We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentine's Delight”
Review of Taste @ Strattons

Taste @ Strattons
Reserve with OpenTable
Taste @ Strattons is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 37 Restaurants in Swaffham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Valentine's Delight”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

What a superb restaurant serving excellent food in convivial surroundings, waited upon by attentive and 'as polite as they come' staff. We had a fantastic night.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 956JohnClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    20
    19
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Excellent service, good food, overpriced!”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Heard good reviews from an elderly couple who had enjoyed a luncheon here. Booked a Saturday lunchtime slot and were surprised to discover we were the only people in the restaurrant. Waitress explained the kitchen opened especially on Saturday lunchtimes for advance bookings and we would be the only frequenters that day. Service was excellent from the outset. The menu was limited with one option for veggies and one fish course, along with a couple of meat dishes and one poultry choice. There were a reasonable selection of starters but all were priced at around £8. The least expensive main course was fish and chips for £14, with a burger retailing at £18. the food was well presented and of a good standard although the portions, without having had a starter, were very much on the small side. We opted for tea and coffee and no dessert and the bill for three people with two small glasses of wine and a pint of beer came to over £70. Nice for a special occasion but not worth the expense for an everyday Saturday lunch. Service throughout was exemplary.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RedKlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quite a pleasant suprise”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Swaffham is quite a small town in Norfolk, so it was a real treat to discover the restaurant at Stratton's hotel, set off the main street in secluded private grounds.

We enjoyed pre-dinner drinks in the quirky upstairs bar - with pre-dinner nibbles being of an exceptional standard.

The meal itself was excellent - absolutely flawless. The service and quality of food were excellent and the sommelier was friendly and helpful too.

Will return whenever I get the chance - a real treat.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Original and special”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

The food here is a bit different to normal bland menus. Also they are very environmentally aware try it for a special night.

Helpful?
Thank NorfolkSpinone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not as good as I had expected”
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Booked a table for Dinner on a Saturday evening to celebrate an occasion. From the outside it is charming, our welcome was a little brusque, but we were quickly served with drinks and just as quickly our order was taken. I was expecting an interesting menu but it was disapponting. The next disappointemnt was the restuarant which appeared to be the cellar (or lower ground floor) and had low ceilings, as it was summer when we visited it was quite stuffy. Our starter was adequate and the bread arrived just as we were finishing it! As soon as we finished the plates were whipped away and repalced with an OK main course. We soon realised that they had another sitting at the table and were rushing us through. It was uncomfortable and unpleasant. Coffee was served in the lounge and we were abandoned. Verdict, disappointing and expensive

Helpful?
3 Thank justvisiting71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste @ Strattons also viewed

 
Swaffham, Norfolk
 
Swaffham, Norfolk
Swaffham, Norfolk
 

Been to Taste @ Strattons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing