We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Restaurant and Great Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taste @ Strattons

Taste @ Strattons
Reserve with OpenTable
Taste @ Strattons is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 33 Restaurants in Swaffham
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
King's Lynn, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant and Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I went here with family and friends a few months ago and was impressed but not amazed. The setting of the restaurant with its big chairs is very impressive and the service was excellent. I found it to be friendly without being overly formal. The starters and deserts were very good indeed and my Panacotta with Basil was exceptional. The main courses were good quality without being exceptional. I had a fillet steak inside a bun with trimmings that included gherkins served with chips which was enjoyable but I have enjoyed more memorable meals at this level. The other main courses looked well prepared and my party said they were tasty but they weren't really special.

I would recommend Strattons as it is one of the best restaurants locally but I do feel that it could up its game so that the main courses match its lovely setting and decor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TimeTraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    19
    19
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good find tucked behind the town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Elegant hotel and a surprising find behind shops in the market square. Very secluded location and good food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Avrilmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Completely delicious - a real treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had treated ourselves to a stay at Strattons, in part because of the food and were not disappointed. Service in the restaurant (as the hotel) was perfect, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. We enjoyed three courses, which weren't huge, but we were seriously full at the end of a long leisurely meal. Everything was cooked really well, fresh and seasonal ingredients too, and a good wine list that helped you pick to fit your food choices well. Hope to be back...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Average ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My brother had heard very good reports regarding Strattons but all we can say is that it was very average. The food was OK but nothing wowed us and burnt pork crackling unforgiveable, service was OK ("Hi Guys" really doesn't do it for me) and two waiters asking us the same question seemed overkill. Instead of asking if we wanted a drink from the bar upon arrival would be better phrased as an aperitif etc. as if the bar is so special send us up there! Can't think of much to say as just came away disappointed, thinking it was expensive for nothing special. The building is very beautiful though. Need to up their game as the cafe is a far more interesting visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“very overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went here for dinner with freinds from swaffham and we were so disappointed. Asked for chicken dish not available, asked for steak not available asked for children's menu not available. Only four starters and four main courses. Four adults and one child £240 ??? Value not

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste @ Strattons also viewed

 
Swaffham, Norfolk
 

Been to Taste @ Strattons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing