We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round”
Review of Briarfields Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Briarfields Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Titchwell
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I'd not stayed here for a few years and was happy to be 'going back' yet it was better still as the whole package felt more up-market, even though I was more than happy previously.

The room I had was of a very high standard and the only slight drawback was that it actually smelt of new paint, although this didn't prove to be a problem.

The food in the restaurant was of high quality and quite varied.

The service throughout was also excellent, our party of twelve for the evening meal (joined by two none staying), along with breakfast was dealt with in a very professional manner keeping everyone happy with all aspects.

I'd recommend without hesitation. I, and my group will no doubt be back.

Room Tip: Be aware, most rooms are outside the main building and if you are a walker/birder, might need to tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justlettinguno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacsandy, Manager at Briarfields Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of your experience at Briarfields.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, finding all aspects of the stay to be excellent, from the quality of accommodation and food, to the service provided by our front of house staff.

Such positive comments are testament to the hard work of all our team, and provide real motivation for us all to keep up the good work.

Thanks again for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back to Briarfields in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Bradley.
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    106
    28
    9
    3
See reviews for
73
221
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We chose this hotel based on the fact it was 500 yards from the RSPB Titchwell site. On arrival we were shown to our room which was fantastic :) food was brilliant to which the staff were as well. It we Are to visit North Norfolk again we would defo stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacsandy, Public Relations Manager at Briarfields Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Madam,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review regarding your time at Briarfields.

It is a delight to read that your found your stay to be such an enjoyable one, finding your accommodation fantastic, and the food and service to be brilliant.

Such positive feedback is testament to the hard work of all our team, whom I have made aware of your comments.

Thanks again for your review, and we hope to welcome you to Briarfields again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Bradley.
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Hotels on the North Norfolk coast can sometimes verge on the sterile and pretentious but that's not something you could ever level at the Briarfields Hotel. Perfectly placed on the Peddars Way/North Norfolk Castal Path, close to Titchwell RSPB reserve and golf courses (and therefore attracting its fair share of walkers, twitchers and paisley patterned sweaters) the friendly and efficient staff seem very much aware that guests are looking for an experience that will round off their day - and they don't disappoint. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and tastefully decorated, grouped around a rose filled courtyard less than a sparrow hop (or should that be a pitching wedge?) from the restaurant and bar in the main body of the hotel, which also has the benefit of a cosy lounge and an outdoor decked area which has views towards the coast. Whilst the restaurant area would profit from being a little more intimate, the food is exquisite and beautifully served by attentive staff. All in all a great place to stay. And make sure you arrive in good time to take advantage of the afternoon tea and cakes, just perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacsandy, Public Relations Manager at Briarfields Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review regarding your time at Briarfields.

I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, enjoying the fabulous location we are fortunate enough to inhabit, as well as the overall service from our friendly efficient staff, and the exquisite food served in our restaurant.

Such excellent feedback is truly encouraging and I have made all our staff aware of your comments, they genuinely motivate our team to keep up the hard work.

Thanks again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back to Briarfields in the not too distant future

Kind regards,
Bradley.
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Lovely spacious clean room with friendly efficient staff and nice food from a varied menu. Big dining room with big tables and space between tables made it very comfortable. A nice touch was the cosy lounge with a fire.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BridgendDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacsandy, Public Relations Manager at Briarfields Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review about your time at Briarfields.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, finding your accommodation to be lovely, spacious and clean, the staff to friendly and efficient, as well enjoying the food from our varied menu.

Such positive feedback is truly encouraging, and speaks volumes for all our team.

Thanks again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back to Briarfields again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Bradley.
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We recently had a one night stay at Briarfields at it certainly didn't disappoint. We had an upstairs room that afforded a sea view. The room was good size with a large and comfortable bed. There was a large flat screen tv and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom was also a good size with a lovely rainforest type shower. We were okay with the headroom but a really tall person might need to mind their head!

We ate in the hotel and the choice of menu and quality of food was excellent. Service was efficient and discreet with no one waiting to snatch your plate away as soon as you've finished! Dining was certainly a pleasant experience in the large and airy dining room.

Overall this a great place to stay while exploring the North Norfolk coast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacsandy, Public Relations Manager at Briarfields Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of your experience at Briarfields.

I am really pleased to read that your one night stay did not disappoint, finding your superior double room to be comfortable and well equipped, the food to be excellent, and the service to efficient and discreet, proving Briarfields to be a great place to stay to explore the local area.

Such positive feedback is testament to the hard work of all our team, and thank you for you kind comments, they really do motivate all to keep up the hard work.

We hope to welcome you back to Briarfields in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Bradley.
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stourbridge
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great venue, very friendly staff and excellent.food. Party .of.eight and none within our group could fault the service as well as.the overall experience. No hesitations about going back either as a couple or a family group. Highly recommended!!

Helpful?
Thank jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jacsandy, Public Relations Manager at Briarfields Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review regarding your experience at Briarfields.

I am delighted to read that all of your group enjoyed your time at Briarfields, enjoying the venue, really friendly staff, excellent food, finding the overall experience faultless.

Such positive comments are a real testament to the hard work of our whole team, and I have made all our staff aware of your feedback.

Thanks again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back to Briarfields in not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Bradley.
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We booked one night for our wedding anniversary beginning of Aug.
We booked an inclusive offer of dinner/bed/ b/fast and upgraded and paid extra for an executive room that overlooked the courtyard, and I have to say our room was amazing!

We found out our room was part of an extension finished in December 2012, it has been built in keeping with local stone so blended well with the existing property and looked charming!

Our room was large and beautifully decorated, large comfy bed, inbuilt TV on the wall, delightful decor and a large spacious stunning bathroom, only gripe the walk in shower had a rain shower head only, so I couldn’t shower as I didn’t want my newly washed blow dried hair to get wet! The girls reading this will understand! The small shower cap goes no way near to cover all my long hair! But the bath was lovely to soak in and there was candles for you to use on the windowsill which was a nice touch! The bathroom had 2 windows which also looked over the courtyard so you had to drop the blinds when you wanted to visit the bathroom or you’d be on show! (Our room is photo no 7 on accommodation page, bathroom is photo 4, also photo 5 on home page) Our room even had a walk-in wardrobe! This also housed the kettle, mugs for tea/coffee etc, I can’t speak highly of our room!

The hotel itself is fabulous and I really don’t think the website does it enough justice!
For example the restaurant is stunning with vaulted ceilings, vast windows which created a stunning, light, bright and airy room with views out across the garden and beyond. Sadly the website shows no photo of this room and its one of their best features!
It has a few different areas you can sit inside the hotel, one with a large fire place, obviously in Aug, wasn’t in use, but in winter time I would imagine is lovely to sit around with drinks and be cosy.

The food was fantastic! I am lactose intolerant and I informed the hotel of this before we went, Fay replied this was no problem and informed me the pastry chef will make me something! Which I was served up an amazing dairy free delight of blackcurrant sorbet with poached pear, yum!

The pretty courtyard has a pond, which you can’t see behind the wall on the website pictures, this is a calm relaxing place for guests and if we had stayed longer would happily sat on the bench and watched the fish! After the busy lives we lead, this area is a place of solace and serenity!
The decking area at the back overlooking the garden and beyond is again a peaceful place to sit, soak up the sun with a Pimms or two!

I can’t convey how wonderful this hotel is, and even though it looks lovely on the website, it’s even better once your there!
ALL the staff were friendly, professional but with a nice touch of a relaxed atmosphere around the hotel. The reception is a small area at end of the bar! So no formal person greeting you behind a desk, more informal friendly greeting, which we preferred!

My only complaint, we stayed only one night!! But we will happily return and next time will stay longer!
My compliments to all the staff that made our stay, albeit one night, a brilliant memory for our wedding Anniversary! :-)

Room Tip: Pay for upgrade for executive rooms, not too much more on the bill but worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHollands53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacsandy, Public Relations Manager at Briarfields Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Sir and Madam,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review regarding your experience at Briarfields.

I am thrilled to read that you chose our Hotel to celebrate your wedding anniversary, and that you found the only negative of your stay was that you only stayed one night.

Such positive comments regarding all aspects of your stay at Briarfields, awarding us top marks across the board, are real testament to the hard work put in by all our team, and are real motivation for all to keep up the hard work.

I have made all our staff aware of your positive feedback, and we hope to welcome you back to Briarfields in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Bradley.
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titchwell
0.1 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
779 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
545 reviews
5.8 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,287 reviews
4.5 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
858 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarfields Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarfields Hotel

Property: Briarfields Hotel
Address: Main Road | Norfolk, Titchwell PE31 8BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Titchwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Titchwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Briarfields Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the peaceful North West Norfolk Coastline, Briarfields at Titchwell is a hidden gem. Take the A149 coastal road to find us and enjoy our tranquil setting and warm welcome that our Norfolk Hotel offers. Situated between RSPB Titchwell and Royal West Norfolk Golf course, both overlooking the beach at Brancaster, Briarfields offers peace and relaxation and as much outdoor activity as you choose. Briarfields has stunning views of the open space of Norfolk's skies and Titchwell salt marshes, which are the natural home for both freshwater and saltwater wildlife. In the winter, enjoy sitting by our log fire with a pint of real ale or our special afternoon tea. In the summer, take in the views whilst enjoying a glass of Pimms on the terrace. Briarfields has many nooks and crannies for you to find your own space to relax and enjoy time out. An ideal location for holidays, short breaks, weddings, functions and private parties, Briarfields Norfolk Hotel offers a relaxed charm and atmosphere. Many of our guests use us as a base to explore the Norfolk coast, Norfolk's historical houses and the nearby market towns of Hunstanton, Burnham Market, Fakenham and King's Lynn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Briarfields Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarfields Hotel Titchwell, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing