We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Holiday Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Magnolia Cottage, Sheringham, on the beautiful North Norfolk coast.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Magnolia Cottage, Sheringham, on the beautiful North Norfolk coast.
Sunny, lawned guest garden and summerhouse Ample private off street parking
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Magnolia Cottage, Sheringham, on the beautiful North Norfolk coast.
Sunny, lawned guest garden and summerhouse
Ample private off street parking
Our 'Stables' apartment, all on the ground floor and completely level
Spacious, sociable open plan living area
Original Norfolk brick fireplace and driftwood table
Comfy leather sofas...relax and unwind
Attractive, spacious dining kitchen
Recently fitted kitchen, well equipped and spotlessly clean
I'd rather be at...
Double bedroom: wrought iron bed, comfortable mattress and ample storage
Double bedroom: dressing table and driftwood mirror
Twin bedroom: wrought iron beds (full size singles), deep, comfy  mattresses, wardrobe and drawers
Shower room: washbasin and spacious shower
Separate cloakroom with wc and washbasin
Local interest books, walking guides, maps, games, jigsaws and fiction library
Private, sunny  courtyard garden with seating area, picnic bench and beach hut playhouse...
...and pretty summerhouse with comfy sofa and chairs
A warm welcome awaits.
A country cottage in the heart of town!
A cosy winter retreat! Flexible short breaks November-March
Just a stroll to the high street: cafes, pubs, restaurants and lots of independent shops to browse
Sheringham's Blue Flag award winning beach, an easy stroll from Magnolia Cottage
West Cliff
The picturesque fishermen's quarter, where the crab boats are still winched from the sea.
Throughout the summer the town's alive with festivals
The Poppy Line steam railway, just round the corner. You'll hear the trains puffing by.
Sheringham Park (National Trust) - there are miles of coast and country walks from the door.
Seal colonies, birdwatching and wildlife reserves
Sheringham sunset, a magical end to the day
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Sheringham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DebraR34
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed January 6, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We were in Sheringham visiting family during the week of Christmas and had no hesitation in booking a second stay here. We previously stayed in 2013.

Kevin and Liz are lovely and welcoming. Kevin had setup the fire ready for us so we just needed to light it. There was also a Christmas tree for our presents to go under,

The cottage is well equipped and you can see so much thought has gone in to making it a really lovely place to stay. It is also spotlessly clean and very comfortable. There was everything we could ever need, including tea, coffee, sugar, milk and cake!

The location is excellent and it only takes a few minutes to walk in to town, less than 10 minutes to get to the beach. A parking space is available too.

My 19 month old was well looked after, with a huge travel cot setup ready, (we just needed to add bedding), a high chair, a huge box of duplo and books. There was also a baby bath which we did make use of a couple of times during the week to give her a quick bath in the shower room.

I would highly recommend Magnolia Cottage Stables to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Sheringham and I am sure we will be back!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2015
Many thanks for this full and appreciative review. We're pleased you enjoyed the log fire and Christmas tree. It was a pleasure to see you all again and we'd love to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo king K
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful and friendly”
Reviewed November 17, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I stayed for a weekend with my daughter and found the experience relaxing and enjoyable. The owners met us and could not have been more welcoming and friendly, the property was well presented and well equipped with very comfortable beds and the use of an open fire if needed. Would definitely go back again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable beds
Liked least: No heating in the bathroom
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, something we do appreciate. We're glad you enjoyed your winter weekend and would love to see you again. You'll be pleased to know we've just installed some extra central heating, including a radiator in the loo which is now quite toasty!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolute perfection”
Reviewed October 17, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Our second stay with Liz & Kev and everything was fabulous nothing was too much trouble, so relaxing. We were greeted with a welcome pack of tea, milk and delicious cake, and fresh flowers were in our spotless apartment. We took my 80 year Mum and her friend and they were very impressed.
We felt very welcome and only needed to ask if required anything.
It's a beautiful place and if you are thinking of visiting Norfolk this is the place to stay.
We will be certainly booking again! Thanks to Liz & Kev for their hard work which are our stay perfect.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2015
Thank you so much for this lovely review. It was a real pleasure to see you both again and we're pleased that your mum and her friend also enjoyed their stay. You'd very welcome to come back for more R&R!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagpuddyc...
Buckinghamshire
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“We're going back!”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The title says it all really. We had such a good time that before we left, we booked to go back in September - we were very lucky that they'd just had a cancellation.

Liz and Kevin are very warm, welcoming and friendly and have clearly put a great deal of time, thought and effort into making their holiday apartment a really lovely place to stay. Our 3 year old daughter was particularly delighted with her play hut in the little garden, and with the big box of Duplo in the apartment, and the children's books on the shelves. The play hut was full of buckets, spades and crabbing equipment to borrow and a little table with colouring books and crayons.

We all loved the apartment, especially talented Kevin's artistic and crafty contributions to the decor. And the apartment had absolutely everything we could have needed, and much more.

The information pack is very thorough and Liz's hand-drawn maps of Sheringham and a few other places, are a particularly nice touch (there are lots of copies so you can grab one to take out with you). There are also guide books, maps, leaflets, everything you might need to plan your stay.

The location of the apartment, while not right by the beach, is excellent - it's 10 minutes to the beach and less to the shops. The North Norfolk Railway (steam & heritage diesel) station is just 5 minutes away - near enough to hear the departure toots, which delighted our train-mad daughter - and so are the bus stops if you feel like taking a break from driving (great bus service all along this stretch of coast).

So to sum up, the pros and cons.

Pros: Kevin and Liz - such lovely owners/hosts, full of information and very welcoming.
Good location
Car parking space (not always the case with holiday flats/houses in Sheringham, especially those closer to the beach/town)
Really comfortable, fresh, clean, relaxing, well-equipped apartment.
Nice little courtyard garden with seating, picnic table and that lovely play hut

Cons: There aren't really any, unless you hate showers and have to have a bath, as there isn't one. I can see this might be a problem for some families with small children who need that nightly bath as part of their bedtime routine. We don't, so just having the shower was absolutely fine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it - but espeically the thoughtfulness and care that Kevin and Liz have and continue to put in - it really shows.
Liked least: We had to come home (but we're going back)
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2014
Many thanks for this full and appreciative review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your North Norfolk break and your stay at Magnolia Cottage,and look forward to seeing you all again in September!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff C
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful, cosy and spotlessly clean”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed in Magnolia B and B last year 2013 and loved it so 2 days after we got home we booked the Magnolia cottage for one week for Easter this year we could not wait to return and just as we expected it was peaceful, cosy and spotlessly clean and we loved the log fire. The weather was dry all week so we was able to get out and about. It was lovely to see Kevin and Liz again as they are so friendly, they are always willing to help with any information that you require and always have a pleasant smile what every time of day It was sad leaving as the week went to quick but we know that we will be visiting again so that makes us happy thank you Liz and Kevin

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: just being their
Liked least: leaving to go home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2014
It was a real pleasure to see you both again. Quite often our B&B guests return to stay in the apartment, or apartment guests book into the B&B. We're glad you enjoyed the sunny days and evenings by the log fire, a perfect Eastertime combination! Looking forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evangelin...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Comfortable!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had an enjoyable stay at Magnolia Cottage, the beds were very comfortable and the cottage was well equipped! We had some lovely walks and fish and chips along the beach!
My mother in law and 9th Auntie came over from Malaysia to visit so we wanted to give them a trully memorable "English" experience. Norwich and our home away from home cottage didn't disappoint. We hope to be back soon!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm comfortable beds
Liked least: no spare toilet rolls
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2014
Many thanks for your comments. It was a pleasure to welcome our first visitors from Malaysia, and we're so pleased you enjoyed your first North Norfolk break.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niki R
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation and excellent hosts!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We returned to holiday in Sheringham after emigrating 8 years ago to Australia and I am happy to say not a lot has changed, still a wonderful place to visit. Magnolia Cottage was the ideal base, close to all amenities and of an extremely high standard - we will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2013
We're glad that Sheringham lived up to the memories! It was a pleasure to meet you all and we'd love to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing