We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheringham at its Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dales Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheringham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Visited this hotel for afternoon tea, It was perfect. Have been to the Ritz and can say this was as good. The service was perfect. We were late to arrive,but phoned and the lady we spoke to was charming[as were all the staff]
We sat in the garden as it was a beautiful day, however the interior of this hotel was good and i am sure we would have enjoyed eating there as well.
Will go back there for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Trevera-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 551 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

We haven't stayed at the hotel but have eaten in the restaurant. The overall experience was lovely, with superb food and excellent service all in wonderful surroundings.I can also thoroughly recommend the afternoon tea, especially if the weather is pleasant enough for tea to be taken in the beautiful gardens.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JGleave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here. This time we were upgraded to the Harrier Room, which overlooked the gardens. The hotel is lovely, lots of charm, very helpful staff and an excellent restaurant. The real bonus for me was the fact that I was able to walk out of the side door each morning and run in the park. Will be back next year.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LyndaHilliardEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We spent a lovely three days on a birthday weekend and thoroughly enjoyed this hotel and especially the surrounds. Booking online was easy, great service and support setting up all the birthday extras etc. Cake was perfect, both dinners we ate in the hotel were very well presented and the service cannot be faulted. Many thanks to Lynne who set up all the booking for me and also the rest of the staff who couldn't be more helpful. If this is Norfolk hospitality at it's best, it doesn't get any better. This hotel is on our calendar for a repeat and sooner rather than later.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank FoodCritic54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have just returned from a couple of days at the Dales Country House Hotel, which we booked through Off Peak Luxury. This was our first visit to this hotel and we were really pleased with the whole experience. We received a complementary upgrade to a superior room as part of our dinner, bed & breakfast package. The room was lovely, beautifully clean with views over Upper Sheringham. Nice bathroom with big, warm, soft bath sheet towels. The food at breakfast was very nice and the evening meals were superb. We mixed and matched between the table d'hôte and the a la carte menus but all the meals were well cooked and presented. I think the outstanding feature of this hotel was the helpful, friendly staff in reception and in the restaurant. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble and they all seemed to be happy and cheerful, which made our experience at the hotel that bit more enjoyable. The location is good for exploring North Norfolk, being just a few miles inland from Sheringham, which is very pretty, and not too far from Cromer or indeed from Norwich. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Angelcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed one night at the Dales. Excellent staff, lovely spacious room, though my bad back was not keen on the bed. Close enough to the coast and backing onto Sheringham park which we had a wander around. Restaurant was busy and the food was very good, especially the cream tea in the afternoon and the chocolate fondant dessert.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliBacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

When booking this hotel it very clearly said on their website "Do you take pets? ANSWER
We regret that we cannot take pets at The Dales. If you want to bring a dog on your break in North Norfolk, you might like to consider our sister hotel the Sea Marge which has some rooms which allow pets". I have an allergy to dogs so felt confident in booking a weekend there - how wrong was I!!
We were shown to the room - it smelt "doggy" but we just thought that it was some odd damp smell but after being in the room a while I started becoming unwell. To cut a long story short I was asked by the receptionist why I hadn't highlighted that I had an allergy & was told that of course they took in dogs, quite clearly oblivious to what their website said. We were moved rooms but the weekend was spoilt.
When checking out I was asked where the comment I have pasted above was - I showed the receptionist the website she was surprised but by the time we got home they had speedily changed the website - it now says :- "Do you take pets? ANSWER
Some rooms are available for those who wish to bring a well behaved dog. There may be an additional charge. Pets are not allowed in other bedrooms as this can upset those with allergies".
I made a complaint & they answered 19 days later following the intervention of "off peak luxury" the response was poor - I wrote back but to date have not received any other communication.
I take exception to the term " upset those with allergies" - I become ILL not upset - are they as laid back about other allergies such as nuts in the restaurant.
Without the intervention of Off Peak luxury they would never have responded - in my view customer service is vitally important particularly when things go wrong, by their actions towards me, this company quite clearly did not care.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roastpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheringham
2.6 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
6.8 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
547 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
796 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
16.1 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dales Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dales Country House Hotel

Address: The Dales Lodge Hill, Sheringham NR26 8TJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sheringham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheringham
Price Range: $154 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dales Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in national Trust parkland, you will find a quintessentially English grade II listed country house. Discover luxurious bedrooms, original fireplaces, mullioned windows and a fine oak staircase. Add to this, innovative English cuisine and a wealth of those little extras that make all the difference, and truly you have found a place where you can relax! You can also enjoy free, wireless internet broadband access! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Dales Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dales Country Hotel
Dales Country Hotel
The Dales Country House Hotel Sheringham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing