We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty and inventive..loved it.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunstable Arms

Dunstable Arms
Ranked #23 of 56 Restaurants in Sheringham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A Historic Distinctive Charming Traditional Public Free House with a Large family friendly beer garden with bouncy castle and many other activities. A revamped Romantic Clean Restaurant which can sit up to 44, with lounge area with reclining sofa and 2 fireplaces. A refurbished garden lounge with an outside covered comfort seating terrace area. A Very Romantic quant candle lit restaurant, from tables of 2 up to groups of 50. A Christmas Feast is put on Every year aswell as Christmas Parties available day and night for the entire festive month. Catering for Clairvoyant Nights, Weddings, Wakes, Sit Down Meals, Buffets and Birthday Party's with entertainment (Disco, Live Music, Karaoke) available, a great night can be had by all.
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty and inventive..loved it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

I had a great meal here recently. I am a bit of a burger fan and the steak burger I had was possibly the best patty I have ever had, beating places like Gourmet Burger hands down. My companion had a Chicken Ceaser Burger and loved it, saying it had ingredients you wouldnt have thought would work but do, brilliantly. Try this place, I think they serve every day except Monday.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    30
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheringham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, lovely staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

If you are looking for a traditional pub with good home cooked food then its got to be the Dunstable Arms.
We have eaten there many times and also had our wedding reception sit down meal followed by an evening buffet and the only word that comes to mind is FANTASTIC.
The staff are accommodating, (you only have to ask) The Dunstable is a pub where you can relax as a local or a visitor. Be warned there is a sign saying "beware the landlady bites" we haven't been bitten yet!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SueHares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All on our own”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Food was good & service was also good (only one bar maid on) but we were the only diners, so the place lacked atmosphere.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Took the Grandparents”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We have often eaten at the Dunstable and it can be erratic, so we were pleased that on a visit with the Grandparents they showed their excellent side, with good service, large portions and tasty food. Everyone was pleased with their choices, which doesn't often happen! Because it is out of the town it's a reliable place to get a table as not many tourists just happen to walk past.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irayna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unimpressed at best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We visited here for lunch after a swim at the very good local pool. Once sat down in the almost empty restaurant we were told that several of the options were off the menu. Including the pie that we were told had only just gone in the oven, even though it was 1330 hrs. Waitress was rather abrupt and got the drinks order wrong, mind you she was complaining that she had her work cut out with a whole TWO tables to serve. After a rather long wait our main meals arrived. My daughter's chicken nuggets were very greasy and lacked any flavour. The burgers that my sister, brother and I all had were barely cooked and were overly pink in the middle, despite being very thin. We also ordered a portion of onion rings, they arrived in a huge bowl and looked very appetising, unfortunately they were also very greasy and very very bland. After enduring our main meal we skipped desert and fled for the exit.

Helpful?
2 Thank Cambridge_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunstable Arms also viewed

Sheringham, Norfolk
Sheringham, Norfolk
 
Sheringham, Norfolk
 

Been to Dunstable Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing