We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value, great breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Horse and Groom
Ranked #3 of 6 Swaffham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Excellent value, great breakfast.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Booked for me through work, for business visit to the area. I was a bit concerned that £34.95 b&b would mean a shabby venue, but this was not the case. Clean room & ensuite, friendly & helpful owners and substantial quality full english breakfast. Excellent real ale was available in the bar.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakrolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    23
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
23
23
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

we discovered this purley by accident but we are so glad we did , trudy and her team could not have helped us more during the run up to our wedding and even more so on the big day, the service was nothing but excelent from start to finish for the sit down meal with very impressive starters , main courses and dessert, then they continued setting the standard with a very impressive buffett which was enjoyed by all , we honestly cant thank them enough for all they did for us, try them youself and we promise you will not be dissapointed in any way !!!! Bernard & Caroline

Room Tip: if you are gonna stay ask them for the room with the small door !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline_Bernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trudycutting, Owner at The Horse and Groom, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Thank you so much for choosing us and only to glad to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

Great place to stay!!Very welcoming. Rooms very clean and great nvalue for money. The breakfast was to die for!!!! Reccmmend this to everybody and anybody!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerTraveller98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

A realy good value B&B. Clean comfy rooms good food and excellent service, no complaints at all.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suedevizes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

We used this B&B for a base for a RAF Summer Ball and were well impressed.
Thank you

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraFaupel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

Stayed at this hotel with 4 friends on our way to the Norfolk broads. Fantastic value for money. New owners have really worked hard, lots of character, excellent blend of old world and contemporary decor . The rooms and ensuites were spotless, lots of extra touches eg tea and coffee making facilities and TVs in the rooms, the ownerscould not do enough to make us feel welcome and the locals very friendly and knowledgable about the area and gave us great advice about the trip. Would definately stay there againand would recommend it..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V3BMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
275 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2010

Excellent family-run pub, restaurant and hotel in Swaffham. Staff are friendly and food is excellent and well priced. Guest bitter on tap is the icing on the cake! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uktravailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swaffham
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
0.1 mi away
Strattons Hotel
Strattons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swaffham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Great Danes Country Inn
The Great Danes Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Beachamwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Premier Inn
Premier Inn
#4 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
3.5 mi away
Red Lodge Country House
Red Lodge Country House
#1 of 6 in Swaffham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Lydney House
#2 of 6 in Swaffham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse and Groom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse and Groom

Property: The Horse and Groom
Address: 40 Lynn Street, Swaffham PE37 7AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Swaffham
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Swaffham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Horse and Groom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Horse And Groom Hotel Swaffham
The Horse And Groom Swaffham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing