We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff Improvement Required”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brome
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff Improvement Required”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have just returned from a two night Groupon stay at this hotel.Upon arrival it was clear that the pictures we had seen did not exactly mirror the exterior now.However, we were greeted by a very friendly chap on reception who explained that the hotel was undergoing refurbishment and our room had only been finished the day before so he would welcome some feedback.We were given the key and entered into an ice box of a room with a very small fan heater , which was already on.Tried to turn on the radiator without success.Checked out the bathroom and found a wet floor- felt the radiator and it was clear that it was leaking.Needless to say we returned to reception and explained that there were minor things such as bins,and tissues missing but disturbingly there was a leak in the bathroom and the radiator in the bedroom did not work. Both of which we felt must have been known, or should have been.We were told that he would check it out and asked if we could please wait.In the meantime we had a sandwich and soup which was very nice but slow in coming as the receptionist also had to check out the room,as well as wait on us.We were also told chef checked out the room as well which could explain the 20 minute delay from order to arrival of the food!

We were then offered another fan in the room which we were told would warm it up as maintenance could not be called on a Friday afternoon, or, he could try and find us another room! We opted for another room needless to say -( an offer of a complimentary drink for our trouble might have helped) but was not forthcoming.The new room was clean, tidy and I must say far more cosier than the original room,However, the key to the room could not be found so after the housekeeper had let us in we had her key for the duration of our stay.

We did eat in the restaurant that night and chose options from a limited menu.I ordered the lamb steak which had a trickle of mint sauce and nothing else so I had to request some gravy or the meal would have been too bland.My husbands cod he said he enjoyed, I could not see his plate as the table was incredibly small so the wine bucket took up most space and obscured the view. We also asked for a wine list to be told that there was not one as suppliers had changed that very day. We asked for a Rose which was actually very nice but were also not advised of the price.We ordered the cheese board which was ample for two with enough cheese and crackers so lessons have been learnt from previous reviews.

Breakfast - oh dear what chaos ensued.Staff are indeed friendly but cannot remember what has been requested and do not think or plan ahead.Tea and Coffee pots were not automatically replenished, so there was a gaggle of guests either requesting or pacing for their beverages blocking access to the croissants,cereals, and juices for everyone else. We must say this whole episode was not relaxing and although adequate when it arrived we do not think that we would have paid the £8.00 asking price for non-residents.

Evening meal on our second night started off better in that we had a larger table so we could eat without disturbing utensils and each other.Still no wine list ,we said that was fine because we liked last evenings Rose so we were quite happy to have that again.Alas, this was not available as we were told that the supplier had changed that morning(again)?

We asked for bread rolls which were forgotten and we had to remind staff as the starter had already arrived. Steak and duck were fine, french mustard was requested but did not arrive until half of the steak had been eaten and to be honest we decided we would accept the english mustard which had arrived as we could not wait any longer. Unfortunately hair found in dessert which was returned, did not try another as rather put off!

Breakfast was actually taken in the bar due to slow clearance of tables,in the restaurant and again we had to wait and had to prompt for toast twice.Indeed when breakfast arrived we were asked if we wanted sauces or anything else and I requested tomato sauce to which the reply was"It is in the room next door on the breakfast table", which did not resonate well with me.My husband actually went and retrieved the sauce!

Throughout the duration of our stay the change in room caused much confusion.On one occasion we were asked what time we wanted to eat that evening? and we said 8.00pm as we had originally booked this time to which the gentleman said we cannot do 8.00 how about 7.45 or 8.15? No problem for us. After further checking the gentleman apologised and said it was because we had moved rooms and confused everything!

Upon checking out were asked what room is it ? Boring after being asked so many times.What about getting to know your customers by facial recognition or even name? We were then told , "Oh we thought you had already checked out as the key was hanging in the reception cupboard"! We reviewed the bill and advised that we, like another couple we have read about, did not get offered the Prosecco upon arrival as part of the Groupon deal and our voucher was for two nights meals and accomodation and the bill was revised accordingly.

Overall the interior presents as clean and tidy but outside is far from this.Too many cigarette butts in flower beds, rubbish being burned on what is referred to as the paddock and field area-really ? .Not very welcoming or inviting sadly.

We too felt the experience was like Fawlty Towers, overall the staff are very friendly but clearly need much more training and guidance.Even though this stay was not all bad and the general friendliness of the staff is to be commended, there are currently too many negatives for us to want to return again in a hurry.

Room Tip: Avoid room nine until the radiator is fixed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NettieB427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review. Please accept our apologies for the number of small issues that occurred during your stay. We are still in the training period and we hope that the great discounted rates reflected this. Feedback is very important to us so that we may continue to improve our standards and implement new systems where needed. The Hotel is in refurbishment and we realise that all items no matter how small will be taken care of. We thank you once again for staying at The Brome Grange and we hope that you may return one day to see the latest improvements.

Kindest Regards

Kelly and Brian Keane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    188
    107
    32
    14
See reviews for
85
277
9
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have just returned from a two night stay at this hotel booked through Groupon for our wedding anniversary. My first observation was that the hotel looked nothing like the picture and on walking round the hotel, we still had no clue as to where that photo had been taken! The rooms are all situated motel style round a central car parking area and although very clean and comfortable, we would have felt more secure if there was a mortice lock on the doors as the only lock was just a yale lock which did not feel very secure. As the external doors and windows could be accessed by anyone, whether staying there or not, we had to take our valuables with us everywhere we went as there was no safe in the room. The hotel has a strange layout with the Reception area off of a corridor which is in the main Restaurant area.The hotel is under new management and I understand that all public areas are currently being renovated and updated. On arrival we were swiftly checked in by a very jolly gentleman and shown to our room, which was large, spacious and warm. We had booked a meal on the first night and although the menu had a limited choice we choose steak which had a £3 supplement. I asked to see the wine menu and was told they did not have one but the lady said she would bring me over what they had and asked me whether I wanted red, white or rose! She then appeared with 3 full bottles of wine on a tray for me to choose from! The lady did not inform us of the price of the wines which was also a bit worrying! The starter options were not great, with no soup on offer either. We choose the mushrooms with a poached egg on toast which we thought was more like something you would have for breakfast, but as we did not like anything else it was that or nothing! The meal was large, however the steak was overcooked with a large slice of warmed tomato and a mushroom which was tasteless and watery. The cheese board was large and plenty for two people to share. The bar area is quite small, but had nice background music playing and a friendly atmosphere. The room was very comfortable with a large very comfortable bed and a large flat screen tv. There was also a bath and shower with plenty of hot water coming out of the bath taps, however it was not until the second day when I wanted to use the shower instead of the bath that I realised that only cold water would come out of the shower!
The morning breakfast was very chaotic and not very well organised to say the least! We were told to help ourselves from the selection on the table and they would come back to take our breakfast order. The tea and coffee were in flasks on the table, but we were not given any cups! Their was juice on the table but we had no glasses! When we ordered our breakfast we also requested toast. The breakfast appeared - lukewarm but still no toast! When we pointed this out the lady looking very flustered disappeared and came back with a rack of cold toast! It was quite comical and yes we did hear other remarks about Faulty Towers! However, the staff were very polite, friendly and would quickly rectify any problems that were mentioned. That evening after I discovered the shower problem I mentioned it at Reception and the lady said "oh no not again and apologised profusely and said they would attend to it right away! I also pointed out that with our Groupon Offer, we should have been given two glasses of Prosecco and that we were not given that on arrival and again the lady apologised and said that she would arrange that immediately. We said we would sit in the bar area and shortly afterwards she returned with two glasses of prosecco and that they would go and check our shower problem. A short while later the same lady came back and said that there was plenty of hot water and assured us that nothing was wrong with the boiler. We explained again that we did have hot water but just not coming out of the shower and then another charming lady came over and asked if she would be able to go to our room and check the shower for us. We said yes of course and she returned shortly afterwards and said that the on and off dial was very stiff but that she had managed to free it and get the hot water to come through. What a star! The four ladies on duty that night continued to serve in the restaurant, cover Reception and run the bar as well as maintenance! I also mentioned to my husband that I was a bit cold as I was sitting by the window, and no sooner had I said it, they were offering to light the fire for me, or move me to another table. I said that I had pulled the curtain across and that I would be fine but they still went and found a portable heater and plugged it in! As we chatted to staff later that evening the breakfast issue came up and they went out of their way to assist us the next morning and ensure we were happy with everything. Full marks to the friendly helpful staff, who are trying their best to deal with lots of different issues, training new staff members and doing a multitude of tasks while always having time for a friendly smile. We had a very enjoyable weekend break and wish them every success for the future.

Room Tip: All standard rooms appear to have a similar outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepzee_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review. Your comments are very important to us and we regularly give feedback to our team. We are in the process of implementing procedures and training with our new team, who as you rightly say work very hard to please all of our customers. We purchased the hotel just a little over 3 months and we are very pleased with the progress so far and hope that you are too.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our great value Groupon breaks and we hope that you will return to the hotel again soon so that you can see further improvement.

Kelly and Brian Keane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had an excellent stay at the hotel. We arrived to be told our room wasn't quite ready and we were offered a complimentary drink. We were then shown to our room which was lovely, really clean, warm and nicely decorated. The food was good, could have done with a few more options but it did seem to be cooked very well. The best part about this hotel are the staff, they were always so friendly and helpful. The new owners are in the process of bringing the hotel up to date and will hopefully continue the good work that they have already started.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We value every customers comments and reviews.

We do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kelly and Brian Keane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Arrived at the hotel on Sunday in time for roast lunch.The roast pork lunch was excellent,as was the service.Was shown to our room by a very nice young lady,the room had been recently refurbished and was nice and warm.The breakfasts both mornings was very good,we ate in the restaurant on the Monday evening and again the service was great,the starter was very good and my only moan was the sirloin steak we both had was a bit tough.Overall a lovely break at a good hotel with down to earth pleasant staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ringer970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It is very important to us and we value all our customers comments and suggestions.

We are very pleased that you still enjoyed our stay with us and we hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Brome Grange Hotel soon.

Brian and Kelly Keane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I chose the Brome Grange as it was close to a supplier i was visiting near by and it makes a change to the faceless chain hotels. I've stayed here twice now. And have mixed feeling about the Brome, It feels a little like rooting for the under dog....

1st time i stayed the heating was wedged on full blast in the room and the radiator thermostat did nothing. I slept all night with the windows wide open and snow on the ground.. 2nd time the heating went off at 10pm and i had to wash with kettle water! When i questioned the availability of some hot water no answer could be given.

The rooms are clean on the whole and the beds are comfy but the wifi only works on some rooms and i had to move rooms to get service.

1st time i stayed (mid jan) the evening meal was great, really tasty with nice veg. The highlight of the stay and the reason i came back.. 2nd time (mid Feb) the meat was tough (lamb steak with the bone in - a la frozen band saw cut freezer meat) and the minted sauce was just mint jelly poured on top. Veg was awful - soggy yet dehydrated. Feeding this back the waiting staff was fruitless and again response was given.

Please Brome management, manage your staff, if you can get the food and service fixed (and the heating) i'd be back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with wifi reception. Not all can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_blue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your past review. Your comments are very important to us and we have taken everything on board.

Without our customer feedback we would not be able to to continue improving The Grange day by day.

Kind regards

Kelly and Brian Keane, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tockenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice enough hotel. Friendly staff, clean rooms and comfortable bed etc however service could be better. Slow service at dinner was amplified when the medium rare steak arrived well done. No breakfast menus on the table made service slower in the morning. Nothing major but without them my stay would have been memorable for the right reasons.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Massive_Duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are in the process of implementing procedures and training the new team at the Hotel which has been shut for 2 years. Thank you for your kind comments and your feedback will certainly be passed on to our team.

We hope that you come back and visit us again soon.

Kelly and Brian Keane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent a laughter filled 3 days at the Brome Grange and can I say what fun we had. I can honestly say I have never laughed so much and expected Basil to pop his head in and say hello at one point. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite as it was available and I would recommend this for its Jacuzzi bath and 4 poster Bed at a very reasonable price. The room was warm and comfortable throughout our stay. The staff were excellent especially Nadir, Jess ( I think) and James the manager who should be in the theatre. Despite being run off their feet for most of the time dealing with grumbling customers One highlight was assisting the staff by maintaining the fire whilst they covered reception, served food and ran the bar at the same time. I seem to recall a staffing problem caused the issue. As stated staff were excellent and dealt with customers issues professionally and with good humour. The only complaint was the food which was average and lacked a little originality. In addition I would have liked some croissants, yoghurt and fruit at breakfast as stated on the menu but never appeared. Having said that the prices were reasonable and you get what you pay for. We will go back for another laugh at some point

Room Tip: Get the Honeymoon Suite and enjoy the jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eldorado1039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Our customer views and comments are very important to us.

We are in the process of training and implementing procedures. We have a new team and the hotel has only been open 3 months. We hope that you were pleased with what you have seen with the progress so far.

Kelly and Brian Keane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brome
18.7 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
475 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
442 reviews
1.8 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Best Western Ipswich hotel
18.2 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
21.7 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Brome Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Brome Grange Hotel

Property: Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
Address: Norwich Road | Near Diss, Brome IP23 8AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Brome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Brome Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in delightful countryside the Best Western Brome Grange is an ideal venue for both business and pleasure. Originally founded in the 16th century the hotel has been extended and renovated and boasts 44 fully equipped en-suite bedrooms, 65 seater contemporary Courtyard Restaurant, 3 Meeting rooms, Precor Equipped Gymnasium, Spa Bath and Steam Room, Beauty Treatment rooms and 16th Century Tithe Barn Conference and Banqueting Facility. FREE Wifi and fully licensed Bar and Lounge area. The hotel is ideally located between the three poignant towns of Norwich, Ipswich and Bury St Edmunds and withe easy access to delightful Coastal Towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Brome Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing