We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, attractive Country House Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dales Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheringham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Spent a very pleasant weekend at The Dales Country House Hotel. The setting is delightful. The main rooms lovely too. The welcome very warm and efficient. Found the staff friendly and very helpful. We booked the best room available whilst the couple with us a superior room. They expected it to be good and were laying for us as a gift for my partner's birthday. There is a programme of renovation at the hotel ....we had a lovely room whilst the others a terrible room with rusty windows, a tired room and sad bathroom. The hotel apologised but no other room was available. This hotel could be wonderful with a little care as to the finish of the renovation. The shower screen did not fit well and leaked over the pretty lighting fitted into the bath panel...it freaked me out a bit..electricity and water and all that. The hotel promote their restaurant and something special but I am afraid that it let the hotel down for us. The portion sizes were fine for me but tiny for anyone wanting normal sized meals. Starters ok, puds nice too but mains were horrid. On the second night we chose a la carte herb lamb cutlets medium rare, they were raw and the whole course terrible. I wd suggest it s nice place to stay, conveniently located but be prepared to wait a little for bar service tea, coffee etc it isn't fast but not a problem for us as were were not in a hurry. The pleasant staff made up for that. The meals well take a deep breath and do not expect too much is my advice u less you eat out. Breakfast and sandwiches were really good.

Room Tip: Discuss your requirements and ensure it is a renovated room and not a messy or sad one.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
There are newer reviews for The Dales Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 536 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

This country house looks fantastic and has a great history. Our room was pleasant enough with a nice garden view, it was tired and needed some tlc, the curtain was hanging off the rail at one end, the pillows were very old and tired they fell like a towel would when placed over your arm. The staff were helpful and friendly but during our 1 night stay appeared to be leaderless, there was no manager either for reception or restaurant and so it all lacked a professional feel that you would expect in a 4 star hotel. The bar and lounge were comfortable enough as was the restaurant but food and service in the restaurant was poor. We thought the service was slow in the evening with at least 30 mins between starters and main course but breakfast was worse. We would have liked a second bottle of wine, as we had a long wait for food the first went fairly fast, but not staff were present to ask, they appear only to take orders and put plates, and clear plates from tables. Their eyes are cast down so attracting attention is difficult as they disappear back behind the scenes. In the morning We ordered breakfast and then waited over 30 mins for it to arrive we asked why it had been so long and were advised the chef had made the order up incorrectly, I accept this can happen but someone should have told us there would be a delay there was no apology. At check out there was again an issue with the bill we were told their Ops Manager was away so they couldn't confirm pre payment, accepting they had our credit card details they condescendingly accepted our position. All in all one not to return to until professional management is in situ, this was an expensive mistake.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Juls3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The National Trust land makes the setting of the hotel stunning, from the moment we arrived the welcome and service was superb, warm and friendly.
We had a more than comfortable room with great views of their garden and the National Trust park.
After a wonderful walk across the park and Norfolk coastal paths, we settled in for typically British afternoon tea and then dinner which was a gourmet's delight.
We are looking forward to returning and spending more time at this delightful hotel

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robertn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We booked an Afternoon Tea at the Dales as we were staying in Norfolk for our Anniversary,
It was cold and windy when we arrived, we were shown to a table in the Bar area which didn't look very appertizing for a Afternoon Tea.in a Country House Hotel.
We ordered 1 coffee and 1 Tea which arrived quite quickly, but we had to wait about 10/15 minutes for our Sandwiches and Cakes to arrive, which seemed a long time as their was only 1 other couple having Afternoon Tea at the time.
We had a good mix of finger sandwiches and cakes, but the scones were like rock cakes and were inedible which really spoilt our visit..

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank graham m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Lovely seaside old fashioned hotel in the nicest way. Good to see a building with wood panelling and character and in lovely surroundings and next to the fantastic country park. All the staff where excellent and friendly and very helpful in accommodating our two terriers down to providing dog beds for both and giving us a room with no one above and patio doors to the grounds. Room was well prepared. Nothing was too much trouble. We eat in the restaurant and had a bed breakfast and evening meal deal. The evening meal was a la carte and worth the visit on its own. Chef deserves more customers and the food was more than fine dining standard. Thanks for a fantastic break. Mach.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Macheovelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Only reviewing the restaurant. We sometimes enjoy lunch here. You get a good welcome, good service, nice food in wonderful surroundings. On a pleasant day you can dine outside on the terrace. The overall atmosphere is relaxed and traditional.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Made to feel welcome by friendly staff on arrival, shown to our deluxe room which was simply superb with great views of Sheringham park. Food was exceptional, service faultless, nothing was too much trouble. Can strongly recommend.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are superb.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheringham
2.8 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
629 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
6.8 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
742 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
5.0 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dales Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dales Country House Hotel

Address: The Dales Lodge Hill, Sheringham NR26 8TJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sheringham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheringham
Price Range: $187 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dales Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in national Trust parkland, you will find a quintessentially English grade II listed country house. Discover luxurious bedrooms, original fireplaces, mullioned windows and a fine oak staircase. Add to this, innovative English cuisine and a wealth of those little extras that make all the difference, and truly you have found a place where you can relax! You can also enjoy free, wireless internet broadband access! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Dales Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dales Country Hotel
Dales Country Hotel
The Dales Country House Hotel Sheringham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing