We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Night Stay”
Review of Stiffkey Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stiffkey Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 1 Stiffkey B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 16, 2014

A group of 10 of us stayed at The Red Lion over the weekend on 13th and 14th June. We were really impressed with the whole place; rooms were immaculate, beds hugely comfortable (just what we needed after walking all day), baths were very relaxing with tons of hot water. The staff were very helpful and friendly and made us feel very welcome. One of the party required disabled facilities and again, the room was perfect. This is a great place to stay and lots of walks can be tailored to start and finish from the pub, whereupon arriving back, you can relax in the garden and enjoy a few drinks in the sun!

Room Tip: Ask for room number 6 if you want an extra large bathroom with a huge walk-in shower, and a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 332 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here with friends and were very impressed by the rooms - spacious, large bathrooms and a patio to sit in the sun. The staff were very friendly and the food was delicious. A place to go back to.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have a sunny patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank safariUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

From the outside the Red Lion looks unprepossessing but this is false. Our room was a 'new build' situated in the grounds with its own little patio. It was completely satisfactory - big bedroom and big bathroom.

The Red Lion is an old building with an atmospheric pub area. Breakfast was good. We would recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottishVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had stopped off at the Red Lion for a meal on our way home after the Christmas break and decided to return for a couple of nights at Easter on the strength of that. Our room was well appointed and clean, and we particularly loved the balcony which gives that private outdoor space to sit and read which is often lacking in hotel accommodation. The food was wonderful, well cooked and using local produce. The staff are very cheerful and one gets the impression that nothing is too much trouble. We had a really relaxed stay and look forward to a return visit in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 214biscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

A very relaxing atmosphere,staff very laid back,friendly,and efficient.room was clean and tidy,bedroom could do with a bit of paint here and there,bathroom was great very roomy and warm.beds very comfortable.

Room Tip: For couple the upper level would be better,as we had room 10 on the lower level and had heavy footed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C-harvey65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was our third and final stop on our cycling holiday. Arrived at the Red Lion which was a busy country traditional pub. The accommodation is separate just behind the pub. Separate modern style two storey buildings think there was 10 in all. Looked fantastic. Each have their own entrance garden area with table and chairs to sit outside. This is were we could lock our bikes up.
The room was great good size clean and welcoming. The bathroom was enormous good size bath for a soak. Everything also suitable for disabled people. We had a flat screen tv and you could pick up WIFI in the pub. We had a good nights comfortable sleep.
The food in the evening was good quality I had crab. My husband had steak. Service excellent.
Would love to come back here to stay as did not have time to fit in a visit to the seals at Blakkeney
Breakfast was good all local produce.,and very enjoyable.,
Would recommend and would love to come back ourselves. Great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tobyHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Badly needed to chill out, but not far from home, after a demanding festive season, so went to stay for the first time at our “local”, the Red Lion at Stiffkey – a quintessentially unspoiled English inn quietly and yet efficiently run by Stephen Franklin (Frankie). An oasis of excellence in a desert of mediocrity. Good local beers (Aspells cider on draft for coeliacs!). Excellent food, much of which is sourced locally (mussels are a speciality in the Winter months) very fair prices. Log burners, warm welcome and friendly and efficient staff.

The accommodation comprised a well appointed flat, under floor heating, a very comfortable double bed, with large, wall mounted, colour TV, settee, wetroom shower and bath – the room had views across the lovely Stiffkey countryside.

What more could one want for a couple of days chilling Winter break? Our dog thought it was perfect too!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stiffkey
8 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
673 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,373 reviews
4.6 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walsingham
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Quay B&B
The Quay B&B
#10 of 24 in Wells-next-the-Sea
54 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#6 of 24 in Wells-next-the-Sea
401 reviews
4.7 mi away
The George Hotel Cley
The George Hotel Cley
#3 of 6 in Cley Next the Sea
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stiffkey Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stiffkey Red Lion

Address: 44 Wells Road, Stiffkey, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells-next-the-Sea > Stiffkey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stiffkey
Price Range: $113 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stiffkey Red Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stiffkey Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stiffkey Red Lion Hotel Stiffkey
Stiffkey Red Lion Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing