We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Snug cottage walking distance of coast path”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Mount Tabor

Sitting room.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting room.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
39 reviews
Sitting room.
Coal or log fire
Kitchen.
Twin beds.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stiffkey, Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Roy P
1 review
“Snug cottage walking distance of coast path”
Reviewed September 27, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A cosy little cottage close to good dog friendly pub and an easy walk to coastal path. Nicely decorated, very clean.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: convenience
Liked least: garden not dog secure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2016
Hello Roy, Pleased to read your review. We advise our visitors to book the Red Lion if they wish to have dinner but as you say it is a very friendly pub for a dog. Likewise the Three Horse Shoes at Warham. A very popular dining place. with plenty of pies to choose from. Thank you. Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolH340...
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 11, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

EXCELLENT value for money cottage. Will definitely be returning. Lovely fresh flowers on arrival from the owner which was a lovely touch
Only negative is the noise from the road which is adjacent to the cottage but did not spoil our enjoyment.

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2016
Hello Carol, Thank you for taking the time to send a review.
We look forward to you visiting us again. Best wishes, Pat and Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janiwimp1...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal walking base”
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Rented the cottage for a long weekend over the Spring Bank holiday, the property is excellent for two people, comfortable single beds, cozy living room and a workable kitchen which was very well equipped. Bathroom was clean and well presented.

The real beauty of the place was the location, good amenities close by, pub and shop both within strolling distance and most of all for us, right on both the North Norfolk coastal path and the Coast-hopper bus route, which meant we didn't need to use the car the whole weekend, just walk one way and hop on the bus back home.

Downside of this was the busy road right outside, but the insulation and the double glazing kept all but the biggest trucks from being annoyingly noisy.

Very good value for money, good information from the owners, will come back again for sure!

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and walking availability
Liked least: Noisy road right along side the property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2016
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. Pleased the information we supplied was of use. Regards Pat and Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena D
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another super visit - we love this cottage!”
Reviewed June 19, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

2nd time in this cosy warm cottage. We love log fires and my partner was in his element building the fire. Unlike some other rentals elsewhere that we have visited - all the basic household stuff provided. The property is extremely clean and the owners could not have done enough.
The View from the bedroom window immediately relaxes you. Wrapped up outside, watching the stars in the pollution free night sky- what could be better!
Delightful cottage, great Village- The Lion pub food a must, amazing area.
Last. But not least- extremely well priced.
See you next year

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosyness
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2016
Hello Helen and Nick, Thank you for your review. I have booked you in for the dates requested in 2017. Pleased you enjoyed your stay in our cottage. Regards Roger.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margrit E
1 review
“Lovely traditional Norfolk flint cottage”
Reviewed June 17, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Mount Tabor is ideally situated for exploring the area either by car or on foot and then there is also the coast hopper (bus). We stayed for a long weekend and found everything we needed in the cottage and we were very comfortable. The kitchen is small and perfectly adequate for simple cooking but I would probably not want to do any big cooking due to lack of working space. There is, of course, a wonderfully foody pub a few meters from the cottage. Unfortunately the weather was quite dull and grey and this probably made the sitting room also quite dark. I would love to go back in sunny weather. I would particularly like to sit and eat in the lovely garden.
The cottage was very clean and good value, the owners very friendly and helpful. I had not seen an electricity meter in years and would prefer to pay slightly more for the cottage but have electricity included in the price.
Stiffkey with its shop and post office is a sweet village.

Date of stay: April 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2016
Hello Margrit, Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our pre visit information very useful. We look forward to your next visit. Regards Roger.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dee H
Wellingborough
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect cottage”
Reviewed June 15, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My partner and I booked this cottage for a five day break quick getaway and so wasn't sure what to expect. We travelled with our two small dogs. We were so surprised at how cosy and traditional the cottage was as it is priced so reasonably! It's a warm cosy cottage in private surroundings and just along the road from a pub which does great food. The cottage itself has everything you need. Locally everywhere is pet friendly. Just a stroll along the village you can cut up a pathway which takes you along the coastal walk to Wells next the Sea. Close to all tourist spots. If you want a peaceful coastal getaway, dog friendly in cosy cottage in a beautiful Norfolk village then this cottage is perfect. We will be back this summer

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2016
Hello Dee, We re pleased you enjoyed your visit to our cottage and found the area very much to your liking. We look forward to your return visit.. Best wishes Roger.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Reviewed June 15, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the village
Liked least: kitchen
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2016
We are sorry that you were not fully satisfied with our cottage. The beds can be separated if desired and unfortunately both bulbs in the over bed light had burned out. Whilst we do not expect our guests to have to do anything there were replacements bulbs available. As for natural light there is nothing we can do except knockdown a wall. The cottage is nearly 200 years old and it is this quaintness that many of our guest like. The 'fridge door was not broken, the bottom bar is flexible to cater for different sized bottles. As your partner said the TV will probably alright now - it was and has remained so. Our previews reviews speak for us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing