We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, would definitely recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Horse and Groom
Ranked #3 of 6 Swaffham B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay, would definitely recommend!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed at the horse and groom whilst visiting family. Trudy the owner made us feel really welcome and was lovely. Our room was clean and tidy and it was nice that everything was topped up each day so we didn't run out of tea/coffee/milk. The food cooked by Trudys husband was really good and all fresh ingredients used. Would definitely recommend this place to others and would stay again if in the area. Only a few minutes away from the shops and market, the horse and groom was really handy to get to and from. Thank you for a lovely stay and for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    24
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
23
25
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wemyss Bay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I booked this with some trepidation having seen 2 of the reviews below (the ones written while the owners were on holiday). I need not have worried. The Horse and Groom is first class; the owner and all the staff are exceptionally helpful. Most importantly, the room I stayed in was spotless. As it was at the front there was some traffic noise (the room is double glazed) but this was minor.

All in all first class value for money and I would certainly book again if in the area; I do not normally recommend hotels/pubs but I am pleased to do so on this occassion.
AM
Wemyss Bay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

The best place to stay in swaffham, nice rooms, great food and wonderful welcoming staff, a great atmosphere 10 out of 10. Stay here often would definitely recommend if your in this part of the world. Come abd find out you won't regret staying here

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Friendly family run B&B :)) would use again may not be 100% up to date but it's very clean food lovely and Trudy is one of the loveliest people you will meet ! Will be using again Carvery also very good

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karentr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Fantastic weekend spent at this very friendly, homely B&B. Both Richard and Trudy made our weekend away (for our wedding anniversary) very special. The building was very clean, and full of character. On an evening time we ate at the horse and groom and the food was exceptional. With dietary needs (coeliac) this was catered for with much confident from the chef Richard, with total understanding about the illness...which in tow made the weekend complete as I could eat and relax knowing I wasn't going to be ill. Bless them they even got me G/F bread and Heinz baked beans so I could have the breakfast which I will add was super. Nothing was too much trouble. Fresh towels and a morning clean in your room, which is usually only hotels which do this. Highly recommend the horse and groom for that perfect break.....thanks Richard and Trudy we will see you very soon

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 6. But we did have a look round the other rooms and all very clean,fresh a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed for 1 night when in the area on business. Owners were on holiday and the front door was locked on arrival with a number tacked to the door to ring so somebody would come and let guests in. Paid for room only as I am away early before breakfast, price seemed reasonable and on arrival it could be seen why, basic metal beds like you normally get in cheap student accomodation, battered wooden chair, very old TV, rail tacked under a shelf to hang clothes on instead of a wardroabe. Common areas realy need sprucing up. In general it all looks dated and ready for a good overhall!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed for two nights in a family room at the end of August.
We were told the owners were on their annual holidays, this was mentioned at the start of all replies to any question asked.
Only one person working who carried out every and all duties.
Breakfast was edible but not good £7.00 for a full English with a Tea or Coffee, £5.00 for cereal & toast. Asda is opposite & this is where it appeared the produce is sourced (High prices for low costing goods). same price for adult or a child. (no child option). Evening meals were not available, I am guessing one of the owners is the cook.
The Rooms were clean & comfortable.
The common areas have pieces of carpet missing and are in need of redecoration.
It is the first time I have stayed where all the staff complain more than the guest.
Basil & Sybil, when you return from your Holiday. I hope your experience was better than ours.
For anyone interested in what you get for your £7.00 A Full English consisted of a fried egg, 2 rashers of bacon, sausage, beans, 2 very small mushrooms & tinned tomatoes, Tea or Coffee.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the very busy main road at the front of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swaffham
0.2 mi away
Best Western George Hotel
0.1 mi away
Strattons Hotel
Strattons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swaffham
463 reviews
10.8 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Romany Rye Hotel
The Romany Rye Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dereham
351 reviews
3.5 mi away
Red Lodge Country House
Red Lodge Country House
#1 of 6 in Swaffham
61 reviews
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Lydney House
#2 of 6 in Swaffham
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse and Groom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse and Groom

Property: The Horse and Groom
Address: 40 Lynn Street, Swaffham PE37 7AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Swaffham
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Swaffham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Horse and Groom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Horse And Groom Hotel Swaffham
The Horse And Groom Swaffham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing