We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend”
Review of White Hart Inn

White Hart Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Blythburgh
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here in the dog friendly room. The rooms are lovely, the views are amazing and the food and service were great. I’m sure that we will return.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LucyEaglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 373 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2019 via mobile

To start with the bad:
The “Surf n Turf” burger was advertised to come with a half-lobster. This was no bigger than a crayfish tail. (We were told this is due to season but I highly doubt the menu price changes to accommodate for a smaller amount of lobster).

The peanut chicken first came out burnt black, and was returned to the kitchen, it came out again absolutely coated in Sriracha, to the point where you couldn’t taste any other elements of the dish.

The onion rings that came with the steak tasted of fish - obviously cooked in the same oil (even though the restaurant manager disputed this, but the taste was EXTREMELY obvious).

The restaurant manager had an atrocious attitude and poor customer service, she seemed like she didn’t want to be there - when complaining she talked down and dismissed me due to my youth as if I didn’t know what I was talking about.

The Good:

The young waitress we had was excellent, good customer service.

The restaurant and surroundings are very nice looking.

The venison and fish & chips were very nice.

The bar service was excellent.

Overall:

An overpriced meal, with atrocious restaurant management. Will not go again, which is a shame as previous visits were far better.

P.S.
Butter served on a rock is an overrated fad, and is silly.

Date of visit: September 2019
5  Thank dann_carroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L148, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019

Thank you for your review, i have been expecting this. I have been informed from all 3 members of staff that were on that night about your poor attitude/arrogance and rudeness.

We sincerely apologise that your chicken dish was sent out burnt. This was completely our fault and should never of happened. This was replaced but was still not good enough, too much sauce this time. Even so we removed this off your bill. After this incident your party picked at almost everything you ordered. The 'shell on prawns' were not wanted as you wanted a prawn cocktail. Clearly you missed the fact that we do not have a prawn cocktail on the menu and that the menu clearly states 'shell on prawns'. You stated that we should be washing all the eggs off the shell on prawns?? why?? If you peel a prawn well and use your finger bowl provided, eggs are no issue.

The ham baguette - you stated it shouldn't be served with so much fat on!! The vast majority of people eat this, we have never had a complaint about too much fat on the ham. If you do not like fat, then perhaps just remove it!!

To say our surf and turf burger was served with lobster is the size of a crayfish is absolutely ridiculous, in fact this really made us laugh out loud!, so thank you for providing us with such humour!!! The lobsters we purchase are 500-600 grams and you had half of that on your burger without a shadow of a doubt and priced accordingly!! In fact you asked where your claws were, not sure why you would think you would get two claws with half the lobster!! The restaurant manager also had to explain this to you. You had one claw, which the chefs always take out of the shell, did you expect to have a claw hanging out of the burger??

Thank goodness you enjoyed two off your meals with no complaints.

Our restaurant manager is not rude and she would not go out of her way to be like this. I think she probably reached a point when you had complained about almost everything you had ordered, she could not contain her annoyance at such unsubstantiated complaints. One of your group made it very clear they were a hospitality and catering trainer, not sure why one would need to explain such things but clearly this person thought this was necessary.

Our meals are not over priced at all, but in line with other competitors. Clearly we are no longer a destination for yourselves. We do not tolerate complaints that are exaggerated or simply false.

PS - We will serve butter however we chose to..................this comment says it all!!!!!!!

Final PS.... Tripadvisor is actually an overrated fad and silly........ (mostly as it used by people like you to complain, just a platform for complaints) but those who read our reply will be able to make their own minds up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

We had penny bun baguettes for lunch and they were absolutely delicious. One was over flowing with prawns, bacon and avocado. The other a delicious combination of salt beef and pickles. Both served with a generous portion of fries and salad. Brilliant value for money, lovely local beer and friendly ambience. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place.....also dog and child friendly (well stocked toy area).

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LBCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2019

We came for lunch yesterday and had the best meal ever. I had the beef which came with a mountain of vegetables, extra gravy, horseradish and enormous Yorkshire. My husband had the slip soles which he said were delicious. The staff were really friendly. The garden is beautiful and our stop really was perfect. The prices were really reasonable and we will definitely be back!

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2019

A large pub with a great garden overlooking the river Blyth. Good choice of food with lobster and fruits de mer. Staff very friendly

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L148, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. So pleased you had a lovely experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
White Hart team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Hart Inn also viewed

 

Been to White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing