We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Lovely Hotel in a Tranquil Setting'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dales Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheringham
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“'Lovely Hotel in a Tranquil Setting'”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed one night recently at The Dales as we were looking for a nice hotel near to Holt and we certainly found one.
The staff are all so very pleasant and friendly.
The hotel has a lovely traditional feel about it. Very cosy with wood burners for when the weathers not so warm.
Plenty of parking.
The room was decorated and furnished nicely. We had a lovely room overlooking the front. Very comfy bed with nice pillows. Nice to see in the bathroom too, nice big bath sheets..
Only downside in our bathroom (room 3) was that when you stand underneath the shower you are pretty much standing by the edge of the shower screen so you end up with lots of water on the floor..
The dining where breakfast was served was decorately very nice, a lovely place to sit and enjoy. Good breakfast selection available.
If you are
If you are looking for a relaxing stay then this is certainly a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaC40, Manager at The Dales Country House Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Helen C
Thank you for your recent review you left about your stay with us at the Dales. We are always pleased to hear that our guests enjoy the hotel and the ambiance we have tried to create and I am always pleased to read nice comments about our hard working staff.
I thank you for your comment on the shower screen and this is something I am looking into improving so you don't end up with water everywhere.
I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Maria Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    153
    68
    40
    9
See reviews for
66
321
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have stayed there in the past for a relaxing break we have not been for a couple of years to eat there so we stopped off for a lunch...as always the service was good and they were very polite..we both had the rump of lamb it was done exactly how we asked for and was delicious for desert we again both had the same home made lemon tart with home made ice cream...we have been enjoying the Dales for many years it has never let us down...and as soon as the weather gets better we will be sitting on the lovely lawn and having afternoon tea which we have enjoyed many times...I have stayed and eaten in many places in the UK but they don't come much better than the Dales...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lou_lion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaC40, General Manager at The Dales Country House Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear lou_loin
Thank you for your lovely comments about that Dales, I am so pleased to see that we are still meeting your expectations. We can't wait to welcome you back in the warmer weather for Afternoon Tea on the lawn. This is one of my personal favourite things to do on a nice sunny day.
We all hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This was a good find. I ideally placed for touring the North Suffolk countryside and coast. Just 3min away from ,"The National Trust Sheringham Park". The hotel was excellent from start to finish. Friendly welcome, there were log burners alight in all the reception rooms and a large open fire in the dining room. Temperature outside -2C to 0C. Room was large set at the front (room 4),
Excellent en-suite bathroom. Very comfortable bed with high quality cotton bedlinen and a natural filled duvet and pillows.

Room Tip: Room 4. To the front of the hotel. Well set back from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipperfield
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We just spent a great weekend in Norfolk and were delighted with our hotel. The Dales is a gem of a hotel with an excellent restaurant. The hotel has access into Sheringham country park and is well placed for several seaside towns. The staff could not have been more helpful and the rooms were clean and bright. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in this area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband booked this hotel for my birthday after reading its great reviews on Trip Advisor, and we weren't dissapointed.

It is set away from the hussle and bussle of everyday life on the edge of Sheringham Country Park and the view from our bedroom was lovely.

The staff were very helpful and attentive and the room was well appointed and large.

The best thing was the standard of food, both for room service and in the restaurant. The menu was created from fresh, local produce and resonably priced for such good quality.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends or family looking for a relaxing break away.

Room Tip: My husband booked through Trip Advisor and we think that may have been why we got a free upgrade to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed with some friends. The staff were most hospitable The food was excellent Accomodation very good in room 5 (albeit at the second attempt after some Electrical glitch in our first room) A comfortable experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magpiey80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed at the Dales Feb 2013, to celebrate my Birthday excelent location with good parking, easy check in with efficient friendly welcoming staff. bar prices normal, brilliant service, we ate in the restaurant with very good food, varied menu competitively priced, attentive but not over the top staff. Throughly recomended, we are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheringham
2.8 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
596 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
511 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
5.0 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
348 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dales Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dales Country House Hotel

Property: The Dales Country House Hotel
Address: The Dales Lodge Hill, Sheringham NR26 8TJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sheringham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheringham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dales Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in national Trust parkland, you will find a quintessentially English grade II listed country house. Discover luxurious bedrooms, original fireplaces, mullioned windows and a fine oak staircase. Add to this, innovative English cuisine and a wealth of those little extras that make all the difference, and truly you have found a place where you can relax! You can also enjoy free, wireless internet broadband access! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Dales Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dales Country Hotel
Dales Country Hotel
The Dales Country House Hotel Sheringham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing