We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but some issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dales Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheringham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A mixed experience – so let’s start with the negatives and finish on the positives. Don’t judge the hotel just on the first part of the review.

The negatives.

We stayed in the Dales a couple of years ago and were reasonably impressed, especially by the food, so we booked two nights in a superior room. The website says “Superior rooms have more space for you to sit and admire the view and overlook the gardens or the coast”.

We were shown to room 7; as you can see from the photograph what it actually overlooks is a couple of brick walls and a flat roof. Admittedly, the sea IS visible – just. If you look across the flat roof, through the gap between the walls and across the car park, you can catch a postage stamp sized glimpse. A glimpse is not a view.

I complained, and was told by a very nice receptionist that “it was classified as a superior room by both the management and the AA”. I told her that that wasn’t the point – it simply wasn’t as described on the web site.

From that point on, she and the other staff were very helpful. She immediately said that she would reduce the price to that of a standard room for the first night, and move us to a superior room with a good view for the second night.

Some other gripes (1) the bed in room 7 was extremely soft, and I woke up with backache the next morning. Yes, I’ve had a bad back for years, but it takes a VERY soft bed to trigger it, and most hotels these days really have sorted out the issues of beds that are too soft (2) The windows have been replaced sometime in the recent past – good! But they are sash windows and only the bottom half opens. This means that it is impossible to cool the room by opening the windows. A fan is provided but it is not much help. We slept without any bedcovers, and yet the temperature that day had only been in the low 20s. In the height of summer the room would have been unbearably warm. (3) I really object to finding a bear soft toy perched on the bed, exhorting me to buy him. I come to a hotel to enjoy myself, not to be sold to inside my own room. (4) As someone else said, the gardens are rather neglected. Lots of lawn, but nothing really in the way of flowers.

The positives.

The (generally young) staff were very helpful and put in quite a lot of effort to find us a good superior room after our complaints; they even checked the beds and reported back. This was room 11 and we can recommend it – good views, lots of space, comfortable bed and easy to ventilate properly.

Contrary to some other reports, we thought the food was also good (we can be quite demanding) - breakfast was fine and the fixed price dinner menu was well presented, tasty, portions were good and it was very good value at £23.

This could be a really excellent hotel – but it needs money spending on it, and more attention to customer feedback, to make it so.

Room Tip: If you book a superior room, ask for room 11 and refuse room 7 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UK-EastAngle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 539 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

We went for a 4 day break. Liked the area with Sheringham, Cromer and Holt close by. The hotel had character and the grounds were extensive and gave us access to Sheringham Park (Natural Trust). We took our 2 King Charles Spaniels so there was plenty of space and a secure environment.
We found the staff very friendly, helpful and pleasant and nothing was too much trouble, which generally is unusual nowadays. We had breakfast everyday, the quality was excellent and we know the local butcher that supplied the sausages and bacon as we have bought from them when we have been to Holt. We ate in the restaurant 3 evenings and found the food very good quality, very tasty, good value for money and quite sufficient. We have seen comments about there not being enough vegetables but they were quite sufficient for us and one diner that did ask for more, was quickly and courteously supplied with more. The best compliment we could give is that we looked forward to our evening meal and having eaten at top class restaurants we were not disappointed by what the Dales had to offer, given that it was a lot cheaper than many restaurants we have eaten in.
We would have preferred a refrigerator in our room, handy for drinks when you go out and about and the room was spacious, comfortable and had a patio area, which backed on to a lawned area and the extensive gardens (handy with the dogs). A safe would also be helpful to keep items secure, not that we had any security issues but it would have been handy for jewellery and the iPad!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank David24052709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We are very lucky to live locally to this hotel, and as it's next to the National Trust Sheringham park, where we often walk our dog, we find ourselves popping in here for a glass of wine, or a meal on many occasions!

Although we don't have the need to use the accommodation, we always say that one day we will, as every experience we have had here has been wonderful.

We have dined in the restaurant, but as we generally have our pooch with us, we dine in the bar area or in the garden, and the staff have my vote as they always make a fuss of our hound Hudson! (they give him biscuits if he is good!).

The food is excellent, the setting perfect and a great place to spend a lazy afternoon (trying to play croquet!).

Many thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loopief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Hotel backs on to Sheringham Park with various walks of different lengths. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Lovely menus with good wine list. Great grounds with outside tables, some with gazebos, for sitting out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PT1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a small family gathering with 7 of us staying.

We had a lovely time all round. The staff were extremely helpful and made sure our stay was what we wanted. We ate in the restaurant both evenings and chose mainly from the Table D'Hote menu which was great, if quite restrictive on choice of desserts.

The food quality was fine and the team in the restaurant were excellent.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank GR8UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Lovely country house hotel and great for a quiet grown up break. The staff were really very helpful and went out of their way to look after you and make you feel welcome. Sadly the hotel was let down for us by the food, a beautiful dining room, but the food was poor, lacking in taste, hardly any vegetables and meat very over cooked. i did not eat my breakfast because it was only luke warm when it arrived, the same with dinner the night before, it was served only just warm.Would stay here again but eat out. Hotel, grounds staff and everything except the restaurant were perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had a lovely room overlooking the garden.It was a standard room but spacious with large bathroom and was very quiet.The garden has a large chess set,croquet and a large Jenga so children could be easily entertained.
The room was well equipped with a kettle and drinks and the teacups were washed and tea bags replenished whilst we were at dinner.
The staff were very friendly and welcoming and efficient.
Dinner was quite good-generous portions of meat and fish but we would have liked more vegetables.Breakfast was delicious and freshly cooked.
We would happily return to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheringham
2.8 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
652 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
6.8 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
756 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
5.0 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dales Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dales Country House Hotel

Address: The Dales Lodge Hill, Sheringham NR26 8TJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sheringham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheringham
Price Range: $153 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dales Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in national Trust parkland, you will find a quintessentially English grade II listed country house. Discover luxurious bedrooms, original fireplaces, mullioned windows and a fine oak staircase. Add to this, innovative English cuisine and a wealth of those little extras that make all the difference, and truly you have found a place where you can relax! You can also enjoy free, wireless internet broadband access! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Dales Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dales Country Hotel
Dales Country Hotel
The Dales Country House Hotel Sheringham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing