We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“on balance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dales Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dales Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheringham
Certificate of Excellence
llangollen
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“on balance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

After reading some of the negative reviews for this hotel I felt i would like to bring balance and comment on our recent stay there.
We turned up at 6.30pm during half term week and were offered a lovely large clean tidy room with spacious bathroom. The room was plenty warm enough.
We had a lovely couple of nights there and were particularly impressed with the restaurant service. Our waiter Gareth was both competent and friendly, remembering my gluten free diet at each meal. Considering we turned up without having warned of my dietary requirements, the kitchen did very well accommodating me. Breakfast was more than adequate and eggs cooked to our liking. Dinners were creative, tasty and plentiful. The complimentary aperitif was most welcome.
I shall list the positives and not areas for development rather than writing an essay:
Positives:
Easy booking in
Large bed
Full bath and robes
Dining staff relaxed about breakfast time (we got there at 9.32 after a walk and were not rushed at all). Gareth most helpful, great natural people person
Gluten free breads & scones
Delicious afternoon tea with two large scones per person! Includes hot choc or coffee if preferred.

Large clean comfortable lounge areas
NIce parkside location
Good walks through park and along coast.
Free chocolates to celebrate Halloween.
Free use of sister hotels pool

Areas for improvement:

The pricing is attached to such agencies as booking.com etc, and so we found it all confusing. Originally i had searched online and spoken to one receptionist who quoted a special winter offer of D<B&B for £80 per night +£ 40 for room upgrade. totaling £200 for two nights.
when we phoned to book we were quoted over £350. The when we turned up on spec we were offered a superior room for £99 per room per night B&B. We were then able to choose from two menus and ended up spending a total of £250, so a saving o almost 100.

The room was too hot overnight.
Soap dispensers do not work
Room 7 over kitchen and not a brilliant view.
Al in all we had a great time there and would recommend.

Room Tip: room 7 over kitchen and not such a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitorsview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    143
    63
    36
    9
See reviews for
62
305
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were treated by friends to a High Tea by our neighbours as a 40th. Wedding Anniversary present. The only way to describe it was WOW ! An extremely warm and friendly greeting on arrival. A warm inviting setting in the old library in this former vicarage. Everything was stunningly presnted , the food was to die for - only complaint being was that we could not eat it all !! Will be back to sample lunch/dinner in the future. Would definitely reccommend this to one and all. Well done and thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Dales to celebrate a wedding anniversary. A beautiful building in a peaceful location. We had a superior room overlooking the extensive gardens with access onto Sheringham Park - good for walking. Although the room was clean on the surface, it was not so clean on closer inspection. Loads of dust and crumbs under and around the bed the bed, as well dust on high and low surfaces. The bathroom was a good size, with plentiful hot water. However the shower was difficult to use without flooding the room as the screen flapped open. Nice towels though. The price that we paid for our stay was fairly high, so I was expecting more than basic provisions in the room. We got minimal toiletries and only on the first night - they were not replenished. We were supplied with 2 teabags and minimal milk, bed not made properly, room not cleaned properly either before we arrived, or during our stay. I think this hotel is cutting corners on quality - and it shows!
We ate in the restaurant, which is fairly pricey, but the food was excellent, if a little sparse. It would have good to have a decent portion of veg with the meal. A good breakfast, well cooked to order, although I would have preferred to have my toast with the breakfast rather than delivered 20 minutes before the rest of the food.

Room Tip: Ask for more supplies!! Rooms at the front of the hotel are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfb494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We strayed in the hotel in mid Aug of 2013. The house was in beautiful idyllic grounds. In 2000 it had been a residential home then converted into a hotel the old white doors were still left behind and gave the downstairs a feel of an institution. In the bar the old Shakleton chairs, had been given a face lift and were being used as bar chairs!!. Our room was in the far end of the hotel and was damp and dark, not even enough light to read at night. The bathroom had ill fitting with a shower screen which dripped water over the floor, a shower cream dispenser that didn't work and black scum in all the tiles. It was filthy. The bedroom looked out onto the grounds but the grounds looked in!!! no privacy. At 55 I was one of the youngest guests. Food was good and staff friendly, although run off their feet with no clear person in charge. Certainly not worth the money they were charging and certainly a hotel i would recommend you avoid. i wrote to the Mckenzie grorup with the problems we had experienced but 6 weeks on they have not bothered to respond, either because of the high level of complaints or their lack on interest in customer service. Not a group I will be staying with again.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel - sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KasiaMasherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Very good food, pleasant friendly staff, rooms from the 1960's. Attractive character building in need of serious investment. Good grounds but neglected looking. Bedroom and bathroom need a complete refurb. Not sure how Hotels like this survive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuellaJonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We popped into this lovely old hotel for a cream tea. The building is very impressive. The cream teas were very good with lovely fresh scones and juicy raisins. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We will stay at this hotel when we can and have a treat.

Room Tip: We only stopped for a cream tea, but all rooms appear to be good and the hotel is located in a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I spent a night away at The Dales in the summer. We had a fantastic time. The staff were friendly without being overbearing and the food was wonderful. They were not phased at all by our dietary requirements - a refreshing change - and it was so lovely to be able to have a vegetarian cooked breakfast on the menu. Our only criticism would be that it is slightly expensive for what you get, and some parts of the building are looking a little tired. We would recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Make sure you pay a little extra for a sea view or view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJG23AUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheringham
2.7 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
6.8 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
11.1 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dales Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dales Country House Hotel

Property: The Dales Country House Hotel
Address: The Dales Lodge Hill, Sheringham NR26 8TJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sheringham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheringham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dales Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in national Trust parkland, you will find a quintessentially English grade II listed country house. Discover luxurious bedrooms, original fireplaces, mullioned windows and a fine oak staircase. Add to this, innovative English cuisine and a wealth of those little extras that make all the difference, and truly you have found a place where you can relax! You can also enjoy free, wireless internet broadband access! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Dales Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dales Country Hotel
Dales Country Hotel
The Dales Country House Hotel Sheringham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing