We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem just down the road”
Review of The Boars

The Boars
Ranked #2 of 45 Restaurants in Wymondham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $56
Cuisines: Contemporary, International, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Freehouse and Restaurant, Great food, Fine Wines, Craft Beers and Artisan Spirit Range. Dog friendly in the snug and available to hire for any type of celebration. On Sundays we Roast!
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Brought the extended family here today and they very graciously accommodated all our messing around with times. Food was surprisingly excellent - probably not so surprising if I'd read the other Trip Advisor reviews in advance. Reasonable value too. Not an enormous selection, but everything just right. Beautiful summer garden too. Definitely going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NonNorfolkNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 397 of 432 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

Popped in for lunch in the garden which is beautiful. It was very nice. Lovely place and would go back. It is a little pricey though

1  Thank terrij j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth_Yeoman, Owner at The Boars, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Hi there.

Thank you for your review and apologies for the delay in responding. We are son glad you enjoyed our garden. We spend a lot of time year round trying to make it perfect for our customers. After reviewing the comments from our customers we have recently reduced our prices for the majority of our lunchtime snack and light eats menu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I booked a table for Sunday lunch here as another nearby restaurant was fully booked and I thought I would give The Boars a go. I am so pleased I did!
Very good menu and they offer a vegetarian Sunday lunch option (which is always appreciated!) as well as lighter options such as sandwiches and jacket potatoes. There really is something for everyone!
Lovely atmosphere, very in keeping with the Norfolk village in which The Boars is situated and parking outside is an added bonus.
Sadly it was raining so we couldn't sit outside but I noticed a nice seating area outside which would be perfect when the sun's out.
We were really well looked after, the owner noticed I had my jacket on and asked if I would like the heating on which was very kind of her.
Will definitely return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Danni6021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth_Yeoman, Manager at The Boars, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your review - we hope to see you again sometime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Went there for Sunday lunch and to sum it up in a few words: Go, the food is lovely and the atmosphere very nice. Why say any more?!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katemclean23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth_Yeoman, Owner at The Boars, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your review.

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit

Look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Boars seems more of a country restaurant than a pub and several friends had mentioned it as a lunchtime destination, not too far from Norwich. For lunch I had sea trout on a bed of pepper and onion with a side of sweet potato chips – a slightly incongruous combination but tasty nonetheless. The pudding was baked rhubarb cheesecake with stewed rhubarb and pouring cream. The food was fine and freshly cooked. Others have described this as a gastro pub although, without diminishing it, the food is not cutting-edge but more like good home cooking.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Flaneur47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth_Yeoman, Owner at The Boars, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed your visit.

We have taken note of your comments and changed our description

It may take a few days for the changes to be agreed by tripadvisor. of course we can't be responsible for how others describe us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boars also viewed

 

Been to The Boars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing