We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Trip”

North Norfolk Railway
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Sheringham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A 10.5-mile trip through beautiful parts of the region, hauled by a steam engine or heritage diesel locomotive. Steam trains run daily throughout the summer. All our trains offer stunning views of the Norfolk coast between Sheringham and Weybourne, Sheringham Park and Kelling Heath. We have a wide range of special events throughout the year to cater for the young and young at heart, see our website for our latest programme.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Return Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We went to Holt on a return ticket. It's a tad expensive for the duration but we enjoyed it all the same. We returned on the same train after we watched the engine refill with water and move to the front of the carriages. The carriage windows were a bit dirty on the outside spoiling the view a bit but we found a cleaner one on the way back. You can request a stop at Kelling Heath which looks worth a visit and we will do that next time. The train does not go all the way into Holt as It stops about a mile outside and so we didn't have time to visit- we went the next day by car.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bladeowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    799
    237
    35
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

This is a great day out for young children and adults alike. Station and trains are great and the staff are really helpful and friendly. Only negative is bus transport at Holt - long wait (1 hour) for the provided routemaster bus, which meant we had to get another bus. Not a disaster but a bit of a pain and additional cost. But, would recommend going.

Helpful?
1 Thank RobGreg36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“full steam ahead”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

lovely views and that lovely smell of burning coal as the steam engine leaves the station.Good day out ,as you can use your ticket all day.You can visit Holt or stop at Weybourne and take a walk to the lovely Kelling Heath.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Like the old days”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Great couple of hours from holt to sherringham
Little expensive i thought at £31 for 2 adults and a child for a 20 minute ride but guess it supports the great work they fo

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dazza2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Puff Puff Trains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

The train we travelled on was lovely. The whole trip was a good
The men who look after the trains and railway stations do an excellent job. .

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Norfolk Railway also viewed

 

Been to North Norfolk Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing