us up for our return journey home. Julie was on reception to check us out and once again greeted us warmly as did the other staff before we left. The hotel has only recently over the last few months been up and running, and the owners are refurbishing. There is a board as you enter the hotel showing plans of how it will look when finished. They have already refurbed some rooms, and they also have a separate building that caters for conferences, meeting venues weddings etc. We have to say we were very impressed overall with Brome Grange. The staff, comfort, rooms and of course very importantly food are excellent. We will certainly come back and visit this gorgeous little gem again. Thanks everyone at Brome Grange. You made our anniversary one to remember forever. We wish you all best wishes for your future at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kas01uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It is very important to us and we value all our customers comments and suggestions.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Brome Grange Hotel soon.

Brian and Kelly Keane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    190
    108
    33
    14
See reviews for
85
280
9
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed just one night and were made very welcome by friendly, helpful staff. The room was very comfortable, clean and warm although the weather outside was freezing with some snow!
We had an evening meal and breakfast, both of which were excelllent. In all a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It is very important to us and we value all our customers comments and suggestions.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Brome Grange Hotel soon.

Brian and Kelly Keane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay at the Brome Grange! Staff are very accommodating & friendly. Food was superb & the rooms were very clean & well equipment. Loads to do & see around the area. Will certainly be returning in the summer. There wedding package looked very appealing ;)

Definitely worth a visit :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fairy2231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It is very important to us and we value all our customers comments and suggestions.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Brome Grange Hotel soon.

Brian and Kelly Keane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Brome Grange. we arrived early afternoon and were met by a pleasant man in the car park who walked us to reception and checked us in swiftly. He then showed us to our room, which I thought was a nice touch as you don't get that at many hotels. We got to our room and were pleasantly surprised by the décor of the room it was lovely and warm and the receptionist must have seen the surprise on our face as he then explained to us all the work that has been done to the hotel since the new owners took over. Impressive, as the hotel only opened in November after being closed for a long time.
We then went exploring.
We had dinner in the restaurant on both nights and the menu looked good and the food was simple but tasty.The restaurant was buzzing on both nights. As previous travellers have already said the staff are very friendly and helpful. I would say their knowledge on the menu and wine list could be better. We mentioned this to one of the managers during our stay and he informed us that they were having training on the new wine list as they only recently started that wine list. Fair enough. good selection of wines. The person on the bar(same chap that checked us in) suggested and let me try a Japanese lager they had, I found out afterwards that this was the most expensive lager they served, which made me giggle,but it was good and I had that all weekend.
Breakfast was good and everything you would expect from a hotel breakfast. once again smiling helpful staff, makes all the difference.
In the entrance they have a drawing of what they have planned for the future and it looks impressive.
Considering the price we paid we both thought it was incredible value for money for the standard of the room, food and service.
Thumbs up from us and we look forward to coming back to see the changes.
Well done to staff and new owners, we will be telling others.

Room Tip: Not sure what the old rooms are like but the new ones are lovely, we were told that eventually they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It is very important to us and we value all our customers comments and suggestions.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Brome Grange Hotel soon.

Brian and Kelly Keane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in this Hotel last night.
Arrived on horrible wet and windy day, to a lovely warm smile from the Front desk staff.
This Hotel to be honest is not luxury, but it is clean with a nice little country pub and restaurant attached.
We was told of big renovation plans, and when done will be Lovely.
One of the reason we booked dinner was because of the Menu online, unfortunately the menu online seems to be a sample, and nothing was on what we wanted .braised Beef Cheeks.
But that said, we had two steaks with chips (Chips over done) a starter and a bottle of wine, all for less than £50...can't really go to far wrong.
The staff are the biggest asset, so maybe could be trained to a higher standard, because this could be 4 star quite easily, with just a little investment.
Breakfast was fantastic, just wish the ketchup was on the table, instead having to wait until half way through the breakfast to get some, and when it does arrive it is in silly little dishes.. so that is really for the management to decided, maybe have small bottle for the breakfast service in the dresser, rather than the staff running all over the place with dishes of sauce.
Rooms were large and spacious, only recently been refurbished, not stunning, but very clean.
Overall, nice place and would stay again and recommend. So thank you Brome Grange Staff!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magoo29272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Manager at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review which is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just returned from a two day Groupon stay. We had a lovely, large, warm and comfortable room. The decor was nice and the bathroom decor looked new. The tv was larger than some we've had in hotel rooms and the bathroom was definitely up there with the best with a great shower.
The room was located in a separate block from the main hotel along with some others which are arranged around the courtyard. This made for a quiet location. Some may complain about it being slightly remote from the dining area but we found this an attractive option.
The staff were wonderful and couldn't have been more pleasant. There was almost a family feeling to it.
We had breakfast and dinner in the hotel. The room was olde worlde, comfortable and attractive. The adjacent lounge had an open log fire which was nice considering the freezing weather outside.
I had the full English breakfast each day which was nice. I thought that the dinner menu was rather limited but there are good reasons for this which I fully understood and accepted. See next paragraph for explanation. Having said that, I had a cannelloni one night and duck the next both of which were very nice. The apple crumble and custard was a generous portion and I enjoyed it.
The hotel is in new ownership as stated by other contributors. The new owners are working hard to bring the hotel up to a high standard and spending a lot of time and money on this. Clearly there are things which will improve as they get to grips with the new work and this will include the menu, I'm sure. We were shown around the new rooms which are being made ready within the main hotel building and others around the site. There are two new suites within the main building which are being opened up within a few days (I believe). One of these is particularly lovely. More building work is in progress for further developments here. The bridal suite is gorgeous. It's in a separate adjacent building and is somewhat luxurious with a twin whirlpool bath and double shower all set in a sort of barn building - very attractive.
We were also shown how the other rooms were being brought up to a high standard, which was all very interesting.
Don't let the fact that developments are currently taking place, put you off. Almost everything is lovely and what isn't, isn't worth worrying about. Okay, so our door latch didn't double lock. It wasn't important and I certainly wouldn't hold it against them in any way as they are bending over backwards to make your stay wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a great pleasure to meet you both and have the chance to show you around the Hotel and the plans we have for the future. Your feedback and views were very much appreciated.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your Groupon break and we hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards

Kelly and Brian Keane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Tithe Barn was an excellent venue for Mothering Sunday Carvery Lunch. Starters were all well received, the Carvery Roast choices (Pork, beef cooked two ways & Turkey) you couldn't fault, veg cooked just the way I like...al dente. We had a variety of desserts, all yummy and empty plates. The waiting staff were friendly and attentive. Found it strange there wasn't a wine list but understand from the waitress that is being printed. Glad Brome Grange is open again, we will come back to watch it grow as apparently the new owners have big plans.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AW-disss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your feedback is very much appreciated and has been passed to our team. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful Mothers Day. You will also be delighted to hear that our full wine list is now in place.

We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to the Brome Grange in the near future.

Kind regards


Kelly and Brian Keane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brome
18.7 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
486 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
460 reviews
1.8 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Best Western Ipswich Hotel
18.2 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
21.7 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Brome Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Brome Grange Hotel

Property: Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
Address: Norwich Road | Near Diss, Brome IP23 8AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Brome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Brome Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in delightful countryside the Best Western Brome Grange is an ideal venue for both business and pleasure. Originally founded in the 16th century the hotel has been extended and renovated and boasts 44 fully equipped en-suite bedrooms, 65 seater contemporary Courtyard Restaurant, 3 Meeting rooms, Precor Equipped Gymnasium, Spa Bath and Steam Room, Beauty Treatment rooms and 16th Century Tithe Barn Conference and Banqueting Facility. FREE Wifi and fully licensed Bar and Lounge area. The hotel is ideally located between the three poignant towns of Norwich, Ipswich and Bury St Edmunds and withe easy access to delightful Coastal Towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Brome Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing