We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brome
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent a laughter filled 3 days at the Brome Grange and can I say what fun we had. I can honestly say I have never laughed so much and expected Basil to pop his head in and say hello at one point. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite as it was available and I would recommend this for its Jacuzzi bath and 4 poster Bed at a very reasonable price. The room was warm and comfortable throughout our stay. The staff were excellent especially Nadir, Jess ( I think) and James the manager who should be in the theatre. Despite being run off their feet for most of the time dealing with grumbling customers One highlight was assisting the staff by maintaining the fire whilst they covered reception, served food and ran the bar at the same time. I seem to recall a staffing problem caused the issue. As stated staff were excellent and dealt with customers issues professionally and with good humour. The only complaint was the food which was average and lacked a little originality. In addition I would have liked some croissants, yoghurt and fruit at breakfast as stated on the menu but never appeared. Having said that the prices were reasonable and you get what you pay for. We will go back for another laugh at some point

Room Tip: Get the Honeymoon Suite and enjoy the jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eldorado1039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. Our customer views and comments are very important to us.

We are in the process of training and implementing procedures. We have a new team and the hotel has only been open 3 months. We hope that you were pleased with what you have seen with the progress so far.

Kelly and Brian Keane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 577 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

Booked our stay through groupon, staff very friendly and helpfull, room a little dated but was very clean and warm, evening meal and breakfast was excellent the only fault we had was we decided to have a drink near the open fire before evening meal on 2nd day and felt a little rushed to enter the restaurant but other than that a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wheelska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our customer comments are very important to us and are fed back to our team on a regular basis.

Thank you once again

Kelly and Brian Keane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed two nights with my husband, 4 year old son, 2 year old daughter and our puppy.
My family and I arrived at the Brome Grange hotel after a very long car journey. We were shown to our room by a very friendly member of staff. Unfortunately we found our room to be very cold, so cold that we kept our coats on. My youngest child actually wrapped herself up in the bed to keep warm! My husband informed the staff about the temperature of our room, they reported that they had infact run out of the gas needed to heat the radiators and were waiting for the new delivery of gas to rectify the problem.
The bedroom had new carpet. However, apart from this the room was extremely dated. It was a family room with bunk beds that were placed by a long light cord (hardly safe) and the ladder to the top bunk was blocked by a bedside cabinet.
We ate in the hotel restraunt on our first night. The chef offered and cooked our children 'whatever they choose' whilst we ate from the menu. The kids had sausages, wedges and beans. the sausages were good quality and overall a good meal which the kids enjoyed. I had the tomato tart and my husband had the lamb. Both were dry and bland. My husband described his as at the very best a "school dinner". I choose to opt for the cheese board (£1.50 added supplement) this came out on a plate with a few crackers and 3 chunks of cheese...again very dry. Kids had ice cream...£3.00 each for 1 small scoop.
The following day, we left our room to walk outside in the cold to the hotels reception/dinning room for our breakfast. Considering we were staying in the middle of the country side amongst many farms, we were fully expecting a high standard of breakfast. We were very disappointed to see other customers breakfasts consisting of thin and pasty sausages. A far cry from the sausages the kids had eaten night before. When we came to order, I asked if the meat was local and whether or not the eggs were free range? The staff were unable to answer. My husband had poached eggs on toast. The toast was dry (un buttered) with two eggs on top. Disapointing. On both mornings of our stay there was not any sign of the fruit, yogurts or
Croissants that the menu
Offered.
We asked staff what attractions etc were in the local area? They laughed and said "what round here". Not very promising and seemed a shame. We went out for the day exploring and returned bout 1530 to find our beds still not been maid and bins full in our room. We had to ask for our room to be serviced. Whilst this was being done we decided to brave the reception/ restraunt again for hot chocolate. When we asked for this, it was as if we were the first people to have ever asked for a drink. Odd, considering they boast afternoon teas and bar snacks.
I complained twice about a leaking tap in our bathroom. Also, no hairdryer in our room, even though states there is one.
We did all agree that all of the staff were very friendly and helpful.
I think the hotel has a way to go to really advertise self as a 3 star hotel. Overall, we were very keen to leave and get home.


  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank laurenandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

We are extremely disappoint to read your review about the Brome Grange.

Firstly please accept our apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay. Our customers views are very important to us and we take them very seriously. We are pleased to say that since your stay we have had a new boiler system fitted at the hotel. The hotel was previously closed for 2 years prior to December last year and we are gradually in the process of re-newing and updating equipment, furnishings and facilities. We still have a long way to go and we hope that we may someday have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Brome Grange in order to restore some faith that you have lost.

If you would like to discuss your review personally, please do not hesitate to contact either of us at The Hotel or by email.

Kelly and Brian Keane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

For our 35th wedding anniversary we wanted to book somewhere local as February can sometimes be problematic travelling far because of snow so we chose Brome Grange, only ten minutes down the road. We had used the hotel several times before over the years for various occasions but wanted to support the new owners and we were not disappointed! I booked dinner, bed and breakfast over the phone a few weeks prior to our arrival date and was offered a special rate of £85. We arrived just before 6.00 pm and in the olde worlde reception area there was a very welcoming open log fire which some guests were warming themselves beside. We were shown to our room in the courtyard by a very friendly young lady who even offered to carry our luggage for us but of course we declined. We were very pleased with our spacious room which felt warm and homely and the bathroom was very satisfactory too. We had a cuppa before we walked over to the hotel for a pre dinner drink in the quaint bar area. We selected our food from the extensive menu and we were then called through to the authentic dinning room. The food was absolutely fautless; served by yet another friendly young lady. We were offered a complimentary drink at the end of the meal as the staff thought we had a long wait between courses which for us wasn't a problem as we hadn't a bus to catch and it was nice to have time to chat on a rare occasion of us having a meal out together! We retired to our room; had a comfortable night and then were one of the first to be seated for breakfast at 7.30 as we had to get home as we were minding two of our grandchildren at 8.30! Again we were greeted by a very friendly more mature woman who showed us where to help ourselves to cereal, tea/coffee and juices before then taking our order for toast and a cooked breakfast. Again the breakfast was cooked to perfection. So, two very satisfied customers who would definitely recommend Brome Grange and stay again!

Room Tip: Yes the rooms are in the courtyard as are some at Hintlesham Hall but that is also called a hotel an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Congratulations on 35 Year of marriage! Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you to The Brome Grange again in the future.

Kelly and Brian Keane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have just come home from a weekend at the Brome Grange Hotel, what a shame we could not have stayed longer.Every member of staff was friendly and helpful. Beautiful clean spacious room excellent food we will return. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyndasussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent review. We take all our comments very seriously and have passed on your delights to all staff involved.

I do hope that you will come and join us again one day.

Kelly and Brian Keane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

What a great hotel with friendly helpful staff and a very warm welcome!
Nothing was to much hassle for anybody there!
We will definitely be returning soon!
The food was superb and good value!

Not easy to have such high standards under new management but its working!

Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrewSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thanks very much for your review. It is very important to us and we value all our customers comments and suggestions.

We are very pleased you had a pleasurable stay. After 2 years of closure we are trying our hardest to put the hotel back on the map!

Kelly and Brian Keane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was our first experience with a groupon trip and choose the perfect hotel for a weekend break!
We were welcomed by very friendly staff and shown to our room which was extremely clean and comfortable & very warm!!
The food in the restaurant was first class and the drinks were extremely cheap! We sat by the big open wood burning fire after our lovely evening meal!
The breakfast was excellent with cereals and a lovely cooked very fresh breakfast!
All in all the whole experience of the weekend was perfect !!!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. It is very important to us and we value all our customers comments and suggestions.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your break with us and we hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again soon.

Kelly and Brian Keane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brome
18.7 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
508 reviews
20.2 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
18.2 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
488 reviews
22.0 mi away
Best Western Ipswich Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Brome Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Brome Grange Hotel

Address: Norwich Road | Near Diss, Brome IP23 8AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Brome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brome
Price Range: $58 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Brome Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in delightful countryside the Best Western Brome Grange is an ideal venue for both business and pleasure. Originally founded in the 16th century the hotel has been extended and renovated and boasts 44 fully equipped en-suite bedrooms, 65 seater contemporary Courtyard Restaurant, 3 Meeting rooms, Precor Equipped Gymnasium, Spa Bath and Steam Room, Beauty Treatment rooms and 16th Century Tithe Barn Conference and Banqueting Facility. FREE Wifi and fully licensed Bar and Lounge area. The hotel is ideally located between the three poignant towns of Norwich, Ipswich and Bury St Edmunds and withe easy access to delightful Coastal Towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Brome Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing