We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs an overhaul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Swaffham
Canberra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs an overhaul”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a pretty mediocre hotel.

While a number of the staff are very friendly some of them seem under-trained.

The management of the hotel also needs to put some more effort into maintenance work. While the public parts of the hotel are very pleasant our room and corridor needed major refurbishment. The bedroom carpet was shabby. And the room and door were in need of a re-paint.

The hotel is quite awkward to drive into. There is a boom-gate on the entry to the car park. It opens automatically - so just drive in.

On the positive side, the breakfast was good.

Overall, though, this is a hotel that is pretty ordinary.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent stay with us.

Since taking over the hotel we continue to invest in the property and have a rolling refurbishment program in place. We pride ourselves on our levels of customer service along with good food and are working hard to improve our facilities for our guests.

I was disappointed that you felt further training was required of our staff and this is a matter that will be discussed at our next Team Meeting.

We value your feedback and assure you your comments are duly noted and we endeavour to improve in areas highlighted.

Thank you again for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    118
    74
    27
    13
See reviews for
56
123
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel in Swaffham. Getting into the car part can be confusing if your not familiar with the triangle junction outside, but you get used to it quick enough. The hotel itself is nicely laid out and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The room itself was a little tired and was in need of a refurb, but it was clean, tidy and warm. The town of Swaffham itself is nice and the hotel is ideally positioned to go for a look round. The George is a good hotel for a business trip or a long weekend. I would definately go back on my own and it would be okay for a family for a weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent stay with us.

Since taking over the hotel we continue to invest in the property and have a rolling refurbishment program in place. We pride ourselves on our levels of customer service along with good food and are working hard to improve our facilities for our guests.

We value your feedback and assure you your comments are duly noted and we endeavour to improve in areas highlighted.

Thank you again for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

nice hotel offering all the ameneties you'd expect. Easily the best place to stay in Swaffham. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice little bar offering a range of bar style meals together with a main restaurant for more substantial meals. Rooms are areg and well maintained. Large carpark to the rear offers ample parking. Stayed there three times this year already when visiting family

Room Tip: try this hotel if you are in the Swaffham area before going anywhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navaronuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Many thanks for your recent review

I was pleased to read you had enjoyed your stay at the George Hotel. I wil pass this on to my general manager and team.

Once again many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The hotel was clean and tidy and my room was a good size,however it did look like it needed to be overhauled.The staff were friendly and the food was quite good though.Ideally located for visiting swaffham.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent stay with us.

Since taking over the hotel we continue to invest in the property and have a rolling refurbishment program in place. We pride ourselves on our levels of customer service along with good food and are working hard to improve our facilities for our guests.

We value your feedback and assure you your comments are duly noted and we endeavour to improve in areas highlighted.

Thank you again for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel is in need of a refurb, food is good as are the staff, however our room had no hot water which was not discovered until the morning when we tried to shower. Ended up with tepid water, when complaining no offer was made to reduce the bill and we had to ask and all that was offered was £7.00. Also the shower pressure was very weak which was a complaint of another couple in our party. All told give this place a swerve until updated as it falls way short of Best Western's normal standard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay at the BEST WESTERN George Hotel, Swaffham.

We are sorry to learn that there were problems with the hot water to your room. Your comments have been passed on to our maintenance team to investigate and we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience. As we continue our rolling refurbishments of the bedrooms and bathrooms we are striving to improve standards and address the water pressure.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and food and we do hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights over Easter and probably won't go back for return visit. The room was a decent size but dark and dingy (low energy lightbulbs were too dim & the horrible dark green walls didn't help). Due to the weather the room was extremely cold (even with the heating on) but luckily there was a fan heater in the wardrobe so we were able to warm the place up. Windows were not double-glazed so were streaming with condensation. The bathroom was up 3 very steep stairs and the shower was a complete joke. Having said this, the staff in the bar area were extremely friendly and we had a fabulous meal in the restaurant, and have no complaints about that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent stay with us.

Since taking over the hotel we continue to invest in the property and have a rolling refurbishment program in place. We pride ourselves on our levels of customer service along with good food and are working hard to improve our facilities for our guests.

We value your feedback and assure you your comments are duly noted and we endeavour to improve in areas highlighted.

Thank you again for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have stayed so many times in the George Hotel swaffham over the years that I have lost count the staff/restaurant/bar/lounge area you cannot fault - but oh dear the rooms are very tired and drab looking now -the room we had over the easter break was probably the worst so far it was cold (even though there was an electric heater we could use) the radiators did not come on till very late afternoon - no shelves to put anything on in the bathroom the water was dangerously hot the floors creeked terribly - felt sorry for anyone in the rooms below us - so hope now it has new management it will start to do some refurbish work as we really do not want to have to look elsewhere for our several stays a year in swaffham.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieEssexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent review.

We know we have some work to do at the hotel and we are at present looking at doing so. We hope to start the refurbishment work very soon.

I am sure by the end of the year you will see a great improvement.

Once again many thanks.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swaffham
0.1 mi away
Strattons Hotel
Strattons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swaffham
455 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
147 reviews
14.4 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
#26 of 50 in Norwich
435 reviews
6.8 mi away
Greenbanks Country Hotel & Restaurant
22.3 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN George Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN George Hotel
Address: 1 Station Street, Swaffham PE37 7LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Swaffham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Swaffham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swaffham
Swaffham Best Western
BEST WESTERN George Hotel Swaffham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing