We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of White Hart Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Hart Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Blythburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Had a good meal at the White Hart, early Sat. evening. The place was deserted but the log fire was burning and there were candles on the table. We sat in the bar area with it's impressive carved beams, which seemed much more inviting than the restaurant. Service was friendly, polite, helpful and quick. Prices were reasonable: cheaper than a lot of places in the area. I had a lovely vegetarian curry - big, hearty portion with a big mound of rice. Hubby had rib-eye steak: the most expensive thing on the menu. It was delicious but not huge and a large amount of it was fat. For pudding I enjoyed a lemon posset: the most indulgent, rich, creamy and scrumptious thing I've tasted all year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBcoeliac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    57
    32
    27
    12
See reviews for
75
78
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stopped here on our way to Southwold. the food is ok and the cost is reasonable, but that is all. I wasn't expecting too much to be fair anyway and was not really surprised. i had the fish and chips and the portion size was good. it just lacked flavour. All in all, it is probably about right for a stop off pub at the prices they charge. On the positive side, we had a lovely view whilst eating in the garden and the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricamundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We visited yesterday and two of us had the Roast Wood Pigeon and the Confit of chicken.

My starter had two small pieces of meat one of which was overdone, my partner had three pieces of meat again some of which were overdone. The salad was acceptable. Perhaps the pigeons are starved in Suffolk. The confit of chicken comprised two medium sized pieces of chicken which could have been slow cooked in an oven served on a mushroom risotto. It cried out for a few green beans or some contrast of colour. At £11.95 for the main and £5.65 for the starter this was not good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stopped at The White Hart Inn today (Saturday 21st September) after a trip to the steam rally, we were thirsty and hungry. Its a wonderful idea that food is served all day here at the weekend. We were greeted with a very warm welcome and a lovely smile from the barmaid that served us promptly and had no problem with adding a dash of lemonade to my Aspalls which sadly, is often the case. She then attended to a group of people that came in for lunch whilst we browsed the menu on the blackboard, it was great to feel unrushed. After taking our order, it only took about 10 mins for our meal to arrive, which included a perfectly cooked steak. The young man that brought out our food was also friendly and checked everything was ok. Upon leaving, the barmaid wished us a good afternoon and hoped she would see us again. So nice to feel so welcome. Keep this up and take care of your lovely staff. We look forward to coming to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This Pub/Restaurant changed hands last year and the New Management were poor. Having had many very good experiences before the changeover, we visited last year to try the New Management. Very disappointing - the Menu choice was much reduced from before and there was no PRINTED Menu. With a large and attractive Garden area we found it impossible to memorise the Menu (posted on a wall in the pub) and pass the details on to our guests at the far end of the garden.
We decided to give it a miss for a while (there are many other places to eat in the area) and only went back again recently. Once again - NO PRINTED MENUS (How much can it cost to print menus?), the choice was severely limited and the food was very average. This place is inj a ideal location with stunning views of the River Blyth but it will only go downhill until you get the Restaurant right. Try the Five Bells at Wrentham if you want to see how it should be done!

Room Tip: Did not stay in Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigace337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blacktiles, Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit.

We have taken the decision at The White Hart to use the blackboards for our menu that is advertised in the restaurant, bar area and outside by our large picnic tables as we use fresh local produce that can change at short notice so this gives us the chance to change and amend meals on a daily basis. We also feel that it is very in keeping with the style of the 16th century building. As a new business we are very mindful of costs within our first year, and this was an area we felt that could be used to our advantage, already having the blackboards in place. With this in mind we do realise that it can be a nuisance remembering the 15 main meals plus any starters or desserts currently on our menu in the large garden area, all of our members of staff are more than happy to help and can come out to the table to assist you with your ordering if needed.

After a very successful summer at The White Hart I am glad you enjoyed the stunning views over the estuary in our garden and we hope you will come along and give us another try soon.

Regards
Jo & Luke
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Out for a drive so stopped for a drink. The pub was quite dark inside. It was a beautiful day so we sat outside. Lovely views over the bay. Popular with walkers as quite a few dropped by as we sat having our drink.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blacktiles, Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad you enjoyed the views over the Blyth estuary from our beautiful garden, with The White Hart being a very old 16th century pub full of dark beams it can tend to feel quite dark; however with the nights now drawing in and the temperature dropping this all helps to build atmosphere and with the log fire roaring we hope you will be able to come along and sample this for yourselves very soon.

Regards
Jo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We decided to eat here one evening as we had had good reports about since change of owners. We were disappointed. It looked very unfamiliar as the layout of tables in the bar area was totally different from the one we had become accustomed to and so didn't seem as welcoming to us. Although it was fairly early evening there was a large crowd round the bar and only one person serving - even this one disappeared for what seemed like ages to fill up the ice bucket. So there was a long wait. We were pleased we got there just before a coach party.
The menu was only on a board at the end of the room - not very helpful for people needing sticks to walk when having to get through the throng - and was difficult to read from where we sat. We ordered cod & chips. To be fair this did arrive within 15 mins. My cod had a nice crisp batter but was full of oil and needed draining more. The peas were hard. My wife's fish was broken up. Perhaps we picked a bad time but we won't be hurrying back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derek p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blacktiles, Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed, we were extremely busy in the bar on this particular evening with an unexpected coach party arriving with 52 thirsty people.
Sometimes the batter on the fish can retain some of the oil it is cooked in and as you said could of have been left a little longer to drain, with regards to the fish being broken this can happen as we use fresh fish.
I hope you choose to try us again soon. You may find it more comfortable in our restaurant as it will be easier to see the menu and we have a beautiful view of the estuary.

Luke
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blythburgh
3.1 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
3.3 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
11.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Inn

Property: White Hart Inn
Address: London Road, Blythburgh IP19 9LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Blythburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Blythburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Hart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing