We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely food ,lovely restaurant. would go again.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nico Italian Restaurant - CLOSED

Nico Italian Restaurant
Price range: $2 - $7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Remember When Cafe Swaffham, specialises in English traditional homebaked food. All our food is prepared and cooked on site. We have a selection of specialist teas and fresh ground coffee.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely food ,lovely restaurant. would go again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

our first time in Swaffham & we chose to eat at Nico's. The restaurant was warm & inviting and the staff very attentive.
We shared the garlic mushroom starter which was excellent. King Prawn linguine & aubergine parmiganio followed for main & again these were delicious. Would also recommend the gorgonzola & potato gratin!.
Gem of a restuarant in Swaffham, would definitely recommend to our friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TSC03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    17
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service and Food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Highly recommend Nico's. Fabulous service, fantastic food great value for money and lovely atmosphere :-) Would definitely return. Best Italian food I have tasted. :-)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EmmyJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quantity over Quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Plain with no frills. Freezing cold dinning room on evening 23 Jan 13! Most clientele present remarked on this. Pleasant staff. Mussels overcooked & sauce non descript. Large portions of pasta presented. Steak with rocket salad was actually steak with chopped mixed salad, akin to that from a supermarket prepacked salad. No explanation proffered as to the lack of rocket. Better to remove dishes from the menu than present alternatives unannounced. Steak itself cooked correctly but a little tough. Beverages a tad expensive. Others in the group claimed to enjoy their dinning experience but I will not be returning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“English Italian Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Having spent a lot of time in both Rome and the Comune di Venezia I was sadly disappointed with this restaurant being more English than Italian.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank D0C_C0N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
386 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Authentic but lacks variety of choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

An attractive venue and good bona fide Italian food but the menu is not changed very often so is better as a specific experience than for regulars to return too frequently. No pizzas offered, when we last visited, but no recent knowledge so that might have changed.
Friendly service but quite expensive, especially the wine.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nico Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing