We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real home from home”
Review of Pirate House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sheringham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pirate House B&B
Ranked #6 of 33 Sheringham B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Totally forgot to to do this review earlier, sorry Sue &John. We stayed, for a second time, at Pirate House in stormy early November. Had a great time walking, almost horizontally, in gales on the coast path and retreating to cosy pubs for lunch/dinner.
The Pirate House is a fantastic place for a Sheringham base. It's very warm, comfortable & welcoming. The breakfasts are carefully prepared & presented using local and in-season produce. The bedroom (just one, so you are the only two guests) has an excellent en-suite, a view over the garden and a bed that gives the best night's sleep imaginable. Sue &Jon are kind, friendly and helpful. They know the area very well and can help with ideas for places to see.
Incredibly, a previous reviewer seemed surprised that this is a house with a spare bedroom rented out to guests. Well that's traditionally what a B&B is. The Pirate House follows the tradition in a very stylish way; we love it.

Nigel & Liz Brown

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piratehouse, Owner at Pirate House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thankyou for such a thoughtful review. It was kind to still write retrospectively,you are such busy people. Glad you were so warm and comfortable. I think that warmth is still the main attraction although it is now April rather than November!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 136 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

The exclusivity and personal attention given by Sue and John is not something we had experienced at a B&B before but we thoroughly enjoyed our two night break and would definitely recommend a stay here to anyone wishing to visit Sheringham. The lounge, bedroom and ensuite had a lovely modern homely feel, clean, comfortable and spacious. The breakfasts were to die for.... nothing was too much trouble for Sue and she should be complimented on her great attention to detail.... a home from home feeling while being away, excellent, couldn't ask for more, well done and thank you both for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piratehouse, Owner at Pirate House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

So pleased you enjoyed staying here. We certainly enjoyed your stay-and all the laughing.
I see from your picture you are not shy of letting people know what you were celebrating. Good for you - enjoy those 50s.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Exclusive feel to being the only guests. Warm relaxed welcome and unobtrusive attention. Very nice, light room with high ceilings, comfortable bed and crisp linen, own little mini fridge for milk, luxurious shower room en suite. Heating adjustable. Television and wood fire downstairs in the private lounge where we had a picnic dinner watching the football! Felt well cared for and rejuvenated. Enjoyed our special Valentine's weekend offer (#10 off and a bottle of bubbly).
Only drawback is the minimal sound-proofing, so can hear conversations downstairs and outside.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piratehouse, Owner at Pirate House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Sorry Jill to be so late responding. We used to be notified if there was a review but that seems to have stopped. Thankyou for your kind and thoughtful comments. We will make sure conversation noise is less excitable in future! Pleased you enjoyed the organic linen. I always love the look when I change the beds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay from Sue and John's B&B. We received a lovely warm welcome from not only Sue but also Holly the cat! The bedroom and ensuite are beautifully decorated and very comfortable with everything you could need right down to the toiletries in the bathroom and a jar of cookies for your tea. Sue kindly lit a fire in the private lounge on both the nights that we stayed and it was great to have this room to ourselves. Finally, the breakfast was exceptional in terms of taste and variety and Sue could not be more hospitable and accommodating. The fresh fruit and bread each morning was a welcome addition and the freshly baked muffins were delicious. All in all we look forward to returning later this year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piratehouse, Owner at Pirate House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

You were such lovely guests to get the season underway! Pleased you so enjoyed the breakfasts and will keep working at the choices. Look forward to seeing you in October.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend stay at Sue & John's Bed and Breakfast. Very easy to find from the directions given by Sue. Made to feel very welcome. Enjoyed everything about our stay and could not say a bad thing about it. It is definately value for money. Suitable for all ages not just the older couple, so please do not be put off by earlier comments. It does depend on what the person is after as to the suitability. So consider if you will be happy being the only guests (therefore being well looked after), having a private lounge you can use, lovely clean/fresh decor, friendly conversation but also left alone too, breakfast (with freshly made bread) each morning, a home from home feel, minutes from the beach/town, then this is the place to stay. We will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piratehouse, Owner at Pirate House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

We enjoy catering for all age groups so really pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just returned from a 'romantic' weekend away. We were initially confused about where the 'B&B' was, be aware that website pictures are of the back of the house - obvious but we didn't realise. Once inside we were shown to our room which was on the landing, next door to their own room down the hall and the family computer area is right outside the room. Not what you want on a 'dirty' weekender. Being in a house with just the one room being used for customers was 'intimate' but in the wrong way, it is not a trip for those who wish to be left alone - you can hear everything everyone else is doing and we felt guilty for making any inappropriate sounds as it felt as though we were staying with our families. The breakfast, house and front room are all beautifully done but it did feel as though we were guests in someones home and not in a hotel. Much more suited to the older couple than the mid 20s who are out for a quiet weekend around sheringham. The lack of other guests meant that we felt awkward. Not as advertised at all - and for £80 a night it was not worth it - the house is nicely renovated and there is a nice breakfast spread but that doesn't qualify for this much money! Stayed in nicer places for 65.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piratehouse, Owner at Pirate House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Sorry this was not the right place for you. An earlier guest was concerned about the office siting ,and we now make sure not to use it when people are in the room,so ensuring your privacy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We enjoyed three days at the Pirate House in early September. The ideal weather made Sheringham a very pleasant place to spend a couple of days away. Pirate House was an excellent place to stay and Sue and John were both more than welcoming, answering our queries and giving advice on the area. We made the most of the fact that we were the only guests at the house by chatting to Sue over lovely breakfasts and the house was perfectly located very near the sea.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piratehouse, Owner at Pirate House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Just found I had not replied to your kind review. So pleased you enjoyed Pirate House and particularly our proximity to the sea. We absolutely love the area so we like passing on tips about the best places to go.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheringham hotels
0.4 mi away
Burlington Berties
Burlington Berties
#1 of 33 in Sheringham
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hooray Henrys Boutique B&B Sheringham
0.3 mi away
The Two Lifeboats
The Two Lifeboats
#13 of 33 in Sheringham
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Highfield Guest House
Highfield Guest House
#5 of 33 in Sheringham
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holway House
Holway House
#16 of 33 in Sheringham
42 reviews
0.8 mi away
Picaroons Bed & Breakfast
Picaroons Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 33 in Sheringham
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirate House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirate House B&B

Address: 16 Priory Road, Sheringham NR26 8EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sheringham
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sheringham
Hotel Class:4 star — Pirate House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation for 2 with eco features. 3 Minutes from sea. Romantic bedroom with Juliet balcony and chandeliers. Full size en-suite with luxury fittings. Contemporary/vintage lounge with open fire. Ideal base for North Norfolk coast and Broads Price £80 per night for 2. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pirate House B&B Sheringham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing