We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great meal lovely place”
Review of The Crown Inn

The Crown Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Northwold
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Thetford, United Kingdom
1 review
“great meal lovely place”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

After reading the great story by Gilly W decided to give this place a try . Well couldn't be different from the place you must off been everthing was excellent service and food brilliant . Read all the reviews and can't semmto find any quite like yours but we will be back as just moved into methwold and really enjoyed our visit .!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Not sure about yours but it sure was a good read.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    2
    0
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thetford, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a strange review we eat at this pub regularly and have never been disappointed. we had lunch on the 17 February and as usual the place was buzzing and very busy . Excellent food and Excellent service . I think that the other persos or persons is on a vendetta to discredite this lovely place . Don't believe what you read go along and try for yourself . You won't be disappointed we go nearly every sunday and during the week in the years that David and Cheryl have been there everything has been just wonderful

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank irene m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely awful”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Travelling through Norfolk's backroads we cme across the pretty little village of Northwold . A chilly miserable day and hunger pangs took us through the doors of Northwold's only pub, The Crown Inn. If only we'd read some of these reviews beforehand. If you've ever seen the film "American Werewolf in London" you may recall the scene where the two hapless young Americans happen upon a pub on the wilds of the Yorkshire moors.....our arrival was somewhat similar, with all those inside putting own their glasses and turning to stare at us in total silence. We should have left then, but thought it was a joke.

The landlord (?) was friendly enough as he got our pre-lunch drinks, and the menu didn't look too bad. We didn't expect haute cuisine from a small village pub, so on that score we weren't disappointed, however the food we were served was lukewarm and bland, the meat tough and stringy and the vegetables soggy. The service was off hand to the point of just careless.......in other words: couldn't care less.

A less welcoming pub I have yet to find, and quite honeslty I just can't see where the rave reviews are from, however, now that I've read them all and looked at the dates they were posted, I have my suspicions. I just wish I'd read that first one before we entered the portals of the Crown Inn, as it is closer to the truth than any of the others. Since eating there I have looked online at the webpage for this pub and am suprised to see the menu is different from the one in the pub. I have copied and pasted the following from their webpage:

"The Crown Inn has warm and friendly old world atmosphere and a very welcoming fire in the winter months. You are always assured of a warm welcome what ever the weather."

No it doesn't,m and no, you're not...enter at your peril.....

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Gilly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Friendly Country Pub with good food”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Frankly quite surprised to see a couple of poor reviews, because that has not been our experience at all either this visit or previous ones. We met up with another couple on Sunday lunchtime, and the chap behind the bar, presumably the landlord, was very amicable. Ever reliable Greene King IPA on tap. We all had starters. I had prawn cocktail which was perfectly acceptable, and one of us had whitebait, which was excellent. I had the Sunday roast pork with apple sauce. Plenty on the plate, and very tasty. Lovely roast potatoes. A couple of us had Gammon steak with egg on top, and chips, and loved it. Just 2 of us could manage dessert, and that too was delicious. The waitresses were friendly and attentive. Roaring log fire made the place warm and cozy. Great value for money too. For a typical village country pub, can't fault it really.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trimley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great country pub”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

on way to kings lynn saw the signs for the pub .what alovely village . found the pub very pretty b keep it up thanksaskets well looked after few regulars sitting in the garden . went in asked if we could bring our dog in . No problem as long as we sat in bar and kept her on a lead . A nice variety of food and quite a few veggie meals which was great because the wife's a veggie I had a roast dinner which was excellent all freshly cooked , the vegetable lasagna was homemade and wonderful said the wife . The place was buzzing . A very nice place to stop Cheryl and Dave keep this place spotless. Took a card and said we will pop in with some relatives who live near by ,can't wait so nice to be allowed to bring dog into pub while we had a great meal

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johny t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing