We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Wonderful”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travelers have booked this property
Outside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside
Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
22 reviews
Outside
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Wymondham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Delightful cottage. A wonderful weekend spent in Wymondham! This cottage was in a perfect place to explore the town and great to return to in the evening!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The bed and the shower
Liked least: The weather!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophsLisa
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Perfext Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for a weekend in early September...and 2 nights wasn't enough! Beautifully renovated and decorated cottage, everything has been thought of, big or small to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Lovely bathroom, the most comfortable bed, cosy lounge and well equipped kitchen. Great location for a walk around the small, pretty town, and there are yummy scones in the café down the road!!!! (I think it was called the Lemon Tree?!!)

Had some correspondence over email with the owners who couldn't have been more accommodating, polite and helpful. The weather was lovely and we hope to stay again in the winter.

Can't recommend enough.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wandering...
UK & UAE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfort and relaxation in a beautiful part of Norfolk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

An absolutely lovely place. My wife and I stayed here as a 'second honeymoon' present from my mother, and were immediately charmed by both the house and the location.

The house itself is characterful, clean and cozy - with the bedroom and its big bed under an oak beam ceiling a highlight - but is also well-provided for in terms of internet, television and cooking facilities. We immediately fell into a pattern of long lie-ins followed by a lazy breakfast in the outside seating area, before heading out to explore Wymondham. We were lucky enough to have good weather during our stay, but had it been bad staying in would not have been a problem either, as the house was well stocked with books and DVDs. I can't emphasise enough just how comfortable this house is - we were racing around the UK trying to fit in as much as we could before we had to leave, and this was a welcome break from all that, and a place we could look forward to returning to at the end of the day. We really didn't want to leave, and ended up extending our stay!

Wymondham is definitely worth a look around, too. The house is located only a short walk from the town centre and Wymondham Abbey, both of which deserve investigation, and also nearby is the Mid-Norfolk Railway - a steam train service to nearby Dereham. For food and drink we visited the Green Dragon Tavern, which served quality pub lunches and ale, but otherwise enjoyed cooking for ourselves in the house's compact but well-equipped kitchen (stocked with a few basics to get you started) using local ingredients we picked up in town.

All-in-all, an incredibly pleasant experience and one we're looking forward to repeating next time we're in the area. We can't wait!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Bedroom - incredibly comfortable and relaxing
Liked least: Nothing - everything was great
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peachange...
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Relaxing Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a relaxing week at 50 Damgate Street. The cottage has been finished to such a high standard I felt like I was in my own boutique hotel. Everything has been thought of from soft bathrobes, plasma TV screens, Bose sound system and a fully equipped kitchen. I was even happy when it rained so I had an excuse to spend 2 hours in the roll top bath. The location is great, far enough from the town to be away from the noise and yet a short walk from a range of great pubs and restaurants. When the sun did shine we visited the Abbey and walked through The Lizard. The cottage is a short drive away from Norwich (or you can get a bus/train) and easily accessible to the beautiful Norfolk coast line. I can't wait to book a winter break so I can make the most of the cosy fire! Thanks for a great stay

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The roomy bathroom and stunning bedroom
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susan p
Lindfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“AMAZING PLACE, EVERY NEED CATERED FOR, HAVE ALREADY RE-BOOKED”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Exceptional Grade listed cottage. Pristine. All needs catered, good location for visiting Norfolk , great local eateries .Already re - booked

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Bedroom
Liked least: Induction hob
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisky75
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

This cottage has been decorated to a very high standard with every detail well thought out and tastefully executed. So many touches you would expect to see in expensive boutique hotels. The biggest wow factor of this cottage is the beautiful bedroom, the exposed wood beams, high ceiling and four poster bed which are exquisite. Everything you think you might need in terms of cooking equipment and basic store cupboard essentials are at hand, even nice toiletries are supplied in the bathroom. Facilities including a Bose iPod dock in the living room and iPod hook up via the blu-ray player/ceiling speakers in the bedroom were very welcome. All information that would be needed is supplied about the cottage and town.

Wymondham is a small village, the walk along the river near the abbey is worth doing.

There's a butchers towards the end of damgate heading into town, and all the shops you might need. Waitrose is a short drive out of town, so good for stocking up on anything you might need for your stay.

The Dragon Inn is worth a visit, although we didn't eat there the food looked good and well priced. I would suggest getting there early if you intend to eat, as is quite small.

We decided to try the Boars pub for a nice meal one evening. The service was very attentive and friendly, faultless in that respect. Whilst the food was ok we thought was over priced. Added with a 2 way cab ride totalled almost £100 (1 starter, 2 mains, cheapest wine). I'd suggest visiting for a drink prior to deciding to eat there.

We found the cottage a good base for visiting other parts of Norfolk.

Our one and very small criticism would be that the thermostat didn't allow us to increase the central heating temperature, at times we felt a little cold, so we were glad of the wood burner. Hopefully this can be rectified by the owners.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this lovely cottage, you won't be disappointed. It's a shame there's not more cottages that do it this well, get booking, you won't regret it.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: High standard of finish, bedroom, attention to detail.
Liked least: Thermostat control
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowers19...
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Welcoming, cute, comfy and cosy 5-star town cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We had a truly relaxing stay here with every little extra provided.
Films, games, Bose docking stations, plasma TVs up and downstairs, tastefully decorated and accessorised throughout, plush carpet and curtains, spotless and beautiful bathroom and kitchen, open fire with wood provided and much more.
Well appointed to get to the Abbey, local shops, cafes, restaurants (and the Green Dragon Pub which is a must) within minutes.
Perfect getaway for couples.
Thanks so much Laura and James!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The character of the property and attention to detail
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$115
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing