We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite as special as it might seem”
Review of The Two Lifeboats

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Two Lifeboats
Ranked #13 of 33 Sheringham B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Upon arriving in the practically empty pub, we had two of the bar staff and a cook run around trying to determine if they could move a table to accommodate a disabled member of our group, as "the boss didn't want the tables moved". It wasn't therefore very welcoming.

It's a lovely, cosy building, but it fails to deliver when food was concerned. The (very typical) pub food served lacked a bit of flair and could have been so much more considering that it looks recently refurbished to a delightfully high standard and feels almost like a proper restaurant.

Maybe some home made crab cakes since we're in Crab Country?

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Alec_Waldeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 224 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

On first impressions the pub looked really good. Warm, comfortable, clean.
Menu looked good.
Then the food came out. I am sure it was nearly all from the microwave. The burgers were, well I don't know what they were. We're they beef?
For a drink lovely, great views and I bet in the summer it's packed.
Food, go to the chippy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 806JamesM806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We found the food and staff very good. The place was very busy but we managed to find a table and got served very quickly. The staff were polite and helpful, the food was great tasting and exceptional value for money when compared to other restaurants in the area. The food came out quickly and the beer was great, overall I'm looking forward to when we go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We spend an awful lot of time in North Norfolk (10+ weeks a year) and are finding it more and more difficult to find good basic pub grub. The Two Lifeboats offers that! We eat out regularly and find that the prices on the coast are becoming prohibitive (£12 for haddock in batter and chips or more than £10 for lasagne and chips). Here at the Two Lifeboats we can eat for a relatively cheap price and get standard "pub" food which matches the prices. If you are lookig for fillet steak - go elsewhere! However, we will certainly be returning in the future and this is an ideal place for a lunch!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GracieD61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The location of this pub is fantastic,nice to sit out have a drink&having the sea as a backdrop.The lad behind the bar who had his hair shaved off was a good bloke but......the food was awefull,so i would advise a great place to go for a drink but i wouldnt eat there again :( ,so the score is for pub & lad behind the bar only!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank al b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Good beer but poor food. Chips with everything, pies with hardly any meat and good quality fish but greasy batter. Much better in the Crown up the road. Staff very good but if they wanna be a gastro pub the food needs to improve or it will fail in the off season.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank goonermark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

At first glance the pub part of this looks good, clean and well presented, the foods not bad either, service was fairly quick although the bar staff don't appear to be big on the customer relations bit.

However, they aren't very child friendly, what is the point of having a children's menu, which was pretty good, without a single high chair in the whole place? So what would have been a nice meal was mainly overtaken but trying restrain children and get them to eat something without it going on the floor.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigerthatcametotea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheringham
4.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
776 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#2 of 7 in Cromer
774 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
0.2 mi away
Burlington Berties
Burlington Berties
#1 of 33 in Sheringham
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Two Lifeboats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Two Lifeboats

Address: 2 High Street | Norfolk, Sheringham NR26 8JR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sheringham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sheringham
Price Range: $117 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Two Lifeboats 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Traditional Pub with Waves of History The Two Lifeboats was originally a coffee shop and Fisherman's Mission circa 1720. The public house is named after the Augusta & Duncan lifeboats that rescued a crew of eight from the wreck of the Norwegian brig Caroline on December 6th 1882. Steeped in history and fully refurbished to a very high standard we opened to the public in June 2012. View our food menus at the Two Lifeboats... Offering not only high standards of surroundings, we pride ourselves on providing a quality affordable family offer. Bed & Breakfast The complete refurbishment of our six boutique bedrooms mans we can now offer a wonderful overnight experience. Check out our bedrooms page for more details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Two Lifeboats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Lifeboats Hotel
Two Lifeboats Sheringham
The Two Lifeboats Sheringham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing