We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could not be more helpful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Swaffham
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Could not be more helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

My wife and I went for an evening meal but were a little early for the opening of the restaurant. The bar was open serving the same food as that in the retaurant. A member of staff said she would set two places in the restaurant if we wished. The bar was not busy so we chose to have our meal in the bar. The staff could not be more helpful. Even the coffee was made to our liking. On leaving the premises I looked in the restaurant, which was now open, it was set with starched napkins in the form of mitres, set on white table cloths. It looked very presentable.

Room Tip: We only had an evening meal as we were taravelling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent dining experience at our Hotel.

I am pleased to learn you were well looked after by our team at The George. Good to know that the Coffee hit the spot and trust you had an enjoyable meal too.

Thank you again for taking the time to post this review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our property when you are next in the area.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    115
    73
    27
    13
See reviews for
54
121
9
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swaffham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

I would not be able to recommend staying at this hotel to anyone due mostly to the unbelievably poor customer service received during our stay which in the case of a couple of the staff I would describe as down right rude. The hotel also did not seem to contain any double beds or working showers as we changed room three times before giving up and resigning ourselves to a very temperamental shower and two single beds pushed together. In addition to this the room we were given smelt very damp on arrival and we had to leave the windows open the entire time, the decor was very tired looking, the telephone did not work and the smoke detector was faulty.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at our property.

I am so sorry to learn about the issues encountered and I would like to apologise on behalf of the team.

We do have 13 double bedded rooms however when you made your reservation you had booked a twin bedded room, this would have been because at the time you booked all of our doubles had already been booked out. I appreciate you noted in the comments section of your booking you would prefer a double but requests cannot be guaranteed, therefore the first room you were allocated would have been a twin room as per the booking confirmation. The 2 single beds you refer to are zip & link beds designed to be either 2 singles or zipped together to create a large double and I am sorry this was not satisfactory but we were genuinely trying to met with your request.

We have instructed our maintenance team to investigate the shower and telephone issue and thank you for bringing this to our attention.

I am very disappointed to learn you felt you received poor customer service and assure you it is most unusual for this to be the case however your comments have been duly noted and those on duty will be addressed accordingly.

With regards to the faulty smoke detector I can assure you this has been checked and is in full working order however we did have an issue with guests smoking in a bedroom which caused the sensors to go off so can only apologise for the inconvenience.

Thank you again for your feedback and please accept our sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Swaffham hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Great location in the centre of Swaffham next to markets, pubs, restaurants etc. The hotel itself is a traditional coaching inn and rather dated with creaking floorboards, soft beds etc. Staff were very friendly with nice touches such as complimentary squash and apples. Free wifi too, which is not always the case and the restaurant menu looked good although we did not eat there.
Personally, I think the full rate is overpriced but we went on a Friday at a reduced rate which was good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WakefieldU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at our Hotel.

Great to know you enjoyed your stay and please you felt you received good value for money. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff who will be pleased to read your comments.

With regards to price, we strive to offer fair rates for comfortable accommodation and always suggest contacting the hotel direct to check for the best possible deal available.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to The George in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

I stay away in Hotels for business about five to six times a month and I must say that I have never stayed in a Hotel where customer service has been completely forgotten until I stayed here. Too many examples to quote but in the end was forced to make a complaint to Best Western which as a Diamond member I have never ever done before. Rooms are ok but the noise from the road is awful. Stay away!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bognorregis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your review following your stay at our property last year.

I do apologise for any inconvenience encountered during your stay and assure you we take customer service very seriously and I am disappointed to read your comments.

We do have rooms away from the road and if we had been made aware at the property I am confident we would have done our upmost to try to rectify the situation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swaffham
0.1 mi away
Strattons Hotel
Strattons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swaffham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
24.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
#27 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
22.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN George Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN George Hotel
Address: 1 Station Street, Swaffham PE37 7LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Swaffham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Swaffham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swaffham
Swaffham Best Western
BEST WESTERN George Hotel Swaffham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing