We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regulars”
Review of Spice of Swaffham

Spice of Swaffham
Ranked #16 of 35 Restaurants in Swaffham
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Small restaurant/cafe. Excellent authentic food with a fresh spiced flavour somewhat different to the norm. Friendly young staff and good value for money. Will definitely go on a regular basis. Recommended.
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Regulars”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I come with my 2 friends at least once every 2 months. Love the food, although it can taste different depending on whether Adul (owner) does the cooking or not. What it lacks in ambinece is made up for with the friendly staff and quality cooking.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 471richardc471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
thetford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food, nice experience”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Went here end of last year. Not that keen on Indian food but the wife loves it so though i'd give it a try. Glad I did! The Food was excellent, and i mean... EXCELLENT, i ordered seconds despite being very full. Will be returning here again within the next couple of days.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeySims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Totally uninspiring”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I ate here on the basis of the previous three reviews. Whoops, what a mistake! Sorry guys, but it was close to one of the worst Indian dining experiences that I've ever had and I've had literally thousands. The poppadums were cold and old. The yoghurt dip that came with them was watery and tasteless. The rice was served on a cold metal dish so soon followed suit. The onion bahjee was almost certainly not home made; it was completely tasteless, unless you like chewing cardboard and completely lacked any seasoning. The lamb achari contained small pieces of tough lamb and the sauce was extremely disappointing. The atmosphere of the restaurant was uninviting, far too bright, bland and frankly not so clean. The service was quick (in fact too quick) and I got the impression the waiter wished he were elsewhere. There is nothing at all that I can recommend about this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bark-not-bite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
394 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Authentic and very tasty food”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This small Indian 'cafe' has very few covers and does most usiness in take away orders. The cafe style is very agreable with attentive personal service and really excellent food, cooked freshly to order.
The simplicity adds to the charm and is reflected in very reasonable pricing. A very good value and authentic meal, from a suitably extensive menu.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Went back again two days later as it was so good!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This restaurant has a very unassuming exterior but the food is wonderful and tastes the way good Indian cooking should. It is all fresh and cooked to order by a friendly chef with 25 years experience. I appreciated that it was flavoured very fragrantly so all dishes had a different taste (and not overly spiced with a generic sauce as sometimes is the case). We called in on a Thursday evening and again on Saturday it was so good - and the food both times was first class. We are so glad to have found this place which will now be our pit-stop - both to and from - on our journeys from the Midlands to Great Yarmouth. All of the staff were helpful and cheerful.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RedManifestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice of Swaffham also viewed

 
 

Been to Spice of Swaffham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing