We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay at the Bayleaf”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sheringham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bayleaf Guest House
Ranked #16 of 33 Sheringham B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Just spent 16 days at the Bayleaf for our Summer Holiday, where we have been staying for the last 5 years. We love Sheringham and the Bayleaf is ideally situated for the Train, Bus station and all local amenities, and is a great base for visiting attractions in and around Norfolk. Graham and Ros always make us very welcome and I can't wait each morning to go down to Breakfast which is exceptional. Great choices of fruit, juices, cereal, full English, or lighter options if required, all helped by the friendly chat of our lovely hosts. This sets you up for the day. Room is always clean and tidy and can be accessed at all times. Off road parking is a great asset as is the Bar which is usually open early evening for a drink or a snack/meal where you can meet up with the other guests or just have a quiet drink before dinner. We will be back in just over 3 weeks time for the 40's weekend which I believe is wonderful, and we wouldn't stay anywhere else but the Bayleaf.

Room Tip: Two rooms are on the ground floor which can be useful if you have mobility issues, or problems with...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayleafgirl, Owner at Bayleaf Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Thank you so much for your kind thoughts. It is always a pleasure to have you both in our home.
We look forward to seeing you for the 1940s spectacular in September.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Bayleaf Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 79 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2011

Our 4th visit to the Bayleaf and as usual had a great time ,Roz and Graham always go out of their way to ensure your stay is welcoming and happy, brilliant breakfasts spoiled for choice, lovely clean rooms and lots of laughs a pity there are not more b&bs like this one.
Well done Roz & Graham and thank you very much for making us feel so welcome.
As for the previous not nice comments can't begin to think where they came from.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fergie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayleafgirl, Owner at Bayleaf Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to add this review.
As ever it was a pleasure to have you both in the house. We enjoyed your company and are pleased you had a lovely time.
Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We've been going to the Bayleaf for the last six years. The rooms are clean and comfortable, there is a good choice of breakfasts and bar snacks in the evening, a well stocked bar and all at a reasonable price. It is ideally located in Sheringham with the town, beach, buses and train all within easy walking distance. Ros and Graham (the proprietors) do a great job. They can't do enough for you and the atmosphere is always warm, friendly and welcoming. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Bayleaf to anyone wishing to stay in Sheringham.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

we stayed at the Bayleaf hotel unfortunatly we only had two nights, we were greeted by very freindly hosts who were very helpful in recommending places to visit. Our room was very spacious with proper furniture, the toiliteries were nice and the towels and face clothes were soft and very large nicest we have had at any hotel.We went in the bar early evening were we were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed a couple of well presented drinks, we had a good laugh with Graham and Roz and other guests most of seem to have been frequent stayers and i can understand why Breakfast was very good with all brand named cereals fresh fruit and a choice of differant cooked breakfast we had the english which was very good.
We would defianitly stay here again and definitly recomend it

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenaHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayleafgirl, Manager at Bayleaf Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2010

Thank you for your review.

We enjoyed your company and having you as guests in our house. Hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

Having stayed at the Bayleaf several times now, I have still to be disappointed. Every morning both Graham & Ros are there usual cheerful selves, serving there great breakfasts, telling jokes & keeping us all amused.
I stayed in the same room as I did last time and could tell it had been recently decorated, it was also very comfortable, with some very comfortable bath sheets, it “Just Gets Better”
Look forward to seeing them again (Soon I Hope!)

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeicesterJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Had a great time once again in this lovely Victorian Guest house - great value for money & easy access to the main street/shops/beach/steam railway/Little Theatre. Hosts (Ros and Graham) make a great team and made us very welcome. Lovely room and great breakfasts - love the buffet bar with the fresh fruit and various cereals which make a refreshing alternative to their comprehensive full English on hangover mornings!!. Some lovely bar snacks on offer too in the evening! WIll be staying again soon.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank francesfilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayleafgirl, Owner at Bayleaf Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2010

Thank you for your review. It was lovely to see that you had a nice time with us. It was a pleasure to have you in the house.

Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

We have stayed in many b&bs over the last few years, but this is the most we have ever paid and the least wehave ever enjoyed a stay. We arrived late in the day, so were pleased to have found somewhere to stay. After agreeing a price, we were basically read the riot act over rules etc, very intimidating. The accom was basic but very dark, en suite was tiny. Not very clean, we found a toothbrush down the back of the bedside table, the bathroom bin was disgusting, the tv varied between colour and black& white, remote didn't work. Breakfast was very basic, using basic ingredients - how much extra does a decent sausage cost???? Couldn't work out if the coffee was tea or coffee!!!

We'rent asked if we enjoyed our stay - we didn't!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traceyharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayleafgirl, Manager at Bayleaf Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2010

We totally refute this review.

As for the price, after viewing the room and explaining it was a large family room, YOU agreed the price. As you were a one night door knocker you had not paid a deposit so were free to leave before registering.
The riot act is a total mystery. Where and when did this occur? we can only assume this was when you were given options for dining out and times for breakfast!

The cleaner is still looking for the toothbush. However when she entered the room she came and alerted us to the mess left in the room as she thought we had had a family of 10 in the room.

As for the remote control it appears to be working as we speak and most sensible people would have come to ask us about it at the time.

Breakfast- 14 people dined that morning and 2 sausages did come back. However you do appear to have managed to eat the rest of the cheap food!

Coffee is served in a cafetiere and tea in a tea pot. We knew we had a mystery on our hands when you kept plunging the coffee up and down! Perhaps you have not used one before? Again why not mention it at the time.

As for your unpleasant stay it wasn't a bowl of cherries for us or the cleaner.

What a suprise you didn't mention the length of the grass in the garden as the couple who were sitting next to you passed comment on what a couple of moaners you were.

Never again is good idea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheringham
1.2 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
4.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
742 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
0.2 mi away
Burlington Berties
Burlington Berties
#1 of 33 in Sheringham
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hooray Henrys Boutique B&B Sheringham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayleaf Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayleaf Guest House

Address: 10 St. Peters Road, Sheringham NR26 8QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sheringham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sheringham
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayleaf Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Bayleaf Guest House Sheringham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing