We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Thai Food”
Review of Chai Yo

Chai Yo
Ranked #31 of 56 Restaurants in Sheringham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
norwich
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Thai Food”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I had a lovely meal at this restaurant. Warm welcome, food tasty, nice atmosphere, well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank sharon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    71
    20
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent and fresh”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Family run and staffed in the main - very good selection of main menu and lunchtime specials, which are extremely good value.Wine is a bit pricey at £4 per glass but it is a largei-ish glass and the wine is good quality. Food is well cooked, presented and served and of excellent quality. Have not tried the weekly buffet but understand that it is popular.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good Thai”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We are fairly regular visitors to the Thai in High St Sheringham,and value it as a very good authentic Thai within walking distance of our home. We have no hesitation in taking friends and family who visit us to the Chai Yo. and are always served promptly, with nice thai girls who are smart ,clean and obliging,The menu is comprehensive but not overwhelming,divided in to ingredient sections. Their buffet on Tuesdays offers good value for money with a wide selection of dishes. Go and Enjoy

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 61John6261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Thailand”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We absolutely loved this place.... we went in on a whim and were so present surprised by how authentic the foodwas. We didn't expect it in sheringham! The service was nfab too! We will definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clairosol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A warm welcome”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Being unused to Thai food we had the set meal for three so the bill (after drinks & tip came to £100). Not cheap but delicous. A warm welcome from (is this sexist?) a georgeous waitress (what do you mean "dirty old man" I'm only 59). Good music. No draught lager. Looking forward to my next visit. Over to the missus:

Well-balanced menu - some delicious flavours. Although we arrived towards closing time and were the last to leave, we were not hurried to finish quickly. A better ambience than some of the restaurants in Sheringham.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chai Yo also viewed

Sheringham, Norfolk
Sheringham, Norfolk
 
Sheringham, Norfolk
 

Been to Chai Yo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing