We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:45 AM - 4:00 PM
Review Highlights
Steam train

We had a great day on the trains. The staff couldn’t be more helpful and the diesel and steam... read more

Reviewed yesterday
debbieroberts63
A great steam experience

This steam railway is great we started our journey at Sheringham and goes to Holt be warned it will... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Claireb923
,
Guildford, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,764 reviews
  
Reviews (1,764)
Filter reviews
1,764 results
Traveler rating
1,292
381
56
13
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
1,292
381
56
13
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews holt station rover ticket black prince return trip poppy line rolling stock steam engine diesel train caught the train ticket office nostalgic trip step back in time station staff steam gala short journey lovely trip dad's army
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 1,764 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We visited Sheringham for the 1940s themed weekend and attempted to take a ride on the North Norfolk Railway to see the military vehicles display at Holt Station. Despite our early arrival (10.20am), there were long queues at the ticket office, necessitating a wait of over 30 minutes. Due to one our party being physically impaired, we asked if they could wait on the platform where seating would be available. However, an officious member of staff declared that for a additional payment of £5, the person could wait on the platform whilst their full price travel ticket was purchased - an outrageous lack of consideration. But worse was to follow. The essential problem is that due to a complete absence of organisation, the company sells a potentially unlimited number of tickets whilst the trains can carry only a limited number of passengers. A recipe for chaos that should have been foreseen. As no seats were available on the carriages, we were required to travel in the guards van with almost no view of the beautiful Norfolk countryside and no seating. The return journey to Sheringham was only made possible by grabbing a seat on a train that was not due to depart for a considerable period of time. The lack of time-restricted ticketing lead to a free for all were any passengers with a disability or impairment were pushed out of the way. The lack of organisation for this attraction was simply woeful.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank dr77notout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

If ever you get chance to sample one of these meals you must go for it. I can't praise the evening of September 5th enough. We were pampered incredibly. It felt like we were on the Orient Express. We started at Sheringham, were given our main course on the way up to Holt as the sun was setting in the distance. At Holt we came back and were fed our second course, the main course, Back up to Holt we were given our desserts and back down to Sheringham we were given our coffee and mint. Overall the experience was superb. The food was brilliantly cooked, served hot by lovely waiters and waitresses. I really can't fault the experience, one I'll never forget,
We stayed over in Sheringham overnight to make sure we could have a ribena or two.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Flikster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This will be our last visit to the 1940s event at Holt station, lots of dissatisfied customers, particularly regarding the new wristband idea. Many volunteers did not appear to know who should be going and where. Rows overheard in the ticket office.. no, not the face of good tourism for North Norfolk. New manager we were told, changing the system, that had been perfectly adequate for many years!!! Also sad to learn that the miniature railway is going, we have taken our children there for many years and it is always a highlight of our visit to North Norfolk. Cakes in the Naafi, were vastly overpriced and stale, unlike the wonderful fayre reproduced by the ladies of the miniature railway, who this year let us down ( manager worried about allergies). So we left early and went off to Wells to stock up on food. No we won't be going again, nothing for youngsters and tickets and system vastly overpriced. Not good value for money. Good luck with your redevelopment, you'll need it!!!

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank happytraveller759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Having visited Holt for many previous 40's weekends, this was awful. Having paid to get onto the field I was told I would have to purchase different wristband to access the station, museum and miniature railway, loved by the grand children. Staff were disorganised, and frankly quite rude. There was not the usual happy atmosphere and would not recommend this event again

Date of experience: September 2019
3  Thank Yvonne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2019

Took Grandchildren to see the miniture trains as it was their last day to run because they are being kicked out of Holt station, I had been told by other people that Angie had told them there would lots of stalls etc down by the miniture trains.So we paid to get in only to find two lovely gentlemen with their radio's and the ever helpfull crew off the miniture trains , needless to say never going back to Holt station ,

Date of experience: September 2019
3  Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews