We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor service in restaurant - stroppy waiter!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Titchwell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We came for a 3 course lunch yesterday. The waiter who appeared to be in charge (Terry) was rude to both us and an elderly lady sitting beside us. He asked her if everything was OK with her meal & when she said that the beef in her sandwich was very tough, he said "the beef was rare and you asked for it to be well done!", basically telling her it was her own fault!
Our starter and main were good, but the creme brulee for dessert had not been warmed through enough, so had not gone creamy. The same waiter asked if everything was OK when he came to take away the creme brulee dish (only a couple of small spoonfuls had been eaten. When we said that it hadn't been warmed through enough, he sarcastically said, "it's supposseed to be cold!" I love creme brulee and know what they are suppossed to be like ..and it isn't like that! The other waiting staff were clueless, constantly taking the wrong food to the wrong tables and looking totally disinterested.
We were using a special discount voucher for this meal as were most of the other lunchtime diners. I'm sure the intenttion of these vouchers is to encourage people to return and pay full price, but the attitude of the waiting staff means we will not return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cathie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

753 - 759 of 861 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2011

The hotel is situated in an area we visit regularly and we are looking for somewhere we can go for short breaks without the bother of self catering. We are still looking. The hotel has been much extended and although the brochure makes much of how awful the decor was when the owners purchased the property, it is again beginning to look a little worn. Our room was over furnished, grubby and the plumbing did not work how it should. However the biggest failing is lack of consistancy. It has the feeling that everything has been put in place and then left on its own. There is an apparent lack of supervision and as a result the staff tend to let things slip. The Receptionists on the front desk do not look up to acknowledge residents. I had the same order for breakfast both mornings. One morning it was cooked to perfection, the other it was disappointing.
The restaurant food is good but the service can be indifferent.
However the hotel was busy and fully booked for our first choice of dates, so they cannot be getting it all wrong.

Room Tip: Guests staying in the Courtyard rooms are exposed to the weather when going to the main hotel facili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barhillbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Titchwell Manor Hotel maintains a very high standard with food consistently cooked to perfection and beautifully presented.
It is obvious that the chef's work hard to continually come up with innovative ideas and wonderful combinations and use fresh, locally sourced ingredients.
The staff are very knowledgeable about the food they serve and wines to accompany the meal and a warm welcome given to guests whether just visiting to dine or staying at the hotel. It is these things that keep us going back time and again and my husband and I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, for, to visit this hotel is to know you will completely enjoy the experience in wonderful surroundings inside and great views outside.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nellybucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My friend & I had booked lunch at Tichwell Manor late September. It was a glorious day, the area and views were beautiful. The Hotel was very quiet, only 2 other diners but the service and food were absolutely superb. The prices for lunch are expensive - in excess of £70 without drinks but I have to say that as a Lunch/Main meal rather than evening meal, I would certainly consider eating there again. The menu offered a very good choice and without doubt, this is one of the best meals I have had outside of London. The dishes we chose were cooked to perfection, I rate the quality of our dining experience as 5 stars.
The Hotel entrance, reception and dining rooms feel a bit odd, the conservatory looked very nice but wasn't in use. I didn't feel I would want to stay at this Hotel based on the presentation of the public areas but I really can't rate the food highly enough and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doral-Woods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband and I spent the last two days of our honeymoon here. We've been before so knew it would be good. We had a lovely room (Number 10 Holly) and enjoyed a drink in the lounge with the amazing views of the beach. Ate dinner here the second night and had the tasting menu with wine. It was fabulous, the chef had created interesting dishes that were all absolutely delicious. The wine which accompanied each dish was expertly selected. All the staff are extremely friendly and welcoming, despite the mess our dog and her muddy paws made in our bedroom! We'll be back for many more trips.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuliaGeorge_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I have known of this hotel by reputation for a long time - so was excited when my husband booked it as a last minute surprise. Initial impressions as we arrived where good - receptionist (owner?) very pleasant - but we were very dissappointed by the time we departed. The decor and many of the carpets are very tired and the standard of housekeeping - particulalry in our bathroom were abysmal - the mould and staines around the shower were dreadful - bordering on a health hazard . Also I do not expect to find tables in the lounge still stained with beer and glasses from the previous night at 10.30am in the morning - tacky in both senses of the word. Although we thought the food was reasonably priced we were dissapointed with the meal and the restaurant service - both at dinner and breakfast. The food was "OK" and the service weary and tired - no smiles or attempts to communicate above the absolute basic requirments. At the prices charged by this hotel for accommmdation we expected to be "wowed". We will not return - and we would not recommend the hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Moved to Titchwell after several satisfactory visits to White Horese Brancaster Staithe. As we take our dog choice of rooms is limited (quite reasonably). However ther are no grounds only a car park or it is up he road with the dog to find a footpath. The very pleasant gardens are a feature for humans! but the busty road spoilt dog exercise bit of our stay. Our herb garden room as spacious but dark. Very well fitted unless you wanted to read in bed - oh for old style lightbulbs.

Now the restaurant: food here is expensive and presentation is ahead of substance. Some dishes over our 3 days were excellent, others disappointing, and service varied greatly too, including a forgotten wine orderand a 30 minute wait to order at breakfast.

The public rooms are, well is it functional,garish or just uncomfortable.2 Massive settees - one in yellow, most chairs simply dining table variety, all very close together.

Could so easily have been so much better , but was irritating, and expensive - we spent over £850 all in for 3 nights.

Room Tip: Many garden rooms are in car park. herb garden rooms have no views worth mentioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GentlemanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titchwell
4.5 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
407 reviews
5.9 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
925 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
572 reviews
13.3 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Titchwell Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Titchwell Manor Hotel

Address: Main Road, Titchwell PE31 8BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Titchwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Titchwell
Price Range: $132 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Titchwell Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Titchwell ManorA stone’s throw from the stunning North Norfolk coast, Titchwell Manor is a beautiful, boutique 27-bedroom country retreat offering destination fine dining. Owned by Margaret and Ian Snaith since 1988, the elegant former Victorian farmhouse combines traditional values with chic contemporary accommodation and spectacular, uninterrupted views across open marshes to the North Sea.Guests can enjoy celebrated gastronomy courtesy of Head Chef and rising culinary star Eric Snaith and his team. Eric’s flair and flavours have earned him a reputation for exquisitely presented, innovative, modern European food. The finest local ingredients and cutting edge-techniques have won the hotel three AA Rosettes and Eric himself the title of Eastern Daily Press Norfolk Food and Drink Chef of the Year 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Titchwell Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Titchwell Manor Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing