We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food”
Review of The Two Lifeboats

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Two Lifeboats
Ranked #12 of 32 Sheringham B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Good beer but poor food. Chips with everything, pies with hardly any meat and good quality fish but greasy batter. Much better in the Crown up the road. Staff very good but if they wanna be a gastro pub the food needs to improve or it will fail in the off season.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank goonermark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 228 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

At first glance the pub part of this looks good, clean and well presented, the foods not bad either, service was fairly quick although the bar staff don't appear to be big on the customer relations bit.

However, they aren't very child friendly, what is the point of having a children's menu, which was pretty good, without a single high chair in the whole place? So what would have been a nice meal was mainly overtaken but trying restrain children and get them to eat something without it going on the floor.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigerthatcametotea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We visited Sheringham for a few days last week and went to The Two Lifeboats. What a lovely place really nice surroundings friendly and helpful staff good selection of lagers and real ales at reasonable prices. We ate there on 3 occasions and although they were really busy we were told our food would be about half an hour but we were served it in 20 minutes. If you are ever in Sheringham i would recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cockney945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Walking in the bar it looked pleasant though slightly formulaic pub style, this is more than made up by the superb location. The bar staff presentation and conduct leaves much to be desired. A black shirt with the pub name on does not mean the staff are as sharp as the creases in their shirts. Not nice to see staff standing behind the bar chomping their lunch, or struggling to use a coffee machine. It was entertaining listening to the two staff who were serving settling their domestic problems. I have been in the pub twice since it has re-opened and it seems to be run by people who have no experience in hospitality which is backed by the brake bro's catering suppliers menu (nothing home made) just nuke or fry! I love the location but this is a missed opportunity for a great building with a great location to make a name for its self. Shame

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank howweknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

The revamp of the place is excellent, lovely decor, very modern but kept some character. The menu prices looked great value but I ordered jacket potato and it was hard. Not exactly rocket science to make, therefore we did no go back again for another meal. Didn't see the accomodation but would still be wary to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bolton_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Having been a regular visitor to the old 2 lifeboats, we decided to try the refurbished one.. Was pleasantly surprised . The whole refurbishment has worked well . Lovely atmosphere , excellent decor. We visited on a Tuesday evening , place was full. We found a table and ordered our meal. Although extremely busy our meal did not take long to arrive. Scampi and Chips,, it was delicious. Menu is very good and reasonably priced. Pity no steak on menu, but having said that a good choice. Staff pleasant and accommodating .
The only downside , in my opinion, and that as one of the minority, there is no place, ( as with other places in Sheringham ) that is for us smokers. A mildly covered are would be good.
But in no way does that small point distract from a very pleasant place to eat .

Room Tip: We did not have a room , and to be honest after the refurbishment we don't know if they do rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Went for a meal and a drink at the newly refurbished Two Lifeboats. The whole place has been updated and is now completely different. Very tasteful, a relaxing atmosphere, clean and comfortable with excellent views of the sunset over the sea.
The food was good and very reasonably priced, service was quick, polite and efficient, well worth a visit. A good place for couples and larger groups, families or friends. All round it hits the right buttons. will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sophie_244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timbo690, Owner at The Two Lifeboats, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2015

Hi,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your comments. Although most of our residents and dinners may disagree, we are sorry you feel this way. Unfortunately our windows frequently become covered in salt water as we are directly next to the beach. We clean them twice a week but this time of year with strong winds this is normal at a seaside hotel.

Our food is of high quality and many thanks for your comments regarding our excellent customer service. A variety of eateries are available in Sheringham of varying pricing and standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheringham
3.8 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
699 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#2 of 7 in Cromer
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
809 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
3.5 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Two Lifeboats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Two Lifeboats

Address: 2 High Street | Norfolk, Sheringham NR26 8JR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sheringham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Sheringham
Price Range: $123 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Two Lifeboats 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Traditional Pub with Waves of History The Two Lifeboats was originally a coffee shop and Fisherman's Mission circa 1720. The public house is named after the Augusta & Duncan lifeboats that rescued a crew of eight from the wreck of the Norwegian brig Caroline on December 6th 1882. Steeped in history and fully refurbished to a very high standard we opened to the public in June 2012. View our food menus at the Two Lifeboats... Offering not only high standards of surroundings, we pride ourselves on providing a quality affordable family offer. Bed & Breakfast The complete refurbishment of our six boutique bedrooms mans we can now offer a wonderful overnight experience. Check out our bedrooms page for more details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Two Lifeboats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Lifeboats Hotel
Two Lifeboats Sheringham
The Two Lifeboats Sheringham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing