We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly good”
Review of Rasputin

Rasputin
Ranked #5 of 35 Restaurants in Swaffham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: Russian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Norfolk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Booked on a whim! I was a bit reluctant (stories about Russian food etc.) and nearly bottled out but decided "in for a penny in for a pound". Really glad I went!
I expected to be served heavy stodgy food in a clumsy offhand manner.
The reality couldn't be further from the truth - a very pleasant Estonian owner/chef explained the entire menu and served us delightful home cooked food with great charm and pride.
The only bit which followed the archetypal Russian characteristics was the generous portions. Nevertheless we ate everything put in front of us.
She brought us flavoured vodka to guess the taste between courses and joined in with some banter.
Wine list was Russian and completely unfamiliar to me but she helped us to choose a very decent bottle of Georgian wine (£14) which was a good match for a decent Rioja.
It was really different and great value and quality.
It would be fun with a few people for a party.
I will definitely go again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank mh1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    37
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly and good value”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I would really recommend this restaurant- we were a bit apprehensive as we haven't had Russian food before and there weren't many guests in, but the staff were extremely nice, helping us and explaining the dishes, and the menu offer was very good value. My daughter was voting for going every day of our stay... and we are hoping very much to go back soon! It was absolutely no problem to bring a youngster - the chef came out and recommended the perfect dish for her. The decor is a bit overwhelming, but certainly interesting, and the view over the Butter Cross outside was lovely.
If you're in Swaffham looking for food, do give this place a try !

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bumblebee174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic hidden gem”
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Well cooked homely food, large potions and well presented. A hidden gem in Swaffham and would highly recommend

Helpful?
1 Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Did a google search for restaurants in swaffham and Rasputin came up on top

Did a quick look on trip advisor and thought it was worth a shot

Soooo glad that I did!

The decor is a little bizarre and the layout is very different to a lot of other restaurants but as soon as you sit down you realise it just "works"

The service was excellent and the chief/waitress/owner couldn't have been more helpful, she was attentive but not overly, helpful but not pushy and she went out of her way to let us try new things, like their sauerkraut (which by the way is excellent!)

The food was quick and the portion size was excellent, it was proper home cooking

The selection of vodkas as well was good (I would recommend asking the owner to pick the flavour and then see if you can guess the flavour after)

All in all definitely a great experience and one that will be repeated again

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth trying”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were there during a Saturday lunchtime and were the only diners apart from a group of 3 middle-aged ladies accompanied by the son of one of them. However, they were all of east European origin, which added to the atmosphere. The decor appeared old fashioned but interesting.
The food was tasty. The mixed starter was the best bit. The mains were called by Russian names but were basically beef stew, pork escalope, lamb shank and paella(!). However, the accompanying mash and sauerkraut were excellent. We enjoyed the Moldovan red wine.
The waitress was friendly and the chef also came out to check whether we had enjoyed the meal.
We shall go back with a group of friends as it was a lovely experience which should be shared.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Unmentionable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rasputin also viewed

 

Been to Rasputin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing