We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to the M&GN”

North Norfolk Railway
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Sheringham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A 10.5-mile trip through beautiful parts of the region, hauled by a steam engine or heritage diesel locomotive. Steam trains run daily throughout the summer. All our trains offer stunning views of the Norfolk coast between Sheringham and Weybourne, Sheringham Park and Kelling Heath. We have a wide range of special events throughout the year to cater for the young and young at heart, see our website for our latest programme.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Chard
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Back to the M&GN”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I had originally intended to join the train at Sherringham, but traffic delays resulted in a diversion to Holt. It had been a long time since I was last at the North Norfolk Railway the southern platform was the preferred platform, but new building on the north platform has resulted in this being the preferred platform. The loco was the N2 tank which I have had on several railways. As usual the disabled coach is not the most comfortable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DykeHillTopCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    916
    272
    40
    9
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A lovely time was had by all!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The trains are in an immaculate condition and the route has stunning views! I would highly recommend!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AdvisoryService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A trip from Holt to Sheringham”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was an absolute delight. The station was beautifully kept and had artifacts in keeping with the age of the station and the beautiful steam train.

You could purchase food and drink, although these were limited. Staff were very helpful and friendly. There was plenty of information and even a small secondhand book niche with an honesty box. The return journey took just over an hour and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GuildfordGallivanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Cambridgshire
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely Railway”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely journey from Holt to Sheringham which takes you through lovely countryside and in sight of the sea. The trains are mostly steam powered, carriages comfortable and all run by, obviously, dedicated staff. We enjoyed our time spent on the steam railway made even better by a beautiful late October day. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great nostalgia”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We joined the train at Holt, which has easy parking, and got off at Weybourne in order to walk along the cliffs to Sheringham. Weybourne is a beautifully restored country branch line station absolutely brimming with nostalgia of the way railways used to be. All the more so as on the day we were there, it was dull and damp so there was plenty of steam from the locomotives - very atmospheric. We caught the train back from Sheringham to Holt and wished the journey could have been longer. There are super views over the sea as you leave Sheringham. Holt station has a really excellent museum (free entrance if you have travelled on the railway) for anyone interested in knowing a bit more about the history of the line.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Norfolk Railway also viewed

 
North Walsham, Norfolk
Sheringham, Norfolk
 

Been to North Norfolk Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing