We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly family pub”
Review of The Two Lifeboats

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Two Lifeboats
Ranked #13 of 33 Sheringham B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Had several meals in the Lifeboats during our 10 night stay in Sheringham. Good food, reasonably priced. Staff were very friendly & helpful. Nicely situated on the seafront with view over the sea.
Would definitely recommend. Didn't stay in the hotel so can't comment.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Brickwallh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 222 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

we stayed for just one night
the guys gave us a friendly welcome and offered to carry our bags up to the room
which was a good idea as the stairs were extremley steep
the room was clean and pleasent probley only downfall was the entrance door to the bar below slammed very loud so u would struggle tn get any sleep until the bar was closed
But it didnt bother us as we were in the bar until then
lol
all in all a lovely stay in a lovely pub in a fabulous location so close to the sea u could hear it in bed
wish i could have stayed longer

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenofthenite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Attentive and professional staff nothing too much trouble. Dan the barman is a legend he never stops.

Food was good and reasonably priced we ate here 3 times and was pleasantly surprised each time.

Great position for seeing the awesome sunsets over Sheringham.

Love this pub and would definitely recommend

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JanWaldram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed here one night whilst going to the theatre in Sheringham. We had a pub meal where there was quite a choice of fish but I went for local sausages and mash. This was plentiful and delicious. We arrived back to the hotel after midnight but that presented no problem. The room was large and quaint. We also had a modern shower room. Another reviewer mentioned the road noise as not being a problem. I agree that early morning the odd van passes by down this narrow street. We had the windows open as it was a hot night, but frankly we were on hols so a minor disturbance to stay in such a sweet little place was a small price to pay. Breakfast is served at 9am which is very civilised but would not suit a business traveller who needed to be away before 9am. We loved this little trip and all staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. Such a great change from soulless Lodge's etc.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are probably away from the narrow street but our side room (up quite daunting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco_the_Maltabus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

This was a birthday treat from (and with) my daughter, and what a treat! Very comfortable room overlooking the sea and beautiful beach. The staff were friendly and attentive. Locally sourced food, excellent menu.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Just finished a week in sheringham ended off most nights at the lifeboats a really nice place on the sea front been comeing to the life boats since 2007 so have seen the bad times & they were bad stopped there once still laugh about it with my girlfriend to this day. It had a geat revamp havent stayed in the rooms a bit to pricey for me but never had a bad meal or bad service there, its so nice to sit out side at night & take in the sea & sunsets the staff are great & Bridget the boss is always helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DUCHAMPSTNEOTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Bridget is a very welcoming and warm Manager here at this establishment. We were a group on an anniversary visit to the hotel since working there 40 years ago. Then it was a 24 bedroom hotel. Now it is a 6 bedroom B&B. This only manifested itself on our second night when, after the bar had closed to 'the public' we were declined a further drink as the establishment 'did not have a residents license'. We were obviously disappointed not just with the fact but with the way it was articulated to us. Our room was fine (Room 2), apart from having no hot water at the sink for the entirety of our stay (3 nights), and despite raising it with the housekeeper. The bar is a very welcoming and cosy environment and serves a good selection of well kept, well priced ales. The breakfasts were superb with a wide choice of juices, cereals and an all encompassing 'full English'. Overall, a very satisfying stay with small points needing attention.

Room Tip: We were in Room 2 which has side views of the sea. It faces the road so if traffic noise disturbs yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheringham
1.5 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
4.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
756 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
3.9 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#2 of 7 in Cromer
759 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Two Lifeboats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Two Lifeboats

Address: 2 High Street | Norfolk, Sheringham NR26 8JR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sheringham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sheringham
Price Range: $118 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Two Lifeboats 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Traditional Pub with Waves of History The Two Lifeboats was originally a coffee shop and Fisherman's Mission circa 1720. The public house is named after the Augusta & Duncan lifeboats that rescued a crew of eight from the wreck of the Norwegian brig Caroline on December 6th 1882. Steeped in history and fully refurbished to a very high standard we opened to the public in June 2012. View our food menus at the Two Lifeboats... Offering not only high standards of surroundings, we pride ourselves on providing a quality affordable family offer. Bed & Breakfast The complete refurbishment of our six boutique bedrooms mans we can now offer a wonderful overnight experience. Check out our bedrooms page for more details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Two Lifeboats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Lifeboats Hotel
Two Lifeboats Sheringham
The Two Lifeboats Sheringham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing