We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lydney House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strattons Hotel(Swaffham)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lynford Hall(Mundford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Mundford)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveler rating
35
18
3
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
18
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshort walkb bbed was comfortableenjoyed my staylovely settingwithin walking distancesarahhostsbedroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 59 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2012

staid here for three nights earlier in the year, the reception we received on arrival was very welcoming and warm. we were given complimentary refreshments on arrival, tea or coffee and a buttered teacake. the gentleman owner was very friendly and attentive to our every need, we could not have asked for anything more. So hence this positive review for him is well deserved. the rooms were clean and attractively furnished, no complaints. the decor in the bar/ lounge is more olde worlde, but comfortable and relaxing. the atmosphere of the residence is very relaxing and [peaceful.the only niggle would be the size of the breakfast, for us it was slightly on the small size, but then we do have healthy appetites and the size may be suitable for alot of people. though would recommend two sausages rather than one, and offer a farmhouse type of sausage. but these are small niggles, overall the stay was enjoyeable and we would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Spent one night here with my wife,daughter,son in law & granddaughter.
We were made extremely welcome by our hosts. Lovely hotel in lovely location. Thank you Lydney, we will be back.
That says it all.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank JohnWhiteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Just got back from a three night stay at Lydney House and would like to thank Sarah and David for making our stay so very nice they were so helpful it was like home from home, comfy bed, large ensuite, breakfast was lovely and the bar was so nice, so good we have booked to back in June we look forward to our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlesue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We had a fantastic nights stay here. We had the family room which was large enough to accommodate us comfortably. The room was well equipped with a trouser press, bottled water, tea and coffee making facilities. The on-suite was modern and spacious with a shower cubicle and bath. The owners are most welcoming and nothing was ever too much trouble for them.

The full English breakfast comes recommended, although there was a good selection of alternatives should you prefer.

The old bar games kept our son amused for hours!!

Will definitely be paying a return visit!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoubleTroublePlus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We don't normally pay this much for a hotel, but could not find a local chain close to where we needed to be for a funeral same day of booking.
This hotel is convenient for Swaffham and touring local countryside and places of interest. However, we were on a more sobre mission.
The bed was supremely comfortable as were the pillows. A nice touch was bottled water in the room. Also, an excellent digital television. The ensuite was spacious and luxurious with both bath and shower The owners were friendly and welcoming, but a bit stretched in their duties being the cooks and housekeepers.
Not being a chain hotel, there was no access until check in time, which after a four hour journey in very hot weather, would have been a problem if no alternatives nearby. Access to a washroom and lunch would have been welcome prior to check in.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bi0nicAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews