We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quirky”
Review of Strattons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strattons Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Swaffham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I really liked this hotel, fantastic quirky artwork and decoration. It reminds me of home with creaky floors. The staff were lovely, polite and helpful. I had read lots of the other reviews before we came, so was slightly apprehensive. I even had a list of the rooms people liked and the ones they didn't. We stayed in Edie, it was very tarts boudour with pink flocked wallpaper. The bathroom has a large tub that you clamber up a step to get into and a separate shower. The lighting is rather dramatic, all downlighters which means there is no good place to put makeup on your face. The first night i stood in the bath as it has mirrors all round and on the ceiling too. The next night tried the blocked-up doorway which is mirrored too. I concluded there really wasnt a good spot even in the day time.

The bed was comfy, if a bit soft for my back but we slept well.

My boyfriend is highly allergic to cats. There are 3 lovely cats lurking in the public areas. We made a point of not sitting in the sitting rooms,so wasn't a problem at all.

A few things I came to notice in the room, the carpet is badly stained and needs replacing, the shower curtain is mouldy and the bath badly needs recalking where the tub has moved downward.
But i really loved this hotel and hope to go back. Ps the breakfast is great. More about dinner in another review!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Fantafelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 484 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our third time at Strattons and our second in the Red room which is brilliant for winter. The log/coal fire was lit for when we arrived and the room was cosy and warm with the curtains shut to close off the rest of the world. The hotel has a feel that we like and staff were helpful and friendly, food good. A great way to get away. WiFi worked fine so unfortunately there was no excuse but to do a couple of work emails. No shower in the bathroom (it's a bathroom and not a shower room) but the bath is great with plenty of hot water and by the looks of the water damage on the wall, plenty of others have enjoyed it too. (The wall really does need repainting). After we ate dinner we tendered the fire and sat by it for a while. The only problem with this which was something I should have thought about, was the room was too warm so we didn't sleep too well although the four poster is lovely. Not cheap but we'll definitely come again for a special time.

Room Tip: Red Room is great for winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamD766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This place is in need of a spruce up. The rooms, whilst sort of quaint are really not worth the price. I think the owners feel that they can price themselves as such with few facilities beyond a restaurant. No pool, no elevator no bar to relax in the evening or have a coffee in the afternoon. We stayed in the outside shed which was deluxe priced but cold and damp and took forever to warm up. On a plus the staff are nice and helpful. I agree with previous comments about the restaurant being in the basement. If you compare this hotel to say Dunston hall which has a lot of facilities for less money and nicer rooms where they remember to provide soap and not in premier inn type containers. This is a posh bed and breakfast with a restaurant.

Room Tip: anything under £100 - not the Stalls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Newsagenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My parents have just returned from a stay at this hotel. In fact they came home a day early because they were so disappointed with the hotel. They are elderly and were very much looking forward to a long weekend away.

They returned however advising that the food was very poor, one example being a burger served 'pink' but the biggest problem being the coldness of every room. Despite the high price their room was small and cramped and the ensuite was in an alcove with no door! Of the two radiators in their room, one didn't work and the other was only luke warm. They did ask to move but were told nothing else was available.

I am very upset about their experience. Their weekend was ruined and cost them a lot of money. My father is going to write for a refund - let's see what happens. I hope they do the decent thing and give them their money back so they can book somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daph8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at strattons at the beginning of 2012 and loved it. We stayed in the Boudoir simply because it was the only room available for 1 night and thought the bonkers decor added to the appeal. We found the staff very friendly and helpful and the siamese cat that slept outside our door just added to the warm and inviting feel to this hotel.
The only gripe was the evening set menu which was quite expensive and restrictive as you had to have 3 courses. I mentioned at the time that it would be nicer just to pick off the menu rather than have a fixed price menu and my comments were taken down. The food however was lovely.
We are going back this year for our anniversary and are staying in the Opium Suite. I really don't understand the poor reviews but will let you know if things have changed since our last visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tabs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I had to leave this review after reading some of the bewildering one-star reviews.

We have had nothing but positive experiences here and never eaten a dinner that isn't both innovative and delicious. Not sure how anyone can describe the restaurant as a 'dungeon' or lacking in atmosphere.

The menu is 'limited' because they use fresh, seasonal ingredients - rather than a freezer full of ready meals.

I can only assume that the writers of negative reviews either experienced a very unusual series of misfortunes, or are used to eating in Frankie and Benny's and staying at Best Westerns.

Strattons oozes charm and class and we will return again and again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMitC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Had a lovely long weekend at Strattons. We had a very friendly welcome and throughout our stay the staff couldn't do enough to help. Some reviews on here mention the entrance next to the fish and chip shop - don't be put off, it's simply a lane between two shops that leads to a lot of very pretty outhouses and the rather grand villa that is the hotel, in very well-kept grounds.

We stayed in the Linen Room which was lovely - it's not a huge room, particularly in terms of storage, but the pictures on the website don't do it justice. Great balcony, with nice furniture and views over the garden. Even though it was December, we had coffee out here in the mornings and evenings as it was too good a spot to waste! Good tea and coffee, with fresh milk and top-ups sent up from reception if needed. The mini-bar is expensive (as with every hotel I've ever been to!) but thoughtfully stocked with nice wines and treats. The only issue with the room was because we didn't read the description properly on the website and missed that it was an 'open plan bedroom bathroom'. The bathroom is very chic - his and hers Fired Earth sinks etc - but separated from the bedroom only by a partition that doesn't go up to the ceiling and stops halfway across the room ie there's no wall between the toilet and the bedroom! We tended to nip downstairs to use the public loos on the floor below.

The lounge is very comfortable with loads of books to borrow and three cats vying for the best seats - a very relaxing spot for pre-dinner drinks. The restaurant is quirkily decorated and serves really good food. Several reviews on here mention lack of choice but I feel this is actually because the chef really knows what he's doing and serves a choice of around 5/6 dishes for each course and does each really well. We had three courses each night and highlights included the venison cooked in several different ways - wonderfully light and super flavoursome - the battered hake with thrice cut chips - the batter was like glass to the touch, ultra-crispy and flavoursome and the chips highly recommended - the duck hearts which were very tender and the burger which was seriously good, great meat cooked pink, studded with melting cheese and more of those legendary thrice-cooked chips. Service was friendly and helpful - on the second night we found it hard to get our waitress' attention - but Charlie in particular is really on top of her game, very attentive and helpful with recommendations as well as being friendly and good fun. The staff are often quite rushed off their feet - partly because they're so willing to accommodate extra requests from guests - but at no point did we find it bad service.

Strattons is ideal for a romantic or relaxing break. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Linen Room's balcony would be amazing in summer, very spacious with table and chairs plus tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFJ_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swaffham
0.1 mi away
Best Western George Hotel
10.9 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
844 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Lynford Hall
Lynford Hall
#2 of 2 in Mundford
282 reviews
20.3 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
897 reviews
7.1 mi away
Broom Hall Country Hotel
Broom Hall Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saham Toney
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strattons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strattons Hotel

Address: 4 Ash Close, Swaffham PE37 7NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Swaffham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Swaffham
Price Range: $143 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Strattons Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Strattons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strattons Hotel Swaffham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing