We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY GOOD AGAIN”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of White Hart Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Hart Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Blythburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Anglia, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD AGAIN”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have been to this pub a few times then the food started to go down hill and very expensive so you stop but being local you like to give them another try under new managers.Went here bank Holiday Monday on the way back from the beach with the dog which you can take inside, there were six of us and we had the fish and chips which was really good and two people had the sausage and mash which they said was very tasty.lots of the meals looked good.The staff were very polite and friendly and made you feel welcome.this is a good pub for stopping for a drink or food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keri123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blacktiles, Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Good afternoon

I’m very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to The White Hart. We enjoyed a very successful bank holiday and your feedback is paramount to that. All feedback has been relayed back to our staff members in the kitchen and front of house

Again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    57
    32
    27
    12
See reviews for
75
78
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
lowestoft
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Terrible I don't think they know what a cleaner or duster looks like .went for breakfast at 8oclock and no one about and door locked had to go back half hour later no breakfast cereals laid out cook wasn't even there .not sure who was in charge run by a bunch of very young inexperienced kids who haven't a clue how to run a pub /rooms if you are just stoping for a bit of lunch or dinner then the food is good

Room Tip: None our family hired all rooms and all lack cleanliness truly terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Like other reviewers I have recently rediscovered the White Hart at Blythburgh.
It always has been a pub / restaurant with a cosy aspect and one of the best views out across the countryside but a couple of years ago the food went down hill and the prices went up.
However I heard it was under new management and a couple of weeks ago I had one of the best evening meals for the price in the bar. Yesterday I tried it for Sunday lunch. This resulted in one of the best Sunday lunches I have had for a long time all at a very reasonable price and served by a very friendly and helpful staff.
Oh yes and add a pint or two of Adnams Ale and what more can you want.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suffolkdelboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blacktiles, Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Good afternoon

We are glad you enjoyed your recent visits to The White Hart.
We appreciate you taking the time to write us a lovely review. All your comments have been passed on to our team members both in the kitchen and Front of house.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future

The Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Called in for lunch today, Ham Sandwich & Sausage Sandwich, with a small salad, £5.95 each very expensive & not presented very well.
Place looked a bit run down.
Will not return in a hurry, some far better places in the area.

Room Tip: Did not stay, just went for quick lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastofEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blacktiles, Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Good Afternoon

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All feed back is really helpful to us particularly as this is a new business venture.

We are sorry to hear that the sandwiches were not as you expected. We have looked into the issues raised with our head chef and as a result our bread supplier has been changed and the way we present our sandwiches has also had a makeover.

With regards to your comments regarding the current state of repair at The Hart, we are discussing and planning some improvements in the near future. As with any new business venture we have to be mindful of costs in the first year.

With all this in mind we hope you will consider coming back to see us in the near future

The Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

The last time we had a meal at Blythburgh White Hart it was very poor and we said we would not return until we heard good reviews of it. After hearing good reports we decided to go for an evening meal. The difference to our previous visit was obvious as soon as we walked through the door. Staff were polite and efficient. The pub was so much cosier and welcoming. Candles on the tables were a nice touch. The food was VERY good and reasonably priced. We will happily return now. The new owners have made a big difference in a short period of time - excellent work! We wish them every sucess.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PEABRAIN12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blacktiles, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Good evening,

Thank you for your review.

It is great news that we have restored your faith in The White Hart. There has been a lot of hard work behind the scenes in the Kitchen by our new Head Chef, Patrick and the dynamic duo front of house Jo and Luke.

This review is a real credit to all the team.

Thanks again

Greig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martlesham Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I took my Mum here for her birthday at lunchtime and the food we had was excellent. My mum & I had sea bream which was cooked to perfection, as were the new potatoes. The dish was worthy of a top class restaurant but not top class prices. My Dad had beer battered cod & chips which he said was also excellent. Staff are warm and friendly so all in all I would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blacktiles, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Good evening,

Thank you for writing your review, the positive comments will be passed on to the team.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

regards

Greig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodbridge uk
Level Contributor
304 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Probably the best pub carpark in Suffolk, wonderful views, and great walks start from the carpark. Inside a log fire and quite a nice atmosphere except for intrusive background music which was inappropriate for the setting. Seats were comfortable.
Pity about the very mediocre food. We waited a long time to get our food. My fish and chips were poor, small piece of tasteless, watery fish and meagre chips. My family chose the fish pie - a mistake. It was running with sloppy liquid in the middle, almost inedible. Others in the party had the burger which was ok and the soup which was good.

Slightly over-average prices for very below average pub food.

Staff were very friendly and reduced the bill by the cost of one main course.

Toilets were clean with pathetic hot air hand dryer.

A great looking pub in a great and convenient setting. (perhaps because of this they think they do not need to make much effort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blacktiles, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Hi John, thank you for your comments regarding your last visit to The White Hart. I do remember your table and specifically the fish pie which was below our normal high standards. After speaking to our head chef he advise me that the fish pie had been in the oven to long and this had caused the white sauce to split. The Hart Fish Pie is one of our most popular dishes on the menu and I can only apologise that on this occasion it was a dissapointment. We did discount the value of the fish pie off your bill, I thought this was appropriate as I was only made aware that this was the only dish that was a problem.

With regards to the beer battered fish and chips, we source our fresh cod from local suppliers and again this is a dish that we normally get great comments about. I again passed your comments on to the chef and he will feed back to our supplier.

The music choice at this venue is a selection of jazz and blues, unfortunately with background music it will never be to everyone's taste but I take your comments on board.

I will look into the hand dryer in the gents toilets and if there is an issue this will be resolved.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review we do appreciate all comments good or bad especially as we have only been at the helm of this business for 6 weeks. So we do expect some teething problems.

I look forward to seeing you again soon, if you would like to discuss any of your comments further I would be more than happy to speak to you.

Kind Regards

Greig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blythburgh
3.1 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
3.3 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
11.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Inn

Property: White Hart Inn
Address: London Road, Blythburgh IP19 9LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Blythburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Blythburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Hart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing