We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No village!”
Review of Iceni Centre - CLOSED

Iceni Centre
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Iceni Centre is a recently refurbished private collection of historic buildings, artifacts and farm implements in a beautiful, remote and rural setting. Visitors need to be aware that the old replica Iceni Village itself was in disrepair and was criticised extensively on Tripadvsor. It has been demolished. All our literature makes this totally clear. This should not detract from your visitor experience as we now have much, much more to explore and discover.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“No village!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Very misleading at present. There is no village & the entry fee remains in full. You are told there is no village when you get there (although I saw nothing about that on the website), but the verbal inference was there was still plenty to see, this is an exaggeration unless you like the odd farm implement! As a local who had recommended it I felt very embarrassed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    3
    9
    29
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“An expensive walk”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

My wife and I visited this "attraction" yesterday and on arrival found that the village no longer existed but the display of farming equipment/carriages was extensive. We had gone out of our way to see the Iceni village so the direction signs are totally incorrect and should read "Farm Equipment/Carriage Museum". The nearby 17th century cottage and Saxon church are, however, very interesting. The walk mentioned is worthwhile but can be obtained free almost anywhere in Norfolk.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“what village?”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

It is totally misleading to call this an Iceni village - it turns out that the village has actually been demolished! There is a significant collection of old farm equipment with minimal information so unless you are a farmer or an enthusiast you wouldn't really know what you were looking at. At least the lady on the desk had the decency to tell us that the village had been demolished so we didn't waste our money or any further time than it took to find it. She didn't appear to be offering discounted entrance, either. I'd rather spend £12 on chips for seagulls at the coast, at least it would have provided some diversion.

Avoid this place at all costs until the proprietor either has the decency to turn it into something worth visiting or closes it down.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank ferdymagellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sam r, Owner at Iceni Centre, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We have taken very seriously the negative points raised on TripAdvsor in May. As a result, we have worked hard and undertaken a thorough overhall of all that we have on display. The bogus Iceni Village buildings have, indeed, gone. But we now have only the best articles on show with much better information provided. There is a mile and a half walk round the lake.

We will open every day from 19th June until the end of October 2014 and I am confident all visitors will now find their visits enjoyable.


Sir Samuel Roberts Bt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Iceni Village has disappeared”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

After living in the area for 10 years we decided to visit the Iceni Village recently. Unfortunately it has been take down by the present owner we were informed by staff on duty. All that remains is a rather small agricultural museum. We were rather disappointed and would not recommend paying to see things as they are at present.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Althea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sam r, Owner at Iceni Centre, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
We are trying really hard to tell everyone that the Iceni Village itself fell into a terrible state and we had to demolish it. It was 40 years old and we had numerous complaints.This will be clear on our leaflets and website.

What we have now is far better, and I am sorry you didn't mention the Cottage and Saxon Church as they are fascinating.

In future we will try to make it as apparent as possible that the replica village is no more, but we will have an Iceni Room where all you could ever want to know about Queen Boudicca will be on display.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Iceni village with no village!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We drove quite a way to visit this attraction after checking the website. No mention was made on the website or before we paid that the Iceni village (which is the only part worth paying for) had been dismantled. Instead there were piles of wood and spaces where the village had been. Tatty and not safe or suitable for children.
The barns and old equipment are shabby and although there is a nice nature walk you could do that anywhere.
Very disappointing and on contacting Sir Samuel Roberts to express our disappointment he did not even bother to reply.
Do not waste your time visiting this 'attraction'.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Alicia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sam r, Owner at Iceni Centre, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
So sorry you had a bad experience here. We are trying really hard to tell everyone that the Iceni Village itself fell into a terrible state and we had to demolish it. It was 40 years old and we had numerous complaints.This will be clear on our leaflets and website.

What we have now is far better. The Cottage and Saxon Church as they are fascinating.

In future we will try to make it as apparent as possible that the replica village is no more, but we will have an Iceni Room where all you could ever want to know about Queen Boudicca will be on display.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iceni Centre also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing