We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views”
Review of White Hart Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Hart Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Blythburgh B&B and Inns
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely views”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Out for a drive so stopped for a drink. The pub was quite dark inside. It was a beautiful day so we sat outside. Lovely views over the bay. Popular with walkers as quite a few dropped by as we sat having our drink.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blacktiles, Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad you enjoyed the views over the Blyth estuary from our beautiful garden, with The White Hart being a very old 16th century pub full of dark beams it can tend to feel quite dark; however with the nights now drawing in and the temperature dropping this all helps to build atmosphere and with the log fire roaring we hope you will be able to come along and sample this for yourselves very soon.

Regards
Jo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    59
    33
    27
    12
See reviews for
75
81
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We decided to eat here one evening as we had had good reports about since change of owners. We were disappointed. It looked very unfamiliar as the layout of tables in the bar area was totally different from the one we had become accustomed to and so didn't seem as welcoming to us. Although it was fairly early evening there was a large crowd round the bar and only one person serving - even this one disappeared for what seemed like ages to fill up the ice bucket. So there was a long wait. We were pleased we got there just before a coach party.
The menu was only on a board at the end of the room - not very helpful for people needing sticks to walk when having to get through the throng - and was difficult to read from where we sat. We ordered cod & chips. To be fair this did arrive within 15 mins. My cod had a nice crisp batter but was full of oil and needed draining more. The peas were hard. My wife's fish was broken up. Perhaps we picked a bad time but we won't be hurrying back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derek p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blacktiles, Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed, we were extremely busy in the bar on this particular evening with an unexpected coach party arriving with 52 thirsty people.
Sometimes the batter on the fish can retain some of the oil it is cooked in and as you said could of have been left a little longer to drain, with regards to the fish being broken this can happen as we use fresh fish.
I hope you choose to try us again soon. You may find it more comfortable in our restaurant as it will be easier to see the menu and we have a beautiful view of the estuary.

Luke
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I am sad to write this review, having already sent a review praising everything at the White Hart. This visit, probably our fifth, was very disappointing! We were in two minds about having our lunch there, when we saw a coach in the car park! Wish we had driven on to somewhere else. My husband and daughter ordered sandwiches and I ordered a baked potato, and we were warned, at the bar, that it would probably be 20 mins. because of the large party that had just entered the dining room. Anyway, one round of sandwiches arrived, which my daughter said was very good, then, after another short wait, another round arrived, and again was good. My baked potato took slightly longer, and, by this time I was very hungry, watching everyone else eating! You can imagine my disappointment, and disgust when my baked potato with tuna eventually arrived and looked as if it had been heated up several times (the inside of the potato was brown!!!!) It looked revolting, and should never have left the kitchen. The chef, or who ever prepared it, must have seen the inside when he cut it open and filled it with tuna. The waitress apologized with excuses of a batch of potatoes that had a high sugar content ???? What a lot of nonsense, it was a 'much heated up' potato, plain and simple. Anyway, I asked for a tuna sandwich, as a replacement, made with brown bread. It arrived, in white bread, which was not very fresh. The waitress again apologized and said there was no brown bread!!! What a shame someone didn't pop next door, to the little shop, that was selling lots of lovely looking brown bread. I was SO disappointed with the whole experience and will be reluctant to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoddyThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blacktiles, Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your second review, I am very sorry that you have not had the same excellent experience with us at The Hart on this occasion. Food quality and consistency is something we are always striving to keep to a high standard. It is a disappointment to us that we have not met those standards with your meal. I sincerely hope that you visit us again and give us the opportunity to restore your faith in us. With that in mind I have asked Greig (Director) to send you a message via trip advisor to try and obtain your contact details. I know he would like to talk to you personally and resolve the complaint to a satisfactory outcome.

Regards

Jo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickham Market
Level Contributor
371 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Visited on a Monday lunchtime. We were made to feel welcome, and enjoyed the air-conditioned restaurant on a muggy day. The menu is on a chalkboard, with a fair variety of food. The mains were all tasty. The "fool" pudding was a little disappointing -seemed to be cream with some raspberries added. The outside board offered rhubarb! The service was good, and the prices are reasonable -£65 for two courses and coffee for four people.

Room Tip: Only lunch, did not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drpetembe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blacktiles, Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your review, the air conditioning is proving very popular in this very hot weather we are experiencing! I am very sorry for the confusion with the blackboards; they have all been repainted and corrected. With regards to the raspberry fool we follow a modern twist on the traditional ‘fool’ by using cream instead of custard and folding in the chosen fruit, ours this week is raspberries. Again thank you for your time in writing your review, I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

As we were touring the area we felt that it would be nice to drop into the White Hart for a drink. The inn has a great car park overlooking the Blyth Estuary. The area is great for walking and bird watching. We loved the old oak beams in the bar area. We did not eat at the inn but all the food we saw being served looked appetizing. The White Hart is a genuine old building which started life as a court house many centuries ago.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abrumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blacktiles, Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent visit to the White Hart, I am very glad you are enjoying touring the area of Blythburgh. Hopefully you will choose The White Hart next time you are feeling peckish?!

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Ate here early evening in mid July out in the beer garden at the back of the Inn. Ordered the roast dinner which was reasonably priced and was brought to us quite quickly. The food was good honest fare as one would expect, not fine dining, but I had not paid that sort of price. Pleasant location near the lake or is it a mere ?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blacktiles, Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It’s lovely to hear from people enjoying the use of our spectacular garden. It overlooks the Blyth estuary, of which is beautiful in any season.

Looking forward to you visiting again soon.

Regards

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had lunch of one crab salad, one scampi and one cheese omelette, our OAP did not really enjoy his meal due to finding a Hair in his crab meat, but by then we had finished most of ours overwise it would of put us off our lunch, we wanted to bring it to the attention of the staff but our oap did not want to make a fuss so we could not get it rectified which is a shame, our meals on the other hand were okay, the pub has a nice view from the beer garden, the decor inside needs a little tlc and a duster,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarytiger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blacktiles, Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that you had an issue with your crab. We do prefer that issues are raised immediately with a member of the management team so that any issues can dealt with immediately. Again we can only apologise for this at this time. With regards to your comments regarding the decor, we are discussing and planning some improvements in the near future.
As with any new business venture we have to be mindful of costs in the first year.

I hope you to see you in the near future.

Regards

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blythburgh
3.1 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
323 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
761 reviews
5.3 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
765 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
673 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Inn

Property: White Hart Inn
Address: London Road, Blythburgh IP19 9LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Blythburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Blythburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your White Hart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing