We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Green Idyll”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Rectory Holidays

Holiday apartment entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holiday apartment entrance
View of garden from apartment Doors onto garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Holiday apartment entrance
View of garden from apartment
Doors onto garden
Dining area
Large window to garden
Sleeping area
Seating area
Kitchen area
Shower room
Shower
Garden View
Garden View
Garden View
The Old Rectory
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Swaffham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alison T
1 review
“A Green Idyll”
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A wonderful week in a perfect location. The studio apartment is cosy, and has everything you could want for a super relaxing week. Carole and Brian have created a stunning two acres of magnificent gardens which the studio’s patio opens out onto. All is very peaceful and tranquil and there are many beautiful walks around the lovely village. Must return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2017
Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your week at The Old Rectory. You were perfect guests and a real pleasure to have stay with us. We certainly hope you return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve T
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday accommodation”
Reviewed June 24, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Another super week in this perfect holiday apartment. Our hosts - Carole and Brian - even arranged for us to have the hottest June day since 1976! We have booked again for later in the summer - can't wait!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2017
Thanks for your review Steve, Brian and I are so pleased you had a great week although it was a tad hot, still you made the most of it by visiting the North Norfolk Coast with the lovely sea breeze. So pleased you are returning again in September.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrician...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

What a find. Beautiful two acres of gardens which the lovely owners let you use. Spotlessly clean and well equipped for cooking. Beautiful walks and a thatched church roof in the very friendly village. Nothing two much trouble for the owners. Would love to go back. Great local pubs for food or just sit and have a drink. We liked the 20 Church wardens home cooking and fresh veg.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2016
You were perfect guests who appreciated what the Brecks had on offer. Hope you return one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDowalls
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful location with fantastic garden and comfortable accomodation.”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

An ideal base to tour the north of Norfolk and return to at the end of the day to enjoy a very private and peaceful evening in the garden. And you couldn't ask for a more friendly welcome than from Carole and Jim.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting in the garden in the evening.
Liked least: No pub in village but garden was better anyway.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2016
Thanks for the review, you were perfect guests and thank you so much for leaving the apartment so clean, much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve T
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, well-appointed accommodation”
Reviewed July 3, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Lovely apartment - beautiful gardens - well-placed for local attractions and amenities - welcoming hosts - well-appointed accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2016
Steve and Sue you were perfect guests and we look forward to welcoming you again in October
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soundwave...
1 review
“inspirational holiday”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

a hidden pearl in the very end of the world, Lovely time spent relaxing.
Charming and inspiring owners who work very hard all year round caring for the wonderful garden / tom and jerry's domain. We are coming back as soon as we can :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden and lovlely owners
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2016
Thank you so much for the Review, you were excellent guests who shared our love of this area. Looking forward to your return
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreawil...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay with fabulous gardens and lovely cosy feel.”
Reviewed August 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were lucky enough to get our holiday at very short notice due to an unexpected cancellation. Before booking I checked previous reviews on trip advisor which said how good it was and we were not disappointed. My best memories are going out to various places and then coming back to sit in the beautiful gardens reading books and listening to the silence. It was so relaxing and we can't wait to go again. Carole W was the perfect host even though we hardly saw her all week we knew if we needed her we just had to knock. PERFECT.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace, accommodation and the setting.
Liked least: Coming home.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2015
Thank you for such a lovely review. You were perfect guests too. I think you enjoyed your holiday and enjoyed all there was on offer around Beachamwell. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing