We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The Two Lifeboats

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Two Lifeboats
Ranked #12 of 32 Sheringham B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Location is perfect, food is lovely, will be back soon! Very busy on a bright day so book early. Tables kept on top of nicely as turnaround of people popping in is quick. Would be excellent for a large function.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammymack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 227 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

We arrived late afternoon to find the kitchen closed, but were offered coffee & cake until it reopened at 6pm. The wait was well worth it & my chicken breast with stilton & mushroom sauce was delicious. My wife's beer battered fish with mushy peas was also cooked to perfection, the batter was crisp & the fish melted in your mouth. They also had FOUR! real ales on tap including Adnams ghostship & broadside.
The staff were really friendly and always prepared to go that extra mile.
The two lifeboats is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barney53_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

When visiting the North Norfolk Coast we usually make for the Two Lifeboats for lunch.One review says it was grubby! Do not believe this remark. The pub is beautifully kept!
Great beer, friendly staff, and a superb choice of food.
Lovely terrace overlooking the sea (great when summer comes)
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: never stayed, only visited for lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Great little place above the pub, located on the sea front with friendly staff a clean room with comfortable bed. The ensuite consisted of shower, wc and sink. The corridors to the room are quite narrow and very steep stairs but you could use the fire escape if you wanted to get out easier. Breakfast was a good selection the full English was very filling with everything you need. If we had a complaint the first night there was a banging door in the pub which everyone seemed to slam, we told the manager and we never heard it again but other than that we would happily recommend this b&b to anyone.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jivesterrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed one night and we thought it was lovely. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Bedroom was very clean and reasonably roomy. Bathroom very modern and more than adequate. Stairs very steep and narrow with creaky floor boards in the corridor, but it is what you would expect in this very old pub. Our room overlooked the sea which was a great bonus. Food was good pub grub with some very cheap offerings. The pub is right on the sea front for bracing walks and turning the other way among the shops in seconds. Just one niggle the scrambled eggs we ordered for breakfast were very white with no yellow yoke which would suggest manufactured rather than fresh! We will go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silverbirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

All the staff were excellent, very helpful and attentive at all times. We would mention especially Harvey and Tracey, and the manageress.
Food and service excellent (by pub standards). When our meal was delayed due to a mistake by the staff we were given a full refund - and the meal!
We found it good to watch the spectacular sunset from the terrace.

Parking may be a problem at times, but there is a Pay-and-Display parking lot close by just around the corner. The charge is £5 per 24 hours. The cost is refunded by the hotel if the ticket is presented. Otherwise free parking in local residential streets is about 600 yards away.

We found our room "Duncan" (which had a sea view)| adequate and comfortable but rather plain and not at all "superior" or luxurious. This is of course an old building with steep staircases and winding passages, so may not suit those with mobility problems. One day our room was not serviced - other guests have complained about this. Not good enough at this price!

The biggest problem is that this establishment charges hotel prices for B&B/pub accommodation. If you can accept this, then the Two Lifeboats is recommended. If not, not.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

My partner & I stayed at the two lifeboats as a last minute break. We struggled to find anywhere to stay as there was a Morris dancing festival on that weekend. We paid more than we would normally but weren't disappointed. The room was lovely & we had a sea view. Everyone was very friendly & the breakfast was so big we struggled to eat it but it kept us going for the rest of the day. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheringham
3.8 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
688 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
799 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#2 of 7 in Cromer
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Two Lifeboats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Two Lifeboats

Address: 2 High Street | Norfolk, Sheringham NR26 8JR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sheringham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Sheringham
Price Range: $120 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Two Lifeboats 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Traditional Pub with Waves of History The Two Lifeboats was originally a coffee shop and Fisherman's Mission circa 1720. The public house is named after the Augusta & Duncan lifeboats that rescued a crew of eight from the wreck of the Norwegian brig Caroline on December 6th 1882. Steeped in history and fully refurbished to a very high standard we opened to the public in June 2012. View our food menus at the Two Lifeboats... Offering not only high standards of surroundings, we pride ourselves on providing a quality affordable family offer. Bed & Breakfast The complete refurbishment of our six boutique bedrooms mans we can now offer a wonderful overnight experience. Check out our bedrooms page for more details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Two Lifeboats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Lifeboats Hotel
Two Lifeboats Sheringham
The Two Lifeboats Sheringham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing