We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY SHORT BREAK”
Review of Holway House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holway House
Ranked #15 of 32 Sheringham B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 1, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a lovely two night break at The Melrose. The owners are very pleasant, everywhere is very clean, beautifully white bed linen and towels, with an excellent breakfast. We feel the bad reviews are completely unjustified and the cat is beautiful!! Thank you, Lord Clopton!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lord C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 42 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

I have just had eight days staying at The Melrose, and enjoyed every minute. John & Suzanne could not, however, control the English weather! I am looking forward to staying agin in June.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable. The front of the house is on Holway Road, which is a busy road during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barriepickett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Myself, my wife & brother in law stayed seven nights at The Melrose in mid August & were greeted with a warm welcome. Good breakfasts, friendly atmosphere & overall a very enjoyable stay. We will definately stay again if in Sheringham.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

My husband and I have just spent two nights at the Melrose and we were very disappointed with the accommodation. We had room 4 - the skirting boards were covered in thick dust, the curtains were dusty and there was a brown patch on the ceiling. The ensuite shower was very small and there was hardly room to close the door and the shower tray was dirty. The bed was hard and uncomfortable.

The breakfast could only be described as adequate - the fresh fruit salad contained tinned grapefruit and the cooked breakfast was not nicely presented and the sausage was burnt. There was no offer of more toast.

The car park only takes four cars and with nine bedrooms, someone is going to be disappointed and would have to rely on parking in the street.

The owners do say on their website they have a cat but he roams freely about the guest house and dining room at breakfast.

All in all we would not stay at the Melrose again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldgit186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starlinglucy, Owner at Holway House, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

If you are paying 3* prices but are expecting 5* accommodation and service then you are going to be disappointed wherever you stay. The rooms are cleaned on a daily basis but we have obviously failed at a very busy time to spot the dust and dirty shower tray. The rooms are clearly described on our web site together with pictures and an access statement detailing the dimensions. If you did not deduce from the above information that we might not be suitable; that you would not be comfortable with the presence of a cat and you did not ask any questions to verify the information when reserving the rooms you should not have booked.

The fresh fruit salad did have tinned grapefruit as a base but it did contain fresh strawberries, kiwis & oranges which you failed to mention and we also put in fresh peaches, melon and raspberries on occasion.

Whilst there is a car park we do not guarantee a space and usually there is room as many of our guests come by train or bus.

It is dispiriting and damaging to our business to have our efforts criticised in such manner on Tripadvisor especially when those criticisms were not expressed to us whilst staying here when at least we could have rectified the dust & tray.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

If you are looking for a basic seaside B&B near the all amenities then this is ideal, a couple of points made from previous reviews are absolutely correct. The car parking to say the least is small not adequate if all rooms are fully booked with car each, on one night needed to find off street parking. The dinning room used for breakfast is uncomfortably and small and you do not have space to move, cramped is the word I am looking for, it is not so bad if everyone does not have breakfast at the same time.

The whole place is shabby and our room definitely needs some TLC, unfortunately this room is right on the main road so it is very noisy until the early hours. Whilst the B&B has all the required fire regulations in place, had there been a fire outside in the landing or stairs preventing exit, the UPVC windows in our room had only top openings and not a side window!! so how would anyone get out of that room? In my opinion this matter needs raising with the local fire authorities.

The breakfast was ok and the service adequate, again I stress for those looking for the basic B&B at a reasonable rate (£60.00 per night per room) right ontop of all the amenities then just fine, but it is not somewhere I personally would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnHerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starlinglucy, Owner at Holway House, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

If you are paying 3* prices but are expecting 5* accommodation and service then you are going to be disappointed wherever you stay. Our rooms are clearly described on our web site together with pictures and an access statement detailing the dimensions as well as a map showing our location next to a major road . You say the whole place is shabby. Did you inspect every room? We did not show you round. As you say the website does mention the cat. If you did not deduce from the above information that we might not be suitable; you are not comfortable with the presence of a cat and you did not ask any questions to verify the information when reserving the rooms you should not have booked. It is dispiriting and damaging to our business to have our efforts criticised in such manner on Tripadvisor especially when those criticisms were not expressed to us whilst staying here. What qualifications - other than as a dissatisfied guest with your own agenda - do you hold to make comment on our fire protection? We comply with the Regulatory Reform (Fire Safety) Order 2005. We have just had a fire safety audit which we passed with flying colours. Windows are not a good form of fire escape - you may break or at worst kill yourself when jumping out. In your critique you do not mention the fire doors to the rooms that provide 30mins protection from smoke and flames which should give ample time for you to be rescued!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Very friendly and helpful hosts. Room had excellent facilities and was very comfortable. Excellent breakfast which was freshly prepared to order. Very good traditional English Bed and Breakfast. Good location for all facilities in Sheringham and transport for visiting other locations.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenfingers_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We have stayed at this B&B before and have found it to be of a good standard.
The rooms are very nice and clean, with en-suite facilaties.
The owners are a lovely couple and make you feel very welcome.
Breakfast was lovely with a good choice of menu.
The location is excellant with a 10 minute walk to the sea front at Sheringham.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jools1894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheringham
3.7 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
687 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
796 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Burlington Berties Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#3 of 3 in West Runton
164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Picaroons Bed & Breakfast
Picaroons Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 32 in Sheringham
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holway House

Address: 9 Holway Road, Sheringham NR26 8HN, England (Formerly The Melrose)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sheringham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Sheringham
Price Range: $99 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holway House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Holway House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holway House Sheringham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing