We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of White Hart Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Hart Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Blythburgh B&B and Inns
Hammamet, Tunisia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

This is now the foodie pub of the area, very busy so be sure to book. The new owners come with a ready made reputation from their previous pub. What a difference! The pub is now clean and very attractive.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank southwold85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    59
    33
    27
    12
See reviews for
75
81
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Visited the pub before but never again. To be told by a local that we should kick our dog up the backside (he actually swore) because he barked at another dog. I just cannot believe how rude they were. I'm sorry to say that if this is how locals behave towards visitors then the pub will not survive. To think we were going to have another drink and maybe a meal.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Lovely place!
Visited for lunch with a friend, very inviting atmosphere and lovely roaring fire.
Menu is very nice, however was lacking some basic healthy options. No jacket potatoes available for example.
I was dithering about my food choice as I didn't want anything too rich, I eventually went for steak, which was cooked perfectly.
I opted for new potatoes and veg instead of chips and onion rings, sadly I needn't have bothered as the veg and potatoes were swimming in butter. Damn.
I think if they offered choice in these matters things would be better! Maybe a "house salad" of some kind.
Having said that, the food was delicious, butter and all, and my friends meal looked lovely, if not a little stingy on the chips, which were served in a cute little basket.
I would definitely go back, but be clearer on my choices of food!
The staff were wonderful and friendly.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ramit61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This pub/restaurant/inn is well known to me having something of a chequered past despite being an Adnams flagship establishment. It now has new owners who are pulling it up by its bootstraps. It will take time but already, the quality of the food is excellent with the new regime in the kitchen taking effect. The new owners come with an excellent reputation from their previous establishment and I have no doubt this will go from strength to strength. The staff levels are questionable as they get to grips with the customer supply and demand but I'm sure this will settle down. We have been twice in the last month and both times we have enjoyed exceptional cooking. The location is superb overlooking the Bulcamp Marshes and very convenient for Southwold - and the accommodation has got to be ideal for birdwatchers!

Room Tip: We have only used this establishment as a restaurant and pub but I noticed that previous owners have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annexe2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
409 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Visited here on a Saturday so it was quite busy. Service was prompt and the menu contained some interesting dishes which were very tasty. However we noticed that at about 13.30 all their systems completely collapsed. Orders were not being taken so people left, people were not getting food and when one table’s food eventually arrived a dish was missing. It took ages to get the bill. There is a lovely walk along the river from the end of the car park. There are also outside tables. Would however go again as the food was very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I went with my partner after visiting his sister in Raydon. Her partner suggested that we all go to this restaurant as this was now under new management and that their previous restaurants had been very good quality. To be fair to the TWO waitresses that I saw it was an extremely busy Saturday.

We sat down and we were going to order several starters to share, when the lady came over to take our order, we were told that one of the starters we wanted was no longer available. The waitress pursaded us to have an "iffits", a seafood platter of sorts. When it came it looked very tasty however on closer inspection, the shell on prawns still had roe attached to the majority of them, although I understand that they can be eaten like this, it was extremely off putting for me and my partner and we did not eat them. I have checked with other restaurateurs since this experience and most said they should all be washed and cleaned before being cooked. It was also very messy and no finger bowl was provided. I had to then go to the bathroom to wash my hands free of eggs and prawn entrails.

Our empty starter plates lay in front of us for about 10 minutes and then the plates were taken in 5 minute slots, this was because the restaurant was very busy and not meant to insult the TWO ladies working there.

My starter more than made up for the disappointing starter. Crackling pork belly in chorizo was sublime. It was really tasty however I was still a little put off by the starter and was not able to finish it all. My partner and his family also enjoyed there meal this included a very price friendly half lobster salad. We finished with our meal and asked for the bill - after 10 minutes we walked to the bar and asked as it seemed we had been forgotten.

As previously stated the restaurant was very busy and I personally felt that the two waitresses could have done with some help. The starter was a let down however the main was sublime. I would be willing to give the restaurant another opportunity however I feel that the most testing time for the standards of food is when it is busy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roisinmc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

I live locally and want a good local with good food. Overall that's what the 'Hart provides. The new management have come with a good reputation. The food is good but the prices are now on the high side. Presentation can be more style over function (wooden slabs and small baskets).

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Blythspartan-vfr800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blythburgh
3.1 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
324 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
765 reviews
5.3 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
765 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
676 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Inn

Property: White Hart Inn
Address: London Road, Blythburgh IP19 9LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Blythburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Blythburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your White Hart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing