We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing and luxurious break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Titchwell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

What a truly wonderful place! The building itself doesn't look that nice from the outside, but inside it is very warm and welcoming with open fires, views across the marshes to the sea from the front of the hotel, and very friendly and helpful staff. From the moment we walked in we were made to feel welcome.

We stayed in a Herb Garden Room that was very nicely decorated, spacious and modern, and most of all warm as it was a particularly bitter night. We ate in the bar the first night as it was quite late when we arrived and the food was delicious; very nicely presented and good quality. The breakfasts were all delicious too with lots of cooked options and lovely fresh bread. We ate far too much!

All in all everything was very nicely done with attention to detail including nice touches such as a small chocolate brownie with your coffee and delicious biscuits in your room replaced daily. Not a cheap place to stay but well worth it as a special treat.

Room Tip: Herb Garden Rooms are at the back of the hotel in a small courtyard and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jules1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TitchwellManor, Owner at Titchwell Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for your valuable comments, which illustrate exactly the warm and welcoming country house hospitality we are proud to offer. Hope you will be able to visit us again in the future!
Kindest regards
Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (892)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

630 - 636 of 892 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

We booked a two night stay having read the wonderful food reviews and carefully researched room types, etc. Our first choice room was already booked so we chose a room in the herb garden. On arrival first thoughts were a good contemporary room with a very good bathroom. The first niggle came when we made a coffee to find the kettle on a small table directly in front of the wardrobe door - tried to move it away but the lead was not long enough - safety issue and inconvenient. The wardrobe itself was restricted in that the fridge and safe were inside it (fridge not plugged in). A cafetiere was provided but no coffee apart from the usual one cup sachets. (Cafetiere coffee was provided on the second day - why not originally?)
The floor of the room was tiled/slabs which were very cold for bare feet. Both nights were interrupted by dogs barking in adjacent rooms.
The first evening we ate a la carte. The menu was good and both our starters and desserts were outstanding - the mains less so in that the beef pie defeated even my husband by its size and my pulled pork was just okay.
The second evening we had the full tasting menu - parts of this were truly delicious, especially the rocket foam to start and the brie dish half way through. Our biggest problem throughout our stay was the wait between courses. We would never want to be rushed but the delay was unacceptable, especially on the second night. The same happens at breakfast when our juice, fruit, etc was well and truly digested before our hot dishes arrived. Normally the hot choice is ordered when coffee and toast are requested, not when we have almost finished our buffet choice. Having said that the breakfast is very good indeed. The staff were attentive and very pleasant but we felt even they were wondering why some diners sat in front of empty plates for long periods.
We have stayed for weekend breaks in many places which offered similar good restaurants and rooms but on this occasion we were disappointed in both the room and some aspects of the restaurant. The prices charged are way too high for the accommodation offered but probably this is due to the restaurant success.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank unimumNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TitchwellManor, Head Chef at Titchwell Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of Titchwell Manor. We really appreciate the valuable feedback that you have given us. I want to offer my sincere apologies for the issues during mealtimes, I am very sorry that you were left waiting during mealtimes, we try to get a good balance between customers feeling rushed and being left to wait too long, clearly on this occasion both my expectations and yours were not met, I am so sorry and will be discussing it with staff (both kitchen staff and front of house).

We will definitely give feedback to the housekeeping staff on the issues that you found with the room, we do try to offer a choice of rooms so that guests can choose rooms for their particular likes (as an example, our herb garden rooms have both tiled floors and floorboards, although slippers are provided for guests in both). I am sorry that these incidents occurred and obviously affected your stay.

If you would like to discuss anything with me further, please do not hesitate to email me personally at eric@titchwellmanor.com or Mark, our manager at mark@titchwellmanor.com

Kind regards
Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We chose this venue for our wedding, knowing very little about it in advance but loving the location, and then filled It with our friends and family in January. We had the most wonderful weekend and cannot thank the staff enough for their good humour and tireless service. We are particularly grateful to Margaret for her expertise and knowledge of how to make the weekend work. We're in awe of the skill and dedication of the chef, Eric, and his team in preparing and serving a 7 course dinner for 60. The food was very special and has been complimented by everyone. Mark recommended wonderful wine and then gently kept things on track. Even the sun shone.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TitchwellManor, Head Chef at Titchwell Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, it's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your day with us and even the planning!
I've passed you comments on to everyone involved and we all hope you can visit again soon, I look forward to cooking for you again
Best wishes
Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

On arrival we were given a warm and friendly welcome along with a doggy treat for Bob our rescue dog of 2 weeks.
The Hotel had upgraded us because they could! We were shown to our large room that not only came with a log burner and filter coffee tea and biscuits for ourselves it also had a comfy dog bed,more treats,doggy towel and poo bags! for Bob.
The food and staff were great the conversation menu is worth trying ,Eric the owners son is resident chef and does his parents proud.
The surrounding area has some fantastic walks and scenery, introducing Bob to the sea and sand was magical too..

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TitchwellManor, Head Chef at Titchwell Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you for your review, we love having dogs stay with us at Titchwell and it's great that Bob enjoyed his treats, I'm pleased you enjoyed the local area, it really is great for dogs.
I'm really pleased you enjoyed our conversation menu and I've passed your comments on to my team.
Many thanks
Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have stayed at Titchwell Manor a few times now and it has become a firm favourite with us, so we decided to treat ourselves to a Christmas stay.

We arrived on Christmas Eve to a fairly luke warm reception, and it wasn't until a whole 24 hours later that a member of staff wished us a Merry Christmas, which felt almost bizzare in this day and age when every tom, dick and harry is full of seasons greetings. We didn't feel there was much of a festive atmopshpere in general in the hotel. So, if you like a very understated Christmas, you would very much like it here. I know there are fairy lights at Titchwell, but the garden and conservatory ones are there all year around. Normally we have Xmas lunch in an old coaching inn, which is tastefully festooned with natural holly and ivy and twinkling with fairy lights, which makes for a magical Christmassy feel.

Our room however, was faultless; with a clean and well decorated with a large bed, a lovely bathroom and all the little things that make the difference to a hotel stay.

"Afternoon tea" was included in the Xmas package, it consisted of a small piece of Xmas cake, a mince pie and a fruit scone. Personally I dont like Xmas cake, and the mince pie was much too sweet to eat. I would call this "tea and cake", not afternoon tea. I had been expecting something savoury, a sandwich or a sausage roll, instead of all sweet food would have been nice.

The meal I chose from the menu on Xmas eve was quite ordinary, although my husbands was better. Personally neither of us thought the Christmas lunch was exceptional either, the turkey didn't seem freshly carved and my husband said I could have cooked better at home, which is a bit of a worry! I would temper this by saying I had a soup starter twice, which was absolutely heavenly, and breakfasts were also exceptionally good.
Overall the staff seemed polite, and were certainly busy, but some were not very attentive and it was hard to get their attention for extra drinks etc. This wouldn't have been so noticeable if we hadn't had such exceptional and friendly individual service on previous visits.
The real disappoint for me though, was that the chefs Tasting Menu was not available at any of the meals we had. It seemed particulalry cruel that residents staying on the most expensive days of the year cannot have the best food, but someone who stayed days earlier - or even on the day we checked out, could enjoy the tasting menu. Though we were paying well over £500 a day for B + B plus evening meal, I would have gladly paid the upgrade for the tasting menu on at least one evening. I suspect there were so many diners at each service, including non residents too, that the Chef wouldn't have been able to manage the tasting menu as well as the normal one. It might have been nice if one meal had been a set "brief tasting menu" for all diners?

So overall an expensive and very mixed experience for us this time. There are certainly some wonderful and dedicated staff here, and there is no doubt the food can be truly exceptional. I expect normal service will be resumed once the busy Xmas period is over, and, despite my review, I would heartily recommend anyone to go and try the tasting menu (I believe it's called a "Conversation Menu" now), and, if you are lucky with the weather, North Norfolk is wonderful and relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: We havn't had a bad room yet, but they do vary and reception will give you advice on location, v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank herewardtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TitchwellManor, Owner at Titchwell Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

We appreciate your varied comments and hope that, on the whole, you enjoyed the Christmas visit to the hotel. We try to get the balance right for our valued guests to enjoy festivities without being too intrusive into the warm and cosy country house atmosphere most people seem to relish. Apologies for any features you felt were not meeting your expectations. Your feedback is important and we will be giving consideration to all details of the hospitality when making this year’s yuletide plans. Meanwhile thank you for highlighting the aspects of the hotel’s service that met with your satisfaction.
Kind regards
Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The hotel looks out over the coastal marshes of a glorious part of the Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty that is the North Norfolk coast. At Christmas to be honest the glory of the natural coast can be the tiniest bit bleak and the hotel is an oasis of comfort and warmth.The rooms in the herb garden are spacious and perfectly prepared. But the two keys to the undoubted success of the Christmas were the beaming smiling staff and the truly excellent food. Why the chef has not got at least one Michelin star is a mystery.. Let me recomend the dingley Dell pork belly whcih is mouth wateringly good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teep0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TitchwellManor, Owner at Titchwell Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

How nice to hear that the festivities at Titchwell Manor gave you such a wonderful Christmas! Thank you for the great comments and hoping you will return to enjoy the hotel AND our wonderful location on this spectacular bit of coast. Glad you enjoyed the food....perhaps we can tempt you back as we have just been awarded our 3rd rosette for the Tasting Menu!
Kind regards
Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My wife and I decided to go for a break in January as a rest from the hectic christmas period and came across this hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are so glad we did as our weekend away at the Titchwell Manor was a wonderful experience. The staff were very friendly and attentive whilst our room in the lovely Herb Garden was clean, modern and warm!

We ate in the resturant both nights and the food was exceptional. The waiters knowledge of the food and accompanying wine was of the highest quality also.

This is a gem of a hotel in the quiet surroundings of Titchwell village, and well worth a visit to get away from the city

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slea906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TitchwellManor, Manager at Titchwell Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a nice review. I've passed your comments on to the team and everyone is really pleased.
Hopefully we can welcome you again soon.
Best wishes
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titchwell
4.5 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
423 reviews
5.9 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
951 reviews
4.9 mi away
Le Strange Arms Hotel
Le Strange Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hunstanton
855 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Titchwell Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Titchwell Manor Hotel

Address: Main Road, Titchwell PE31 8BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Titchwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Titchwell
Price Range: $124 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Titchwell Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Titchwell ManorA stone’s throw from the stunning North Norfolk coast, Titchwell Manor is a beautiful, boutique 27-bedroom country retreat offering destination fine dining. Owned by Margaret and Ian Snaith since 1988, the elegant former Victorian farmhouse combines traditional values with chic contemporary accommodation and spectacular, uninterrupted views across open marshes to the North Sea.Guests can enjoy celebrated gastronomy courtesy of Head Chef and rising culinary star Eric Snaith and his team. Eric’s flair and flavours have earned him a reputation for exquisitely presented, innovative, modern European food. The finest local ingredients and cutting edge-techniques have won the hotel three AA Rosettes and Eric himself the title of Eastern Daily Press Norfolk Food and Drink Chef of the Year 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Titchwell Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Titchwell Manor Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing