We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found by chance”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Windmill Inn

The Windmill Inn
Ranked #4 of 34 Restaurants in Swaffham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Found by chance”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We found this pub/restaurant by chance when travelling to a destination in Norfolk. It has to be found off the main road and it is situated in the village of Necton. We were very pleased that we made a diversion on our journey. Good choices from their menu and our lunch proved to be very enjoyable. The food was excellent and the staff were very friendly. We noticed that it got very busy, so if that way again we will make sure to book a table.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWhitehair, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your positive response, I am so glad you made the diversion, and that my staff and myself made your visit a pleasurable experience, we look forward too meeting you again !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    29
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“An excellent experience”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Sunday lunch at the windmill, a wonderful experience. The food was hot when it arrived at the table, the order was correct, they made us a children's meal that wasn't on the menu, the food was presented nicely on the plate and the staff were happy to help with everything. Will definitely be going again. Thank you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K8tja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWhitehair, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you on your return visit here at the Windmill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sudbury
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another great meal with friends at my local”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Had a great meal AGAIN, with friends who were visiting from Essex. Living in the village of Necton, I know how popular the Windmill is, and my friends always choose to eat here when they visit. Reason has to be the well cooked, tasty and well presented food, good menu, nice friendly ambience, friendly staff,great prices.
Choosing from menu is always difficult as so many tasty dishes to choose from. Unfortunately, cannot make any comment on the desserts as I always have the divine creme brulee!! Am told the sticky toffee pudding is to die for, so may have to give it a go sometime!!
Keep up the good work, something good is always successful!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mckaySudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWhitehair, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Your comments are very well received, thank you. It's a shame you havn't tried the sticky toffee pudding, it is one of my favourite desserts, next time your in let me know, and if you order the brulee I'll give you a taster of the sticky toffee !!! you won't look back.. hope too see you again soon, and a big shout to your friends in Essex !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Well worth it”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We enjoyed a fantastic evening - the service was warm and friendly and the place had a welcoming atmosphere - I thoroughly enjoyed my meal and the cheesecake was totally divine - a great price too and definitely worth a return visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWhitehair, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments, you should take a look at our website www.thenectonwindmill.co.uk where there is a video showing how we make our cheesecake, give it a go. The staff and myself look forward too seeing you back at the Windmill soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fab u lous”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

A party of ten of us had lunch last Friday and were all very happy with the service and the food. We all had the £11 two course menu, some had starters with main while others decided to have the sweet. The food was well cooked and well presented by very pleasant staff that served us. Have booked a return visit and urge anyone who hasn't been to do so. Lovely.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sue1955_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWhitehair, Owner at The Windmill Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for your valued comments, we look forward too welcoming you on your return visit..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Windmill Inn also viewed

 
Swaffham, Norfolk
 

Been to The Windmill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing