We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Sunday Lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western George Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Swaffham
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I must just write a review for the Sunday carvery, which our family enjoyed last weekend.

The George offers a fixed price carvery menu for optional 2 & 3 course lunches. Sometimes this can be a disappointment, and the food a bit dry and tired. Not in this case..!! The food was well cooked, and plentiful (a main course option of roast beef, and\or lamb). The desserts we good as well, with clean plates all round.

Well done, The George

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Neil-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Best Western George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent dining experience at our Hotel.

I am most pleased to learn that you and your family enjoyed your Sunday Lunch Carvery Meals.

I will ensure your kind comments are passed on to the team, who work hard to ensure they are providing good service and food.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to serving you and your family back to The George in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 346 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed there after going to a show. A very friendly welcome, and a lovely large clean room and bathroom. The evening meal was excellent and the staff exceptionally helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble, and the young girl serving us offered to fetch the cases down for the elderly guests when they were ready to leave, without anyone asking her. The breakfast was superb, with the best fresh fruit salad I have ever had, and all the food was good quality really tasty. Would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the main road but we could hear no noise, due to the secondary double glazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Best Western George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at our hotel.

I am so pleased to hear you had a most enjoyable experience at The George.
We hope you enjoyed the Thursford Christmas Spectacular Show and we are delighted to have contributed positively to your short break.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the team and food and we will continue to work hard to maintain our standards. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The quality of this hotel is very good all round. The location was disappointing. Street lighting was poor and a condsiderable walk from the station and bus terminus for in dividuals with walking disabilities. However once inside the hotel service, accomodation and food were fabulous.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Best Western George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for your review and your kind comments following your recent stay at our Hotel.

We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay and sorry you were disappointed with the location. The Hotel is located just off the market place in the town, and only a 5 minute walk from the nearest bus stop, unfortunately the town does not have a bus or train station due to its size.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

A group of colleagues (Walkers are Welcome) ex conference Swaffham went to The George for a meal on Sunday evening, not many other places were open. Lovely meal. good quality and lovely attentive staff. Highly recommended. Husband and I had Lamb and Sea Bass, both excellent.

Room Tip: Sorry no room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annsandell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Best Western George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for your review and your kind comments following your recent visit to our Hotel.

We are so glad you enjoyed your time at The George. We have a great team working at the hotel and aim to delivery good food and customer service.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The George in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gemma A, Manager at Best Western George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have stayed here several times now and the services never fails. Friendly staff, great food and central location. We doont even bother looking elsewhere now. Improvement in that wifi is available in all rooms now on top floorbwhich wasva peev of mine

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs at the back ifnpossiblevas the hell chimes can keep you awake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navaronuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Best Western George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for your review and your kind comments following your recent stay at our Hotel.

We continue to work hard to improve our facilities with continued investment. We have a great team at The George who pride themselves on their good levels of customer service. We too are very pleased to have ironed out the Wifi issues. This is a free service to all our guests and customers and is available throughout the property.

It’s lovely to hear you enjoy staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The George when you next in the area.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stopped over at this hotel after a fairly long drive, and was impressed with the lovely clean hotel. The reception staff were very helpful and the room was very very clean.
The bed would have slept six people and the room was spotless.
However the bathroom was a little small for a bloke over 19 stone. But it had a bath and a shower and the water was very hot, So a lovely soak was much needed.
The breakfast was lovely with a selection of fresh fruit and fruit juice, and toast and cereal.
The full english was served by the waiting staff and was very very nice, but could have been a little hotter. But none the less as I said lovely.
I would stay here again without a moments hesitation.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room, but heard not a sound all night, none of the noises associated with a bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Best Western George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at our Hotel.

I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed our hospitality at The George.

Your kind comments will be passed onto our team, who work hard to deliver good levels of customer service.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swaffham
0.1 mi away
Strattons Hotel
Strattons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swaffham
496 reviews
7.0 mi away
Broom Hall Country Hotel
Broom Hall Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saham Toney
130 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
170 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Great Danes Country Inn
The Great Danes Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Beachamwell
67 reviews
9.4 mi away
Lynford Hall
Lynford Hall
#2 of 2 in Mundford
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western George Hotel

Address: 1 Station Street, Swaffham PE37 7LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Swaffham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Swaffham
Price Range: $62 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swaffham
Swaffham Best Western
Best Western George Hotel Swaffham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing