We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic highly recommended bed and breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sheringham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashbourne House B&B
Ranked #5 of 39 Sheringham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fantastic highly recommended bed and breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We decided on a last minute one night stay before our main holiday and found this really lovely bed and breakfast. The rooms are all beautifully decorated and the details were lovely. Stayed on Easter Sunday night and there were lots of tasteful Easter touches including mini chocolate eggs at the breakfast table. Delicious full English breakfast with all the extras was served by the charming proprietor. We will absolutely be back if we are in the area again. Thanks for a lovely stay, perfect start to our holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
102
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Beautiful house, very warm welcome had Mary Rose room, which was excellent. Fantastic breakfast, don't think you will find a better bed and breakfast in Sheringham, very good value for money. Close to all amenities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaR255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Wonderful people (helping me with my cake and listening to my stories about my mum who taught me how to bake appeltaart was done with very good grace), amazing breakfast (very good bacon and fresh eggs) and beautiful rooms (it was a chilly morning but the fire in the breakfast room made it).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anousjka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Ashbourne House. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our room which was immaculate. Very comfortable bed, clean en suite and all the little extras that make this bed and breakfast stand out from the others. The breakfast was beautifully served, and of an exceptionally high standard, fully justifying the awards that Ashbourne House has earned.
A wonderful taste of luxury that we can fully recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed in December 2011 and returned in November 2012.
Ashbourne House has everything desired for a comfortable stay.
Gill and her family extend a warm and friendly welcome. The hospitality is exceptional.
The rooms are superb with pleasing decor and very comfortable beds.
Breakfast is delicious and well cooked/presented using finest produce.
Our winter visits have been extremely enjoyable. A summer stay would also be lovely in order to enjoy the beautiful garden at Ashbourne House and to explore the local environment..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgieHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We've recently returned from a trip to North Norfolk where we once again stayed at Ashbourne Hse B & B, Sheringham and once again it has lived up to and exceeded our expectations. From the moment you walk into this most delightful property and meet by Gill and her very warm and inviting welcome, your made to feel so at ease. We've now stayed in two different rooms all of which are very contemporary and finished to a very high standard, with all the delightful finishing touches, down to a 'chocolate mint' on the pillow.
Then there's breakfast - cooked with the finest ingredients, by an exceptional chief (Gill), the breakfast room is a delight to spend time in at the beginning of the day and to enjoy the delights of the 'full English' - or whatever you choose from a good selection, presentation is always of a very high standard, just as everything is here.
Ashbourne hse is conveniently located to the town to walk either down onto the prom for a walk by the sea or indeed in the evening to sample the many hostelries for an evening meal.
In conclusion don't miss an opportunity to stay here, I can assure you wont be disappointed, I thoroughly recommend it - it wont be long before we're back again.

Room Tip: Advise to approach Nelson rd via Cliff rd (sat nav can get confused!!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris s S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saham Toney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Everything about Ashbourne House is all that you could wish for in a B & B. Delightful property, superb rooms, lovely people and wonderful breakfast. Excellent value. What more can one say! We would like to visit in the summer to take full advantage of the delightfully inviting looking gardens.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheringham
1.7 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbourne House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbourne House B&B

Property: Ashbourne House B&B
Address: 1 Nelson Road, Sheringham NR26 8BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sheringham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Sheringham
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashbourne House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ashbourne House B&B Sheringham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing